We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight Business Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overnight Business Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Have to be honest I was a little disappointed, room had a musty smell to it. Parking which obviously is not easy to police meant I couldn't park directly outside of the room. I expected a little more from this property at the price for the room. Staff the next morning thoroughly lovely when I had a few enquiries about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StylishSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    122
    48
    12
    4
See reviews for
54
94
18
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights this past weekend and were extremely happy with the rooms and location. Rooms are beautifully refurbished and lovely, spacious and the fact there is a hotel with great food and music located on site is such a plus. The meals at the hotel nearby are very generous and delicious and there is a McDonalds and petrol station across the road. We were visiting for a basketball tournament and will 100% stay here again. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms_ShuttergirlfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 6, 2013

a delightful honest and natural property and excellent value for money. The two receptionists we had contact with were glowing with pride and loyalty for their property and this in turn gave us excellent customer service. The rooms were comfortable without being plush or over the top, comfortable and good quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank jilly309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

The rooms were very clean and comfortable , decor very minimal and bland
The bed itself was comfortable but the pillow was terrible I felt like I had my head on a rock. The spare pillow was the same. I didnt sleep well but I would stay again and take my own pillow

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sasbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello Sasbrown
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay. We offer soft pillows upon request, and have now updated our compendium to advise guests of this. We are sorry you found our room décor bland and minimalistic. Our attempts have been to create a spacious environment for our guests to stay in.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here in May 2013 for a business trip. Check in was easy and quick. Staff very friendly. The room was standard fare, however nice and clean. Bathrooms were quite large. Free wifi was great. We stayed on a corporate rate of $140 for the night which I thought was still quite expensive, for the area.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlr100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Motel was very good quality and the staff was friendly. This motel would be great for the traveler or someone visiting the area for a few days and just needing somewhere to sleep. It is located in a very busy area but this suited our needs and we were not bothered by traffic noise. The little balcony outside of the room could have been better if there had been some comfortable seats and a little table and perhaps the gardens behind the rooms could have done with a freshening up. The continental breakfast for $10 was good and more than adequate even for a hungry person. Located next to the motel in a pub and the meals there were fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank insolefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Staff friendly and helpful, rooms comfortable and enjoyed outside area to enjoy coffeee in morning. Breakfast was excellent with huge variety covering everyone's taste.

The only draw back would be if you like to sleep in (which was not in my case) the traffic noise early in the morning was intense.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank trevor_carnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing a review of your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our staff helpful and friendly and our rooms comfortable. It is always good to hear from guests that have and a pleasant stay. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
2.9 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
263 reviews
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
1.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
5.0 mi away
The Windsor Castle Hotel
The Windsor Castle Hotel
#4 of 10 in Maitland
52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Best Western Endeavour Motel
Best Western Endeavour Motel
#1 of 2 in East Maitland
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway

Property: Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Address: 11 Denton Park Drive, Rutherford, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway consists of 61 well-appointed rooms; all situated at ground level, with easy access and off street parking. Opened in October 2007 this modern, Motel and Conference Centre complex is situated 5 minutes west of historic Maitland the gateway to the Hunter Valley wine region. The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway is ideally located for a break on route, either traveling to northern NSW or southbound to Sydney. Enjoy a short break to go winetasting in the vineyards, play golf or travel to Port Stephens to cruise the bay on a dolphin watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Hotel Maitland
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway Maitland/Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing