We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Maitland Inn(Rutherford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pindari House(Lochinvar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Maitland(Maitland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Molly Morgan Motor Inn(East Maitland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurri Motor Inn(Kurri Kurri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
84
133
54
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
133
54
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbradford hotelacross the roadthe pubgood sizeroom was largepetrol stationreception stafffresh airgreat roombuffet breakfastfast food outletsshort staycomfortable bedpub next doornext morningfull buffetstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
193 - 198 of 289 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Hotel was clean and easily accessed from main road. Room was comfortable and despite the hotel being busy was relatively quiet. Disappointed that breakfast was served so late; not very condusive with getting an early start. If needed to visit the same area would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Suepar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, General Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review on your stay. We are pleased to hear you found the motel comfortable on your stay. We have recently changed our breakfast hours to accommodate the early risers and travellers on weekends by starting at 7am. Thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is in a great spot for the Hunter. Easy reach to everything. The staff were very friendly, the room was very comfortable. The shower nozzle was a little bit of a pain, a water saver but sprayed in a funny formation. Breakfast catered for almost everyone.
If you're going to the hunter, you cannot go wrong staying at the Mercure Maitland (which in Rutherford actually). I know I will be staying here if/when I return.

Room Tip: We upgraded to the King Room and were on the north side.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chezmuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for you review, I was pleased to hear that you think we are an excellent location for the traveller coming to see the Hunter Valley. We are conveniently located in Rutherford which is central to both Newcastle and The Hunter Valley without the great expense or minimum 2 night stay.
I definitely agree that our shower heads are not the best, we are in the process of replacing them with a much better water saver model.
We hope to see you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We have stayed here many times and made it our base stay for work and pleasure.
The staff are very professional and friendly. The area is between Newcastle and the Hunter Valley with top wineries not far away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Landcruiser2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Thank you for you review, I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly that our staff are friendly and professional we are passionate about customer service. We were pleased to hear that our location is convenient to both the Hunter Valley and Newcastle. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RenaT_23, Manager at Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Accommodation was great, bed was broken and saggy but other facilities were great. Good location with great pub/hotel next door with great meals.

We arrived an hour before check in time to see if any chance our room was ready. Whatever you do don't try this as the extremely rude lady behind the reception bit my head off and said do not come back until 2pm. Thank god when I returned at 3pm she was not there and a very pleasant younger girl checked us in with no hassles.

Front reception is first point of contact and this woman would be out the door quick smart.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 802Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews