We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hunter Gateway Motel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Maitland Inn(Rutherford)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pindari House(Lochinvar)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Quest Maitland(Maitland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Molly Morgan Motor Inn(East Maitland)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kurri Motor Inn(Kurri Kurri)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (292)
Filter reviews
292 results
Traveler rating
87
133
54
14
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
87
133
54
14
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbradford hotelacross the roadthe pubgood sizeroom was largepetrol stationreception stafffresh airgreat roombuffet breakfastfast food outletsshort staycomfortable bedpub next doornext morningfull buffetstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
204 - 209 of 292 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

rooms were clean enough, but the aircon was not great and needed to be on full blast to make an impact on the rather stuffy room. confusion over the times breakfast was served meant we missed out. Also it is called the mercure Maitland but it is in RUTHERGLEN which is about 15mins out of town - does not sound like much but after 12 hours on the road the extra crawl in traffic was not welcome. The saving grace was a pub nearby so could get a meal without having to get back in the car.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, General Manager at Hunter Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear guest,
Thanks for your feedback. I was disappointed to read that there were elements of your stay that did not meet your expectations. We take all guest feedback very seriously
Yes we are in Rutherford (Rutherglen being in Victoria) not Maitland, but Maitland is only about 6km up the road, if you stay on the highway and not go into Maitland. Our address clearly states Rutherford.
Our staff aim to keep our guests up to date with what is occurring in the motel and I believe they would have explained the changed breakfast hours.
We strive to give our guest a pleasant and comfortable stay, and believe you would be hard pressed to have gotten a better bed and breakfast deal over the Christmas period in our area.
Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RenaT_23, General Manager at Hunter Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Out or the main town this motel come convention center was a great stay. Spotless, spacious room with big shower. Staff were very friendly. The motel has free internet but not WiFi, back to the old blue wire. That's OK if your computer has a LAN connection. The world is moving on and the Mercure needs to chatch up.
The pub across the carpark offers simple well cooked meals

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy_Old_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenaT_23, General Manager at Hunter Gateway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Thanks for taking the time in providing a review of your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Mercure Maitland is under new management and I am pleased to advise that we are in the process of installing WFI throughout the motel as we speak. We hope to be up and running within a few weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Rena Taylor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Rooms appear to be the same here with either QB or KB (2 singles joined). Having stayed before both beds are on the firm side. Room size is good and bathroom is good. Small work desk that you share with TV. The WiFi and Foxtel both have poor reception here. Mini bar is quite cheap. Breakfast is a buffet and nice. Restaurant is in the Pub with good food. Pub is quite lively with a good crowd too. Its much cheaper to stay here than Singleton.

Room Tip: Pick the Queen bed room and include the breakfast
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews