We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quick stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Reviewed December 7, 2012

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vanessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

The reception staff were a standout. The pleasant friendly nature from making the booking to booking in and out was great. The room was lovely, modern and newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable. Breakfast at the restuarant was fresh and efficient.
I thought this motel might be noisy because if its proximity to the highway but the motel rooms are up the back if the site and didn't hear traffic.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Findleycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed for one night in November and very much enjoyed our stay. The room was large, clean, the bed was comfortable and the pillows great. Its also very well priced. Although we weren't far off the New England Highway we didn't experience any night road noise which was a good surprise. There is also a modern pub nearby.

We chose not to have breakfast at the motel (reasonably priced at $19.50 full buffet) and ate elsewhere. There is plenty of choice for food around the motels location.

We don't often get to that part of the Hunter but we would have no hesitation in staying here again and happily recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank verie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was very short and very comfortable stay. Rooms are very clean and new. Hotel looks like any motor inn but really clean and comfortable. Pool needs to check properly. Hotel location little complicated. Very nice club next to hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atilgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our number one impression of the Mercure Maitland was the size of the Spa Room. It was spacious and stylish (if typically motel!). Enough room for the bride to prepare for the wedding, enough room for us to relax with a nice outdoor area, although it had no privacy when the door was open - also no insect screens.
Overall it was a nice stay - service - unobtrusive, rooms - clean (although showing some signs of wear for such a newish property), gardens - in need of major work (weeks growing through the native garden will strangle it all very soon!)

Room Tip: We did not see the standard rooms but the much more expensive spa room was certainly relaxing.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobHelen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on a trip to Maitland to visit relatives. Room was clean, modern and comfortable. Only criticism is the pillows were lumpy & the toiletries basic.

Paid for a normal room with breakfast at $190/night (bed only rate was $175/night). On arrival asked for a room with a bath and was offered an upgrade to a spa room for $30. So total for the night was $220. Reasonable for a 4 star Sydney hotel, but a bit high for a country 3.5 star motor inn. By comparison, we recently paid $280 for a b/fast inclusive rate at the Sydney Westin.

BTW Breakfast was excellent (freshly poached eggs) and great value at only $15 extra on the room only rate.

Room Tip: get a room away from the highway
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juutan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jules787
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rutherford
11.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hunter Valley
2.9 mi away
Quest Maitland
Quest Maitland
#1 of 10 in Maitland
295 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kirkton Park Hotel Hunter Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Chateau Elan Hunter Valley
13.4 mi away
Mercure Resort Hunter Valley Gardens
1.8 mi away
Monte Pio Hotel and Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway

Address: 11 Denton Park Drive, Rutherford, Maitland, New South Wales 2320, Australia (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Hunter Gateway)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Maitland > Rutherford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rutherford
Price Range: $97 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway consists of 61 well-appointed rooms; all situated at ground level, with easy access and off street parking. Opened in October 2007 this modern, Motel and Conference Centre complex is situated 5 minutes west of historic Maitland the gateway to the Hunter Valley wine region. The BEST WESTERN Hunter Gateway is ideally located for a break on route, either traveling to northern NSW or southbound to Sydney. Enjoy a short break to go winetasting in the vineyards, play golf or travel to Port Stephens to cruise the bay on a dolphin watch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Hotel Maitland
Best Western Plus Hunter Gateway Maitland/Rutherford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing