We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retreat from reality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 1 Carmel B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Retreat from reality”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I have just returned home after a relaxing spa retreat break at Fawkes House. Wonderful spa therapist, awesome local food, all in a beautiful country setting just 10 minutes from pretty Kalamanda. Lots of little things make it special too, from the varied DVD library, the beautiful china pieces and the opportunity to sample lots of wonderful spa products. Oh and did I mention the great local wine? I think it would make a great romantic weekend destination or just a "time out" break for anyone. I look forward to returning with my daughter one day for a relaxing bonding break. Thanks Caroline and Richard.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swendy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawkeshouse, Owner at Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Hi thanks for your great review sorry bit slow responding been busy.... busy!
The therapists were thrilled you had enjoyed the treatments so much...everyone loves them and everyone looks so good after them!
We have launched some new treatments in the last few days and hope to welcome you and your daughter back for a weekend of sublime pampering soon!
Kind Regards Caroline and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
47
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are definitely not ones for B&B - I always feel awkward like we're intruding on their house or something. That is why Fawkes is so great - you get the homeliness of a B&B while being completely private in your own cottage. The setting is absolutely gorgeous & our weather was particularly good - couldnt have asked for better. Loved the spa, welcome platter, hammock, lazing in the courtyard in the sun & the original decor & furniture. The spa treatments were amazing & we loved all the food. Our bed was a bit soft & I was glad I brought my own pillow but you can't please everyone with these things cos its personal preference. I would recommend some lighting between our house & the dining room. Thank you Caroline & Richard for a wonderful overnight stay - wish we could've stayed longer. We will be back & will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawkeshouse, Owner at Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Brooke....Thanks for your great review...yes, everyone enjoys the privacy and luxury of their private cottages. Sorry I think we must have forgotten to put on the outside light from your cottage to the dining room, oops! The mattresses we have are chiropractic recommended and we do have a selection of pillows while some guests do prefer to bring their own!.Thanks for your kind comments re the hospitality you enjoyed, the food and the spa treatments.
Looking forward to spoiling you both again when you next visit with us at Fawkes House.
Kind Regards Caroline and Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My hubbie and I were looking for a place close to the city but far enough away that it felt like a holiday. This was our first over night stay away from our bub since he was born so Fawkes House was perfect. We had the place to ourselves and we were delighted at the cottage we were in. We went on a very hot day but it was lovely and cool inside. A nice spa bath and a very nice welcome platter of cheese, dips and fruit. We had dinner and breakfast on the verandah which was very relaxing and very yummy. My husband grumbled that the tv wasn't in the bedroom, but as I explained- we weren't there to watch tv :) Also, the mattress in the bedroom is rather hard but I think that's only because we are used to a very soft bed. We loved walking in the gardens and visits from the resident cats and dog! Loved it! It was very special and we will come back again to try out the spa treatments.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melshaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fawkeshouse, Owner at Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for your great review..... hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Having a FIFO husband this was a great opportunity to have a 2 night getaway. Richard and caroline wonderful hosts. breakfast superb laid out lovely on our verandah each morning. very relaxing.Great for couples ,girls retreat or just to get away and collect thoughts.Got to sample any natural essential oil based productsbeauty products from main house and trial in our room and all available to purchase. Nothing lse around so you ned to eat dinner there or drive to obtain food approx 20 mins. Not suitable for children adults only .Would definitely return

Room Tip: only 2 cottages .We had the coach house. The other cottage had a separate lounge room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Valerie143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Mum and I had the privelage of being pampered and catered for by Caroline and Richard at this wonderful retreat. It was everything we could have hoped for and more. Mum's special dietery needs were met with real care, nothing was too much trouble. The meals were outstanding, cooked and presented with love. Our treatments were amazing, and after just 3 days we felt completely relaxed and recharged. Even Caroline and Richard's pets make you feel welcome and are a joy, libby, lilly and lucy :) We loved every minute and will be marking our calendar for a return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shaggyspic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

One night away and we came back so relaxed and refreshed. Told family about this wonderful getaway and turns out several of them had enjoyed romantic getaways to the same very spot! Such attention to detail, and incredible food - highly recommend dinner for two in the dining room, you will not be disappointed. Beautiful gardens and surrounds, lovely cottages. Serenity and space.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Belinda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Rooms are nicely secluded, very comfortable and fitted out well. Caroline and Richard make you feel welcome, even providing us with dinner despite our late arrival. Breakfast and dinner made from excellent quality products, enjoyed our stay and wish it was longer. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveDaAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carmel
2.2 mi away
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
Hidden Valley Eco Lodges
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
68 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bickley Valley Retreat
Bickley Valley Retreat
#1 of 1 in Bickley
18 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lavenderpatch
Lavenderpatch
#2 of 2 in Mundaring
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Carinyah Retreat BnB
Carinyah Retreat BnB
#1 of 1 in Pickering Brook
38 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
Rosebridge House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 5 in Gooseberry Hill
81 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Good Life B&B
The Good Life B&B
#1 of 5 in Lesmurdie
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat

Property: Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat
Address: 84 Union Rd, Carmel, Western Australia 6076, Australia
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Carmel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the tranquil surroundings and stunning beauty of a Heritage Listed Federation home and garden… Nestled in the picturesque Carmel Valley, just 30 minutes from Perth, Fawkes House offers a peaceful and relaxing spa retreat. Only 20 minutes from both domestic and international airport terminals we offer the discerning business traveler a more appealing option than a large impersonal hotel in central Perth. Surrounded by orchards and vineyards, Fawkes House is the perfect choice for a romantic weekend, a place to recharge, or a base to explore Perth and its many surrounding attractions. With sauna, spa treatment, menu and gourmet home cooked meals don't miss out - book now! No one wants to leave!Fawkes House Awards2013 listed as number 6 in the 10 best Spa and Wellness destinations on the RAC site2012 Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce Business Awards Outstanding Tourism Business2011 Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce Business Awards Oustanding Customer Service2010 Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce Business Awards Micro Business of the Year2009 Kalamunda Chamber of Commerce Business Awards Tourism Accommodation category ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fawkes House Country Spa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing