We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Bankfoot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bankfoot Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bankfoot B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lytham St Annes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We chanced upon the Bankfoot Inn by accident while travelling north from Perth to Pitlochry on the A9, after a hideous night elsewhere! Upon enquiring at the Inn, we met the lovely couple, Rab & Susan, who had worked hard to renovate this lovely building (with 22 original fireplaces!!) and take it back to its former glory. The decor was a perfect mix of old and new, with a lovely atmosphere. The dining room and bar were book-ended by open fireplaces and the stone walls of the building were three foot thick, so nice and cosy for the winter! The room we had was large and well-proportioned, with an ultra modern en-suite. We had a wonderful dinner from the extensive menu, washed down by several drinks at the bar. In the morning, we sampled a tasty, hot Scottish breakfast of the highest standard. The Bankfoot Inn really is a hidden gem, in a sea of mediocrity. At only £40 pppn B&B, it really was tremendous value for money and we look forward to our return - this time with our dog!! Thanks very much, Rab & Susan - you saved our trip! Brian & Kate.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Preston-North-End
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    77
    18
    4
    3
See reviews for
44
151
28
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2009

We picked this pub at random with no idea what to expect, what a nice surprise!
We had a warm welcome, comfortable room with a new modern bathroom.
The service was very friendly and the food was very enjoyable.
We were lucky enough to be there on one of the live music nights which was excellent even though it was well into the next morning before we finally got to bed!!!
The hotel is in the process of renovation but thisdid not spoil our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HOLLY18Lancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2009

Our party of four (young & old) stayed here 28th & 29th August 2009 as a base for the Runrig gig at Scone Palace on the Saturday. The building is being carefully restored, retaining character features including fireplaces, and by Rab's account it's something of a labour of love! Superb quality real ale (only one on our visit but the range is expanding as I type) excellent food and very comfortable en-suite rooms. Rab and Susan provided a warm welcome and excellent service. We were all impressed and will definitely return (hopefully we'll catch some live music in the bar). Highly recommended, so try it!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mardler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2009

A surprise night away for my birthday, it looked good and ticked so many boxes - good price £70 for a room, looked like nice food and a cosy bar. The room was a bit small, tv right beside the bed (dunno how they thought we would watch that!). Rab apologised for the state of the shared bathroom (horrid decor but clean). We had dinner downstairs, haggis ball - greasy. Smoked Salmon and Prawn cornettes
Prawn Marie rose wrapped in smoked salmon served with brown bread and salad. - basically prawn cocktail in salmon - greasy salmon too - no taste. Rack of Lamb
Feta-crusted rack of lamb gently roasted in a cherry tomato sauce, served with seasonal vegetables, potatoes - overcooked and dry rib, vegetables overcooked too - i heard the table beside me complain about the dryness too. Fillet of Salmon
Pan fried with prawns and a lemon butter sauce - lovely moist salmon - hurrah! Breakfast the next day was toast and tea or coffee with a fry up - not the usual flakes etc on offer. We were handed out a fry without asking if thats what we wanted - it had a tomatoe, some mushrooms swimming in black sauce, two slices of bacon, an egg and a sausage ( cheap tasting sausage) no tattie scone or black pudding !!. Not any offer of any more tea/coffee. Rab and Susan are very nice people on a personal level but I wouldn't rush back to here.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmarfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bankfootinn, Owner at Bankfoot Inn, responded to this review, August 26, 2009
We're sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room you stayed in is one of our smallest rooms, we do have much larger (ensuite rooms). The position of the TV (for that room) is also not ideal. Realignment of the bed may provide us a better layout. The TV's themselves are to be replaced over the winter with larger flatscreens.

I agree, there was a mistaken assumption over your breakfast and this is being addressed. A breakfast menu is being developed as part of our ongoing commitment to improved customer service.

The bathroom you used is one of the last remaining rooms that we have not redeveloped. It is scheduled for demolition and rebuild over the quieter winter months.

With regard to your evening meal, I will take this up with our chefs, however, I wish you had mentioned this at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloquet, MN USA
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2009

We were staying at Newmill Farm B&B just down the road from here. They suggested us to come and we are so glad we did. From the time we walked in and when we left...service was super. Rab & Susan were both very friendly and upbeat. The food and drinks were great. Susan had told us how they have redone all the work in the place themselves. It looks great. The rooms upstairs are being worked on as well. She said it was going to be a B&B once it was done. It will look great. Keep up the good work.
This is a place where some locals come to eat & drink. Great people.
If you are ever in the area....please do stop in and grab a bit to eat here. You will not regret it.
Thanks again Rab & Susan.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdg6869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bankfoot
4.9 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
759 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dunkeld House Hotel
Dunkeld House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Dunkeld
2,246 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Royal Dunkeld Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Atholl Arms Hotel
Atholl Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunkeld
497 reviews
6.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
6.0 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bankfoot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bankfoot Inn

Property: Bankfoot Inn
Address: Main Street, Bankfoot PH1 4AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Bankfoot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bankfoot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bankfoot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 18th-century Scottish coaching inn located in central Perthshire in Scotland. We're close to Dunkeld and Pitlochry, the inn is a perfect place for weekend or short breaks; it is close to the River Tay and popular for salmon fishing. We offer home cooked meals and our bars stock local real ales and an extensive collection of single malts. There is regular open folk sessions every week and guests are welcome to participate. Live music monthly. Dogs welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bankfoot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bankfoot Inn Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing