We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found”
Review of Le Marijas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Marijas
Ranked #1 of 1 Peynier B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 13, 2013

hmm, should I really give away this secret? I discovered le Marijas on a trip to Provence in 2009 and have been back every year since. Ideally situated in a triangle between Marseille, Aix-en-Provence and the beaches of Cassis, this little bed and breakfast exudes tranquility and charm. All the best sights are accessible within a 20-40min drive. There are only 5 bedrooms, all unique and tastefully furnished, each with an en-suite bathroom, so you will never feel crowded. The charming hosts Anne-Sophie and her husband Michel will make you feel at home from the minute you arrive - whether taking an aperitif before dinner, enjoying a wonderful breakfast (fresh croissants, freshly sqeezed orange juice, home-made jams!) on the patio or playing a game of petanque in the garden. Anne-Sophie is very knowledgable and can give you expert advice on where to eat (she will also help you with reservations), were to buy the best cheese, where to shop away from the tourist crowds and which sights to see. You will also meet interesting and friendly fellow guests from all over.
The garden is lovely and the large pool invites lounging and relaxation. If you like to hike or jog you can just run out the back of the property where there are many trails through the adjacent forest. In short, if you prefer small, personal and unique hotels le Marijas is superb. Chances are, you will find yourself returning time and again and extending your stay every time....!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely and absolutely quiet. The largest has a kitchenette but you can also use the ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Katie696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 33 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose Le Marijas by Internet and after arrival we found the realíty more beautiful than the images. We got a great welcome by Anne-Sophie, who turned to be a charming and very helpful host. The whole compound is like a botanical garden, you can relax and enjoy the sunshine near the swimming-pool. The rooms are spacious, the breakfast is copious, we - three couples - spent an unforgottable week there. Le Marijas is an excellent place to get acquainted with Provence, e.g. Avignon, Aix, the villages in Luberon are in close distance, even Cassis - and the beach - is an easy driving.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gabor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This is our second stay at Le Marijas and we would stay no place else in Provence. Anne-Sophie Schmidt is the most welcoming host and the setting is beautiful (as is Anne-Sophie). Waking up in our spacious room and walking 50 feet to a wonderful petit dejuner each morning brings a smile to our face. The pool and cabana are a setting out of a travel guide and the grounds are well landscaped and beautiful. The location is a short drive to both Avignon and Aix and we will definitely return again next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Seasonedwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Exquisite decoration of the rooms. Home made jams and brioche. You might also be lucky and meet opera and movie stars usual Marijas' guests. Usual guests include Natalie Dessay, George Clooney and Pamela Anderson.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMediatv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frederic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Myriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank soso1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Marijas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Marijas

Address: 154 Chemin Marijas, 13790 Peynier, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Bouches-du-Rhone > Peynier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Peynier
Price Range: $110 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Provence 15km South East of Aix, inserted in a protected and privileged domain, our "Maison d'hôte de Charme", Le Mari Jas, founded by opera singer Anne-Sophie Schmidt, could be an ideal place for your artist's relaxation and concentration between rehearsals and performances. Our equipments include a vast swimming pool and jacuzzi, two tennis courts at disposal and the Sainte-Victoire 18 holes Golf & Country Club, one of the most beautiful Provence golf course, is only 5 minutes from the house. Footpasses and biking trails start just behind the property. A piano is also available for practicing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Marijas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing