We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Petite Provence

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lirac
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Petite Provence
Ranked #2 of 2 Lirac B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great family stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Perfect stay for my Easter Holiday in Provence. It's a great base to tour around Avignon, Nimes, Gard du Pont, St-Remy, etc. with a car, though a bit hard to find even with a GPS. Call Guillaume if you have a difficult time finding the place. The owner Guillaume is very helpful and hospitable. He is a chef, and his dish is absolutely fantastic at an affordable price, using fresh elements from the Provence market every day. Order the dinner from him a day in advance. The rose wine from Tavel, the village next to Lirac, is very tasty, good to go with the full-volume French dinner. The rooms are clean and comfortable, dotted with Provence country style decorations. Recommend to family and couples.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank F_Chang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taipei
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

I have stayed at here for six nights, and ordered four dinner. The host was a professional chef and his cooking is excellent, much more valueable than Michelin one star resterant I've ever tasted. Breakfast is included in the room rate, but need extra pay 29euro for dinner. Room is very clean, quiet, space is big enough, fully lighted with sunshine. Host is very friendly, and willing to share anything about travel. I strongly recommend to stay here if visiting provence and order dinner!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2009

A bit hard to find, so in the end Guillaume found us when we were looking for "La Petite Provence" in Lirac. You definitely need a car to get to this lovely village. But you won't be disappointed. The surroundings are beautiful, especially in autumn. Lirac is a renowned wine-producing village. In nearby Tavel they make excellent Rose wine. Guillaume serves the local wine with the perfect dinners he prepares. He's a nice guy to talk with and his B&B is in a nice old house. The rooms are bright and clean, their design is simply beautiful. A great base from which to explore Avignon, Uzes and other places, but just as good as a refuge for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frankie-the-Hun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

La Petite Provence is a tiny yet wonderful B&B located in a peaceful little village called Lirac. It took us about 15 to 20 minutes to drive from Avignon, but the time spent was definitely not a waste. Driving from Avignon to La Petite Provence, we passed through beautiful vineyards. Lirac is close to Uzes, Nimes and Pont du Gard, and so Lirac is more convenient than Avignon if you are traveling to these places.

When my husband and I arrived at the B&B in the morning, we first met Deirdre, the hostess who greeted us with amiable smiling face. Later we met Guillaume, Deirdre's husband, who is a very friendly and charming guy. He is also the chef of the B&B who prepared fabulous dinner for us. Deirdre was so kind that she treated us with delicious homemade cookies and a jar of cold water before we set off for sightseeing. When we returned to the B&B in the evening, our suitcase was already inside our room upstair.

We were enchanted by the warm and cozy feeling of the B&B. The colour, the furniture and decoration are full of tasteful French country style. We were free to hang out in the living and dining room. Our bedroom was clean and lovely. The bed was comfortable. The only minus was that the windows were small and near the roof. It does not have large windows like those in other rooms. In the morning we understood why. Our room is an east-facing one and so the small windows ensured that we had a good sleep after the sun rose.

Breakfast is terrific. Guillaume has traveled around to search for the best baguette and croissants from local bakery. Yes, the baguette is the best I have ever tried. The baguette served by Guillaume has a special crispy crust that distinguishes it from other ordinary baguette. I also loved their home-made jam in particular vanilla cherry – whole cherry in every bite. Dinner is marvelous. Guillaume served us a four-course gourmet dinner in his beautiful courtyard. Along with the dinner was tasteful jazz music and light breeze. In the first evening we had Prosciutto and melon as starter, steak with mushroom sauce, pea, carrot and fresh pasta as main course, six types of cheese, crème burlee with rasberry and homemade cookies. The seond evening was equally great. We had seared scallop and avocado with vigneritte, white tunna with red bell pepper sauce, baked fennel, zucchini and favoured rice, also six kinds of chesse, camamel ice-cream with fresh fruit. The dinner was just PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT !!! Guillaume introduced each dish to us and chatted with his guests like friends during the dinner. The atmosphere was one that I couldn't find elsewhere.

Staying in La Petite Provence is one of the most memorable parts of our journey. It is definitely a hidden gem. We strongly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iren_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2007

Provence was every thing that I hoped it would be and more but our B&B was the highlight of our trip in Provence. La Petite Provence was the BEST and I mean BEST B&B that we stayed at. Guillaume and Deirdre welcome you into their home with such grace that you feel at home as soon as you arrive. You walk into their B&B through a beautiful courtyard that included the patio where you’ll have your breakfast and dinners each day. La Petite Provence also offers dinners and you will want to eat each night of your stay here. Guillaume is a former chef from Paris and it shows in each and everyone of his dishes. He serves you a four course meal that includes a salad, main, cheese plate and dessert. We were served everything from duck, steak to fish and everything in between. Guillaume’s breakfast are just as good, he goes each morning to the local bakery for his bread and brings you back the best croissants which he serves with his homemade jams that are to die for. You must try and buy his peach/lime jam, it was the best! Coffee is freshly brewed and each morning I would get a fresh pot of tea. His wife Deirdre is from Ireland and is just so full of charm and friendliness. Deirdre helped me map out our week long stay in Provence and made sure that we saw all the best sights. The rooms in La Petite Provence are fabulous, everything is done in country French right down to the Ralph Lauren towels in the bathroom. The beds are done up in the best linens and each room smells of the lavender fields that the Provence area is famous for. Guillaume and Deirdre respect your privacy in your room so if you want daily maid service you must request it along with how you want your towels done. Our room was nice size with a large bay window that allowed fresh evening air in since you didn’t have any A/C and you really didn’t need it. Bottom line is if you are staying in the Provence region you MUST stay at La Petite Provence, you’ll be so happy that you did.

  • Liked — EVERYTHING
  • Disliked — NOTHING
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sculadawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Petite Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Petite Provence

Property: La Petite Provence
Address: Montee des Cazaledes, 30126 Lirac, France
Location: France > Occitanie > Gard > Lirac
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lirac
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing