We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“paistry at its best”
Review of Le Chapeau Rouge

Le Chapeau Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $39
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 14, 2019

Unfortunatly we only tried the paistry from the bakery but we didn't regret it.
Everything was very tasty including the coffee. We even took some paistry home.
The vendors were very nice. It made us sad to leave this place.
Breakfast in the shade of beautiful trees in a provencial landscape.
What else could ask for?
Merci beaucoup.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank INKA97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 197 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2018 via mobile

We ate here twice whilst staying in Simiane-la-Rotonde. The first time on a Wednesday lunch the second on a Sunday.
We made a reservation both times and you need to do this otherwise they book up and will turn people away-it looks like they only do 1 sitting.
The first meal on the Wednesday was great, traditional cuisine (they only prepare 3 choices and once they are gone they are gone.) we started with fresh tomato salad from the garden-so fresh and delicious! I had camargue beef stew and rice for main really delicious and I mean REALLY delicious! Husband had duck with potato, we described it as a duck shepherds pie which whilst unusual he said was very tasty. We enjoyed a pudding of ice-cream, creme de marrons and chantilly cream, all washed down with a bottle of rosé and a calvados!
We returned on the Sunday and were too late for lamb which was the only meat dish on the menu. This was very disappointing as whilst I like fish my husband not so much. My dad opted for just a starter and cheese as he definitely didn’t want fish.
The owners of the restaurant were welcoming and fun. They made us feel welcome, chatted to us all, we had discussions with the waiter about the Rolling Stones... my dad and him are major fans!
The atmosphere on the Sunday did it for us whilst the menu choice didn’t. Albeit it was quite an expensive meal for one we weren’t so keen.
However, best advice book for an early sitting if you want lamb and do go. It’s a great restaurant!

Date of visit: September 2018
1  Thank SarahBee32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2018

My wife and I have eaten at Le Chapeau Rouge twice, once a few years ago, and once a couple of weeks back. On both occasions the food was excellent and reasonably priced, and the service was friendly and efficient. We couldn't fault anything.

Then something strange and off-putting occurred. We arrived at noon on a Sunday, without having made a booking, and on the off chance that there might be a spare table, but not really expecting there to be one. We met the proprietor at the entrance hall of the otherwise empty restaurant and, with a cross facial expression, he interrupted my enquiry in mid-sentence (yes, I was speaking French) with a brusque "C'est complet" ("It's full") - neither a "Bonjour", an "Au revoir", nor a hint of a smile - and walked straight past us. We felt shocked and slighted by his abrupt and unacceptable behaviour, but perhaps he can doesn't need foreign tourists' euros; he certainly won't be receiving any more of ours.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I have been several times in this region, but never tried this restaurant. What a mistake! It´s the excellent gourmet restaurant with emphasis to presentation and delicate taste of meals and desserts. In french style the daily menue is not a big one, but everything chosen is a win. The owner with a passion described all meals and a selection of wines. We were very satisfied with the service, atmosphere of the restaurant and meals of course combined with the excellent local red wine.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vladimir789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATHERINE L, Propriétaire at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Thank you very much, Sir. We hope to see you again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2017 via mobile

It was wet, we were hungry, the town was deserted so we were departing for Banon with our tails between our legs when on turning left at a junction at the foot of the hill, et voila, warm-looking from the outside, this lovely little restaurant proved warm both of temperature and welcome on the inside.
Menu du jour was of a vegetable quiche, yum-yum, followed by a duck cutlet with gratin dauphinois potatoes which we chose to wash down with a 50cl pichet of vin blanc. Excellent fare.
The restaurateur, having greeted us with a smile proved to have a gentle sense of humour even in English. After coffee, we left in good mood, prepared to venture forth in the even worse weather we were to face outside.
A great lunch.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank luxuryliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CATHERINE L, Propriétaire at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2017

Thank you gentlemen..We hope to see you again, perhaps with a better weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chapeau Rouge also viewed

Banon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Simiane-la-Rotonde, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Lagarde-d'Apt, Vaucluse
Banon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Revest-des-Brousses, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Banon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 

Been to Le Chapeau Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing