We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gastronomic stunner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Gorges de Pennafort

Les Gorges de Pennafort
Ranked #1 of 5 Restaurants in Callas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $56 - $162
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Philippe Da Silva, a generous and enthusiastic Chef, has turned the Hostellerie des Gorges de Pennafort into one of the most sought-after restaurants in the Var. This lover of fine foods prepares a neoclassical cuisine that is always elaborate and delightful. Among others, his creations include foie gras and parmesan raviolis, a lobster salad with tomato confit and fried scampi with chanterelles and arugula cream... An invitation to a delicious, tasteful moment.
Lindfield,UK
Level Contributor
125 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Gastronomic stunner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

Simply among one of the finest meals I have ever eaten.
The different menus were a little confusing,the food however was amazing with outstanding service.The wine list was comprehensive and the Sommelier extremely helpful.
Definately a restaurant for a special occasion

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank scartwright110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    91
    46
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
151 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gastro-extraordinaire!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

If you want to taste Michelin-Star cuisine, head to Les Gorges de Pennafort. Yes, it is expensive but entirely worth the experience. The food is amazing, inspired, delicious. The service is outstanding. You will not soon forget the atmosphere, ambiance, and of course, the gastronomic experience that is Pennafort.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service outstanding food better than the 1 star would suggest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

So this was booked by some friends who have a family home in the beautiful nearby town of Seillans. Arrived and it was pouring with rain, the moment we drove up to the front of the restaurant a hostess rushed out with an umbrella and ferried us all in. We came along with two dogs too and these were welcomed with a couple of bowls of water.
3 of the 4 us ordered the 70 euro menu and I ordered the 85 euro menu. Then the fun began, yes we had the usual chef's treats and then came my starter.... Well it was mine but they brought it to everyone at the table! Was this a mistake? Had the seemingly efficient waiter made a huge error? So we asked; "non, tous Et Bon" came the response... Delicious it was too, then followed a series of starters that no one had ordered!! Basically everything but the lobster... It was clear that they were having a bit of fun and we went right a long. This was all watered down by a bottle local wine... Each starter was superb. We had multiple types of fish, truffle ravioli, pigeon for a total of five starters..
The mains came as ordered!! Which was a relief as we felt that we would explode if they continued the fun with the mains too. All absolutely perfectly cooked and just beautifully cooked garden veg with delightful tastes. The desserts did follow a pattern similar to the starters. Out came one dish each and 2 minutes later as we were savouring them the table was inundated with a cornucopia of desserts all full of taste from the amazing melon sorbet to the caramel profiterole..

I have eaten at the George V, and other 3 star restaurants and this 1 star blew them away , we will definitely go again......

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonAlexS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very French”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Summary:
Summary of our experience for those who don't like to read a full account: Huge amount of mediocre French "haute cuisine" topped with the most arrogant service I have ever encountered. This poor rating comes mainly from the price/quality ratio coupled with a service that was so arrogant at times that it actually made us more amused than angry. Food in itself is mostly average.

In length:
I believe this to be a very fine establishment, servicing food with excellent service, as long as you don't do any of the mistakes we did. For the benefit of the establishment and the future customers, I shall list the most basic mistakes here.

1) Don't show up with kids
Unlike Italy, French restauranteurs are not crazy about kids. This was made very obvious by the "welcome" of the major d with a pained expression on his face when he saw our motley crew (two children and a baby). Dogs apparently are ok (as they usually are in France), because one of the staff's dogs was strolling around free in the restaurant several times. They were very accommodating on the food part though, making smaller portions for the kids (though charging a same fee for the kids degustation).

2) Don't ask for service in English
Most of the staff spoke very good English and didn't have any problems on using it. Unfortunately the waiter (not chef, but waiter) who was in charge of introducing all foods of our degustation menu spoke only French. When asked whether he could introduce the foods in English he got so upset that even his colleagues started looking little ashamed on his behalf.

3) Don't act in too relaxed manner, this is a French establishment
Being more used to Italian dining, we were probably not humble enough and treated having kids with us as the most natural thing in the world. This does not win points here (with couple refreshing exceptions). Also; dining here should be a formal event, not a relaxed chatty occasion with friends. Speaking in whispers and apologising profusely if you don't speak French, I believe could win little love here.

4) Don't expect to be blown away by amazing food experience
Ok, this one is relevant only if you are a foodie who's after some amazing tasting experiences. I would say this is truly haute cuisine in presentation and complexity of the portions. Also the courses are many, many more than listed in the degustation menu. We got more than what we ordered for so that part was very generous. You will definitely not leave hungry. Also, desserts were truly very very good. Unfortunately only the desserts.

Several of the courses were good, and the portion with scallops and a portion with foie gras raviolis even excellent but NONE of the many foods we sampled were truly spectacular. None of the foods made you think that "I hope I could cook something this good some time". When you pay 100+ euros per person, I believe you are entitled to expect at least one of the courses to be spectacular. And c'mon, what is it with these mediocre breads?

Sommelier was very friendly and we asked him to pair some wines for the food. Couple very good pairings, couple that I would not agree on at all and unfortunately little short on presenting the wines. Wines are always a matter of taste of course, but wine should not disagree with the food and its acidity / bouquet. Markups on the normal wines appeared to be between 2.5x and 4x from the retail prices with a very good selection and with most big name French wines cellared.

Now a reader at this point will wonder whether the service experience led to sour tasting experience also. For me, superb dish is a superb dish, no matter how the establishment or service is. And as written, not to sound overly negative, their dessert degustation was most excellent. Location and the interiors are also very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MadVikingInMilan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koege, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding dinner at Restaurant Les Gorges de Pennafort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

What an experience !
Me and my wife were looking forward to something special this evening,,,, and what an experience.

The environment and service was first in class. The service was top professional, with plenty of time to a relaxed conversation, combined with advice and comments rgd. the food, wine etc.

We chose the set menu (at 85€). The menu itself was gorgeous , but the combination with the various "Surprises from the Chef", made this one of the most magnificent dinners ever.

In total we got around 13-14 small dishes, each ones a masterpiece of its own right, including choices from the impressive Cheese-table.

It was a 4 1/2 hour experience, at 330€ for 2 persons (all included, tips, Drinks, wine etc) .... expensive .... maybe .... but a "once in a lifetime" experience ..... btw we'll be back next year

Lone & Bjarne

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjarne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Gorges de Pennafort also viewed

 
Les-Salles-sur-Verdon, Var
 

Been to Les Gorges de Pennafort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing