We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding restaurant, shame about the hotel”
Review of Le Pre du Moulin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Pre du Moulin
London
Level Contributor
138 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant, shame about the hotel”
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The restaurant at Le Pre du Moulin is worth a detour but the hotel is disappointing. The rooms are old-fashioned and somewhat shabby, although clean, and the common areas, which have recently been refurbished, are dark and depressing (shades of dark grey predominate). The rooms are to be refurbished this year and the prices doubled. Some people may like the slightly torture-chamber grey and black look, but personally I do not. With more vision the garden and hotel could be warm and inviting but the former is somewhat unkempt, the pool and pool furniture are generally shabby and the general atmosphere in the hotel is cold and uninviting. Breakfasts are overpriced and unimaginative. It's a shame, as the restaurant deserves better.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bitternwatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    19
    7
    2
See reviews for
13
56
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2011

Hotel:
The hotel is nicely located in the heart of the Provence near the city of Orange. The first thing you notice is a beautiful installed garden and patio with tables offering the possibility having dinner outside. Reservation via Internet was easy and a very friendly welcome letter was sent.
We were friendly welcomed at the hotel. The (Standard!) room itself, the bed and all its furniture are, apart from a new TV flat screen, old. The standard in the bathroom is similar; the whole ensemble has already seen better times. We saw some rooms in the higher category which looked much better.

The contact with the receptionist was always very friendly and attentive, questions were answered quickly and the guests can benefit from free Wi-Fi in the reception area.
The quality of the breakfast was for a French hotel very good, quality coffee, fresh orange juice and good pastry.

Restaurant:
After waiting for a responsible for some time the waiter from the restaurant took care of us.
Two waiters, one sommelier and apprentice/trainee were taking care for the guests interacting very friendly with us. In general the atmosphere of restaurant was very cold, (literally) as no music playing, no candles, no flowers… The tables were nicely set with silver cutlery and quality glasses.
The waiters were mostly standing at the kitchen entrance and observing the guests, unfortunately not very attentive towards us.
The overall quality of the kitchen was good but uninspired; the waiting times between the dishes where long though the restaurant was not crowded.
We were served the same “amuse-bouche” several days.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haebo005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Ideal place to enjoy the summer operas at the Chorégies d'Orange or Avignon or for travellling around Provence to see the beautiful scenery, quaint villages and the stunning lavender, sunflower and wheat fields. The food is outstanding and is getting better every year. The shaded court, where the meals are served in summer, is very romantic, candles on the tables would add a lot of charm. The garden and pool is nice but needs attention, with some gardening effort the owner could make a jewel out of it. There are not enough deck chairs and they need to be replaced, also there are not enough parasols in good condition. the room we had was spacious and clean but needs redecorating. Wifi is available but does not work reliably, needs to be professionally set-up. The reception was very friendly and the staff courteous and competent

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2007

This part of Provence is stunningly beautiful, and we are not commenting on that. The restaurant at the hotel is excellent too. However, the portrayal of the hotel on its website is a slight triumph of marketing over reality: our room was large, with an outer sitting area that had an unattractive table, a sofabed pushed up into one corner, but decorated in an old, unfashionable "DIY" way - nothing at all like the lovely white room shown on the website. Nothing wrong per se, but I expected nicer for 160 euros per night and having seen its web-site. Also, there's no sitting area/living room in the hotel, other than a few very ordinary wooden tables and rickety chairs, and some cushions, in a cold-ish tiled room.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serignan-du-Comtat
4.3 mi away
La Farigoule Restaurant-Hotel
La Farigoule Restaurant-Hotel
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Cecile-les-Vignes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
4.3 mi away
Auberge Castel Mireio
Auberge Castel Mireio
#1 of 1 in Cairanne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Le Glacier
Hotel Le Glacier
#2 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
Hotel Cigaloun-Orange
#1 of 18 in Orange
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ibis Orange Sud
Ibis Orange Sud
#6 of 18 in Orange
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
15.9 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Pre du Moulin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pre du Moulin

Property: Le Pre du Moulin
Address: Cours Joel Esteve, 84830 Serignan-du-Comtat, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Serignan-du-Comtat
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Serignan-du-Comtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Pre du Moulin 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Pre du Moulin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Pre Du Moulin Serignan-Du-Comtat, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing