We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in Provence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Certificate of Excellence
sao paulo, brazil
Level Contributor
396 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Great hotel in Provence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

We loved our stay there. Attentive staff. Rooms are simple but beautiful. We got a duplex with an absolutely fantastic view from Mount Ventoux; it looks like you were embedded in a painting.... Cozy gardens, nice pool, good breakfast. A great romantic scapeway.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acukiert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    94
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
83
469
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We were utterly charmed by this hotel, the location is beautiful, the staff well trained and attentive and the food marvellous. We stayed for a week and at no time did the high standards they set slip. The hotel has its share of international (British and American) visitors but is very popular with the French. It feels like a French hotel not an "international" one. As others have said the food in the main restaurant is fabulous, French and beautifully presented. I am sure that it will have a MIchelin star soon. The lunches on the terrace are simpler but also delicious and the location is lovely. Eating in the main restaurant every night was too much of a good thing for us but as said the other local restaurant is very close and good. Lunches run until 3.30 so a late lunch is also a possibility. The bistro wasn't open when we were there.
We have been to nice hotels where small issues niggled but here they all seem to have been thought out and resolved. For example
1. Breakfast (on the lovely terrace) stops at 11 so no having to set the alarm while on holiday
2. Being Scottish we find hot weather can leave us drinking a lot of water (really!) here all the water in the room is free and is in a fridge which keeps it very cold. They leave you 3 litres which they replace every day.
3. Tipping - as a guest you don't sign for meals etc they record them , they don't therefore give you slips with a place for you to add a tip for everything. They are clear that if you want to tip give something at the end . Even then they don't ask for anything when you pay by card. We did ,of course,leave something but it felt voluntary rather than extorted.
4. Parking- the hotel is in a small hilly village , sometimes with hotels if you leave for the day you can't get back into their car park. Here they park for you. Valet parking can be an affectation in large hotels here it relieves a stress.
5. Room service. In some hotels there is a tyrany of the room service who come at random times, take forever and you seem to be in their way. Here , and I don't know how they do it, your room is done (twice a day if you want) with a minimum of fuss.
The service and tone is no accident their is a director general Sébastien Pilat on site who is charming and involved ; the staff take their tone from him.
We did stay in the Master Suite which is a magnificent set of rooms with 2 balconies, which no doubt added to our pleasure but the other points still apply to the hotel generally.
This is my first review which does not pick some faults ,however, for us this hotel struck the right note of impeccable service, informality and good food in a lovely setting. Others may want a diferent mix but for us this sets a new benchmark.
Go if you can.

Room Tip: A balcony (which means a suite I think) would add to the pleasure
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Udston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at Crillon in March for our honeymoon. The hotel is absolutely stunning! We were upgraded to a gorgeous suite with amazing views from the top of the hill over the surrounding wineries and the mountains. Service was fantastic from start to finish - sommelier was very knowledgable and we learnt a lot about French wine over our three day stay.

The hotel layout is great and very unique - we loved the old stone of the castle and the winding stairways and secret paths. The dinner restuarant was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting near the huge open fire in the cool evenings enjoying our meal.
The pool terrace is lovely, and even though it was the beginning of March it caught all of the sunlight during the day making it nice and warm. Pool is also heated to a pleasant 30degrees!

The food at the restaurant was amazing. I would go back again just for the scallop entree and the chocolate dessert!!

All in all one of the best places we stayed at during our trip to France and we would definitely consider coming back - we loved every minute of it :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raegirl88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic hotel, in a great location, perfect for a provencal experience.

The hotel is more relaxed and friendly, as opposed to elegant, but the setting is beautiful, the service is outstanding and the rooms and public areas are very well done. Great place for a romantic, relaxing get away. I've spent several days here during the summer for the past few years, and will definitely be returning. One thing to be aware of is that the hotel restaurant can be a little too much if you're staying multiple nights. It's a fantastic restaurant, but sometimes you need a break from fabulous 5 course meals every night. Fortunately, there's a little cafe hidden away in the village below the hotel where you can eat outside in a more relaxed environment.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hclb, Owner at Hotel Crillon le Brave, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear Travel R,

Thank you for posting your review. We’re very happy to know that you’ve returned to Crillon le Brave several times over the years to enjoy the relaxed and romantic atmosphere. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

It sounds as though on your most recent visit last August you enjoyed the cuisine of our new chef Jérôme Blanchet. We’re of course pleased about that but we also agree with you that over a stay of several days it’s nice to have at least a couple of different dining experiences. That’s a big reason why we wanted to add even more choice for our guests by creating Bistrot 40K, a place for relaxed, intimate and fun dinners (outdoors in the lovely courtyard near Reception, weather permitting) featuring food and wine that comes from the rich agricultural region within 40 kilometres of our little village. Bistrot 40K is open 5 days a week this year from 21st May to 12th October.

Thanks again for taking the time to post your review.

Best regards from all of us at Hotel Crillon le Brave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken,S.c.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

We chanced upon this idyllic spot while roaming around Provence . The fragrances of the air , the food , the beautiful rooms and delicious fare made me want to live there . We have returned twice .The hotel is on many layers of an old monastery and has since expanded into several town buildings . All are beautiful , but I love the main house with it's views of Mt Ventoux . We hope to go again someday

Room Tip: A large room in the main house with a view of Mt Ventoux and the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sallybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

We loved the hotel as soon as we stepped in the reception. The view, the garden, the elegant France countryside decor simply melted our stress from driving away. Our room had the view of Mt. Ventoux. Food was fantastic and we enjoyed breakfast outside again with nice view. Bring your bike - the ride from the hotel to Mt. Ventoux was one of the most memorable experiences!

Room Tip: Room with view of Mount Ventoux
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerBasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We spent three nights here for a friend's wedding - given that the wedding party had the run of the property, our experience might not have been representative, but was very nice. The hotel is essentially the entire village. The food was fantastic (we loved the ambience of the cavern-like dining room) and we recommend one of the suites, which are more expensive and offer views out over Provence. We drove from the nearby train station and also recommend a drive up Mont Ventoux for the views.

Room Tip: Suites offer great views out over Provence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HMMIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crillon-le-Brave
14.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
18.6 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
17.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
13.7 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon le Brave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon le Brave

Property: Hotel Crillon le Brave
Address: Place de l Eglise, 84410 Crillon-le-Brave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Crillon-le-Brave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crillon-le-Brave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Crillon le Brave 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crillon le Brave is a relaxed and informal refuge where you can enjoy all of the simple pleasures of Provence. Located about 25 miles northeast of Avignon, our 36-bedroom hotel - a member of Relais & Chateaux since 1995 - is perched on top of a tiny hill village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The views from our rooms, terraces and gardens are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Crillon le Brave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Le Brave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing