We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Nearby Hotels
La Maison de Crillon(Crillon-le-Brave)
$335
$325
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Geraniums(Le Barroux)
$95
$84
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Garance(Bedoin)(Great Value!)
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Le Blueberry(Malaucene)
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Le Siecle(Mazan)(Great Value!)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
758 results
Traveler rating
604
105
32
14
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
105
32
14
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmont ventouxmain restauranttrufflegastronomic restaurantromantic weekendheated poolsmall villagebeautiful hotelour honeymoonwine listsurrounding countrysideold villageterrace overlookingmaster suiterosétour de francebeautiful room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
308 - 313 of 758 reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We recently spent 4 days at Crillon le Brave. The property is unique and quite pretty as it sits atop a hill and is essentially a collection of buildings in the small town of Crillon le Brave. There are beautiful views and the rooms are pleasant and rustically simple. The pool is small but quite nice. Overall it was disappointing due to a few key factors. There is a beautiful bar and terrace where they serve breakfast and lunch. We were there in August and the weather was great but under no circumstances can you eat dinner on the terrace! You are forced to eat in their "gastronomic" restaurant which is prix fixe, limited and indoors. We had our first meal there and enjoyed the experience but one was enough. It seems ridiculous that you cannot eat outside here when the weather is nice. You can have drinks outside, but no food. Their is a lunch menu at the terrace/bar and after a few days of indoor rich French food, it would have been nice to sit outside and enjoy some simpler comfort food from the lunch menu (which they stop serving at 1pm). Also, the check-in/lobby/concierge is a small room with one desk which often creates a long wait for assistance, asking a question etc. It seem poorly planned and you can tell that other guests get frustrated by the long waits. Overall, the hotel seems like it could benefit from some better management. I think we were paying around 400 Euros per night which, in the end, felt overpriced for the level of service, facilities etc. I would look elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hclb, Owner at Hotel Crillon le Brave, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

We would like to thank this guest for their review. We're pleased that they appreciated many aspects of our property but are of course disappointed that Hotel Crillon le Brave didn't live up to all of their expectations or desires.

We would like to address two specific points in the review about lunch and dinner service at the hotel, as we're concerned that there must have been some misunderstanding.

First, our lunch service on the terrace overlooking Mont Ventoux runs until 3:30 pm every day. It doesn't stop at 1:00 pm as stated in the review.

Second, it is not correct to say that "under no circumstances can you eat dinner on the terrace". In fact, during the summer season our standard practice is to serve dinner on the terrace. The view is spectacular and it is a wonderful place to spend an evening.

On days when the weather doesn't lend itself to eating on the terrace - strong winds, chilly temperature, rain (or a serious threat of rain) - we serve dinner in the stone vaulted dining room. Our restaurant staff are sometimes placed in the difficult position of having to predict how the weather will develop and decide at the beginning of the evening if the service should be moved indoors. If, for example, it starts to rain during the middle of the dinner service and we are suddenly forced to re-seat 50 or 60 people indoors, the ensuing disruption doesn't make for an enjoyable dining experience, so we try to avoid that. Sometimes we decide to serve indoors and it turns out that it doesn't rain, the mistral wind doesn't start to blow, etc.. It is always disappointing for us and our guests to miss out on an evening on the terrace, but unfortunately the beautiful Mont Ventoux creates a local micro-climate that often fools the best weather forecasters.

Finally, as the reviewer points out, our reception area is fairly small and at times can get quite busy. We do our best to deal with this and not keep people waiting, but we can almost certainly do better in this regard and we will give it our full attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Provence for our Honeymoon. It was a really exceptionally lovely, small hotel with excellent service. We stayed for four nights in early September.

The hotel's guests are primarily English and American. We did notice a few other languages being spoken other than French but primarily the guest's spoke English. Every staff member could communicate well if not exceptionally well in English.

THE GOOD:
Our room was lovely, clean and very relaxing. It had a nice seating area and a view of the valley. The room had terra cotta tile floors, a travertine marble bathroom and lots and lots of windows. The bathroom had two shower heads and a separate soaking tub. We received fresh Frette towels every night. The bed was comfortable, not the best mattresses but very adequate with white Frette linens and a nice light but warm duvet. Extra Pillows and duvet were provided in the room. Water (sparkling and still) in the fridge is complimentary.

The food was very very good, we ate at the new Bistro 40K and the Fine Dining Restaurant. I personally preferred the Bistro because the food was more in tune with my Californian Palette. The menu was set with a choice of a main dish either a Fish or a Meat Plate. My husband got a Rabbit and Polenta dish which was outrageously excellent. It was hands down the best polenta I have every had. The desserts were fruit based and perfectly sweet, not too sweet, just the way I like it. The fine dining restaurant was also very very good. I had an interesting dish there, a cold melon soup with a fish emulsion which was very unusual but excellent.

Breakfast was included and is superb, with a large assortment of options from cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, nuts, dried fruit, meats, scrambled and poached eggs, sausage, breads, croissants, jams, juices, sparkling water and of course great coffee. As an American I love my pot of coffee and you can get this here! A good large pot of coffee for your table was very lovely and obviously and understandably hard to find elsewhere in France.

The pool is kept at a warm and civilized temp but is still refreshing. Good quality towels by the pool and places to lounge out of the sun.

There are well kept bikes and helmets offered for use around the valley and maps to get you around.

We took a jog one morning down a small road it was a lovely time.

The service is exceptional and warm. You will be treated like royalty.


THE BAD:
There was a gangly looking spruce tree sort of blocking the view from our room (34). It was not adding anything to the garden, nor providing any privacy. I recommend that the hotel cut it down and replace it with an olive or a citrus tree, which will not block views. (This is a minor quip.)

Maid service one day came at 3pm other times at 10am. It was random but solid. Since the hotel is spread out amongst a 900 year old hill town it can't be easy. This was not an annoyance but just an observation.

I agree with other reviews that this is not in the most picturesque part of Provence when you're in the valley, but the views from the hilltop terraces are very very lovely and relaxing.

If you get to breakfast late, the hot food is very well picked over.

OBSERVATIONS:
I could see this hotel being difficult to transverse for people with mobility issues.

I think children would be more than welcome and I did see some children, but I see this as primarily an adult hotel for couples.

OVERVIEW:
This is a place to relax, I would not recommend it as a home base for touring but as a fantastic place to relax and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: We were located in room 34 - Room 33 was upstairs in an Outbuilding adjacent to the Reception Building. At first I thought that it would be noisy, but I did not understand than most rooms where separated. It was the ADA accessible room and WOW was the bathroom large.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Here_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited the restaurant with the offer "tous au restaurant", and we were spoiled. service is top, lunch is value for money and we had a great time in a panoramic scene. international public, stylish without being embarrasing. we will surely visit again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank maison187265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at Crillon Le Brave for the 6th time and it's even better than before. We love the fact that even when it's full, it doesn't feel like it and we always find the staff friendly and attentive. The food has always been good but with a new chef it's even better and the new 40k Bistro is very good too, but with limited menu.

We have found the wasps a bit annoying this time, buzzing around at breakfast time and around the pool - we are in rural France we know, but I think management need to address this.

That said, we are having a great time and will be back - definitely our favourite hotel in Europe!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a fantastic property that is deserving of all of the superlatives it receives on this website and others like it. The property is gorgeous: situated on top of a hill with a scenic view of Provence. The common space is comfortable and classy and extremely well taken care of. The staff is friendly, professional and (what I noticed to be a rarity in France), they really enjoy their jobs (especially Julien and Valerie on the front desk who proved to be immensely helpful in suggesting activities, day-trips, restaurants and wineries to visit). They truly care about the experience of each of their guests and are not shy about it (e.g. they give out free bottled water- which I know doesn't sound like much, but wait until you stay at your first place in Provence where they charge you 10 Euro for a small bottle of water each night). The bistro onsite ("40K") is delicious and a cool concept (all ingredients used in the preparation are sourced from within 40 kms of the property). There is another restaurant onsite that is more formal and presumably just as good. The breakfast is a delicious offering of breads, pastries, cheeses, meats, eggs, coffee and all overlooking the pool and Provence countryside. Finally- location is perfect for touring. Within 45 mins to Avignon and Aix- very centrally located. Definitely a place not to miss when you're in Provence- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews