We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Hotel - Excellent Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Crillon le Brave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unique Hotel - Excellent Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

This was the highlight of our trip to Provence for our Honeymoon. It was a really exceptionally lovely, small hotel with excellent service. We stayed for four nights in early September.

The hotel's guests are primarily English and American. We did notice a few other languages being spoken other than French but primarily the guest's spoke English. Every staff member could communicate well if not exceptionally well in English.

THE GOOD:
Our room was lovely, clean and very relaxing. It had a nice seating area and a view of the valley. The room had terra cotta tile floors, a travertine marble bathroom and lots and lots of windows. The bathroom had two shower heads and a separate soaking tub. We received fresh Frette towels every night. The bed was comfortable, not the best mattresses but very adequate with white Frette linens and a nice light but warm duvet. Extra Pillows and duvet were provided in the room. Water (sparkling and still) in the fridge is complimentary.

The food was very very good, we ate at the new Bistro 40K and the Fine Dining Restaurant. I personally preferred the Bistro because the food was more in tune with my Californian Palette. The menu was set with a choice of a main dish either a Fish or a Meat Plate. My husband got a Rabbit and Polenta dish which was outrageously excellent. It was hands down the best polenta I have every had. The desserts were fruit based and perfectly sweet, not too sweet, just the way I like it. The fine dining restaurant was also very very good. I had an interesting dish there, a cold melon soup with a fish emulsion which was very unusual but excellent.

Breakfast was included and is superb, with a large assortment of options from cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, nuts, dried fruit, meats, scrambled and poached eggs, sausage, breads, croissants, jams, juices, sparkling water and of course great coffee. As an American I love my pot of coffee and you can get this here! A good large pot of coffee for your table was very lovely and obviously and understandably hard to find elsewhere in France.

The pool is kept at a warm and civilized temp but is still refreshing. Good quality towels by the pool and places to lounge out of the sun.

There are well kept bikes and helmets offered for use around the valley and maps to get you around.

We took a jog one morning down a small road it was a lovely time.

The service is exceptional and warm. You will be treated like royalty.


THE BAD:
There was a gangly looking spruce tree sort of blocking the view from our room (34). It was not adding anything to the garden, nor providing any privacy. I recommend that the hotel cut it down and replace it with an olive or a citrus tree, which will not block views. (This is a minor quip.)

Maid service one day came at 3pm other times at 10am. It was random but solid. Since the hotel is spread out amongst a 900 year old hill town it can't be easy. This was not an annoyance but just an observation.

I agree with other reviews that this is not in the most picturesque part of Provence when you're in the valley, but the views from the hilltop terraces are very very lovely and relaxing.

If you get to breakfast late, the hot food is very well picked over.

OBSERVATIONS:
I could see this hotel being difficult to transverse for people with mobility issues.

I think children would be more than welcome and I did see some children, but I see this as primarily an adult hotel for couples.

OVERVIEW:
This is a place to relax, I would not recommend it as a home base for touring but as a fantastic place to relax and rejuvenate.

Room Tip: We were located in room 34 - Room 33 was upstairs in an Outbuilding adjacent to the Reception Buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Here_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    94
    28
    13
    3
See reviews for
82
461
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Visited the restaurant with the offer "tous au restaurant", and we were spoiled. service is top, lunch is value for money and we had a great time in a panoramic scene. international public, stylish without being embarrasing. we will surely visit again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maison187265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We are staying at Crillon Le Brave for the 6th time and it's even better than before. We love the fact that even when it's full, it doesn't feel like it and we always find the staff friendly and attentive. The food has always been good but with a new chef it's even better and the new 40k Bistro is very good too, but with limited menu.

We have found the wasps a bit annoying this time, buzzing around at breakfast time and around the pool - we are in rural France we know, but I think management need to address this.

That said, we are having a great time and will be back - definitely our favourite hotel in Europe!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is a fantastic property that is deserving of all of the superlatives it receives on this website and others like it. The property is gorgeous: situated on top of a hill with a scenic view of Provence. The common space is comfortable and classy and extremely well taken care of. The staff is friendly, professional and (what I noticed to be a rarity in France), they really enjoy their jobs (especially Julien and Valerie on the front desk who proved to be immensely helpful in suggesting activities, day-trips, restaurants and wineries to visit). They truly care about the experience of each of their guests and are not shy about it (e.g. they give out free bottled water- which I know doesn't sound like much, but wait until you stay at your first place in Provence where they charge you 10 Euro for a small bottle of water each night). The bistro onsite ("40K") is delicious and a cool concept (all ingredients used in the preparation are sourced from within 40 kms of the property). There is another restaurant onsite that is more formal and presumably just as good. The breakfast is a delicious offering of breads, pastries, cheeses, meats, eggs, coffee and all overlooking the pool and Provence countryside. Finally- location is perfect for touring. Within 45 mins to Avignon and Aix- very centrally located. Definitely a place not to miss when you're in Provence- you won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We (family of 4 with two teenagers) wanted to go to Provence but not be in a too touristy location. Well this was the place. It is a bit out of the way of your "typical" tourist sights. the hotel is set in a small town up on a hill that looks out over Mount Ventoux - what a fabulous view. There were no Americans there which we love (we see enough of them at home). The guests were French, British and German.
We arrived late in the afternoon and they unloaded our car which magically disappeared and they whisked us off to our room, . We had our own three story house -La Sousto. At first we were a bit disappointed as the curtains were drawn and it was dark. On the first floor was the sitting room, up a NARROW staircase was the second room where my husband and I stayed with a large bath BUT no shower just a wonderful tub with a hand held shower (did not make my husband happy) then continuing up the narrow staircase we came to the third bedroom with two twin beds for our kids. They had a small bathroom but with shower (no tub). We were not sure we liked this, but then we opened the curtains opened the windows and looked at the view heard the birds and cicadas and realized it was perfect.
We had dinner in the formal restaurant on the terrace overlooking the view (when the sunsets the mountain and valley get this pink shimmer that if it were in a photo you would think was fake) - wonderful food and wines. The next night we had dinner in Bistro 40 (all the food comes from 40 km circumference and a four course meal is 40 euros) was great although no selection so make sure you check the menu before you go......
Breakfast was served on the terrace (once again great view) and was delicious - fruit, yogurt, breads, meats, boil your own eggs, croissants, homemade jams, cheeses.
The pool is set into the hill, seating is a bit tight but it is Europe and their sense of space is a bit smaller than ours. One can have drinks around the pool and relax, enjoy the views and peace and quiet. Even thought the hotel was full and there were some younger children it was peaceful.
As others have said you have to be able to climb stairs and walk on un-even walkways - no high heels here!
We did a day tour to Avignon and to Gourdes (both very doable - only 20 to 30 min drive through beautiful vineyards and olive groves ) but were so happy to come home to our haven
We highly recommend this special spot for a relaxing visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelmouseNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
186 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is a complex of old buildings put together into a beautiful property on top of a hill with views all around. It is located somewhat near Carpentras and Orange in Provence, a little out of the way but for those who want to experience the countryside, lovely. It is across from the City Hall and by an old church, all in beautiful stone. The décor and handling of space is done with great sophistication and elegance. It is multi-terraced with two restaurants, a heated pool and lots of areas to sit and enjoy the views. The restaurant serves breakfast on the upper terrace, under umbrellas or in the shade of the roofed structure. It is an ample buffet - breads of all kinds, cheeses, yoghurt, local honey and preserves, hot dishes such as eggs, fruit, etc. Evening dinner is served in an old arched stone stable under the church, charming in its design. The dinner was gourmet, just wonderful. We found the staff to be very pleasant. Up by the lobby is a separate building where the Bistro 44 serves a small number of tables so you have to reserve in advance. Their menu is limited and they use only locally grown produce, from within 44 km of the hotel. It is a rather famous restaurant. One of the chefs will come to talk with you about the dinner and the area, which we found to be very interesting.

We so appreciate having the opportunity to practice our French and were glad that the staff spoke to us in French. It is not easy to practice French in the US but in Europe people have much more opportunities to learn and speak English. Generally people in France were friendly and glad to speak with us in French.

We had a room in the main building above the lobby on about the 3rd floor (2nd floor as they count floors). It was spacious and light with views of the town hall and the beautiful countryside and mountain. The bathroom has a separate tub and shower, one sink and the toilet is not in a closed area. The bed was comfortable. At night I noticed the town hall lights were a bit intrusive, but I was able to sleep well.

The concierge was marvelous in helping us to find interesting places in the area. We went to Vaisons le Roman for their market and found the town to be fascinating with its Roman ruins and medieval city. They recommended we stop at les Baux de Provence on our way back to Marseilles, where we saw projected images of Impressionist paintings in an old quarry. I have never seen anything like it and thank the staff for recommending this.

What I enjoyed most was discovering how every corner of the property has been decorated with such a relaxed flourish using antique items found in the area. The owners have pulled together multi terraces, added just the right amount of greenery, provided interest, comfort, elegance and quality. I loved staying here.

Room Tip: Our room was in the main building over the lobby. (31 as I recall) It had wonderful views, was ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzanochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Hotel. The location and setting are first class, offering wonderful views of Provence and Mont Ventoux. We ate in the main restaurant for 3 nights and the Bistro for 1 night. the quality of the food in the main restaurant was excellent. Although there was only one veggie option on the menu I was offered a different veggie meal each evening. The breakfast offered much variation and was very enjoyable. We stayed in room 4 which is a lovely large room with windows overlooking Ventoux. Our only criticism being that there was a lot of banging noise in the night which really disturbed our sleep. It seemed to be related to the air conditioning system and was worse if you turned the air con off (contraction and expansion?).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KMM2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crillon-le-Brave
14.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 25 in Gordes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
18.6 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue
La Maison sur la Sorgue
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
#1 of 10 in Le Pontet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
20.6 mi away
Hotel d'Europe
Hotel d'Europe
#3 of 69 in Avignon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
13.9 mi away
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
Hotel Les Bories & Spa
#5 of 25 in Gordes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon le Brave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon le Brave

Property: Hotel Crillon le Brave
Address: Place de l Eglise, 84410 Crillon-le-Brave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > Vaucluse > Crillon-le-Brave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crillon-le-Brave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Crillon le Brave 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crillon le Brave is a relaxed and informal refuge where you can enjoy all of the simple pleasures of Provence. Located about 25 miles northeast of Avignon, our 36-bedroom hotel - a member of Relais & Chateaux since 1995 - is perched on top of a tiny hill village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The views from our rooms, terraces and gardens are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Crillon le Brave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Le Brave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing