We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed in this hotel in oct 12, we were very lucky with the weather and with the hotel. From the website and reviews it seemed to be in the middle of nowhere so we only booked one night here during our vacation, what a mistake! The hotel is easily reached by car and is actually a whole hamlet overlooking some of the most gorgeous views of the Luberon. The hotel restaurant is also very good, and the bar provides a great setting for enjoying a glass of the chateux neuf du paupe wine. Our room was fantastic, a 2 bedroom suite, decorated very nicely, cool bathroom and great views. This hotel offers excellent value for money, was the least expensive stay during our 6 night trip in provence and cote azur, but one of our favorites, offering country-chic style and relaxation.staff is also very professional, helpful and friendly. Would love to go back!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lexy506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 746 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a stunning position. Perched on a hill the hotel is located in the eponymous village. The hotel has expanded and now occupies 6 buildings within the small hilltop village which has been totally rebuilt in the last few years.

The reception staff were very helpful and we would recommend the hotel as a wonderful base for the area, including Avignon. We booked because the hotel was advertising special off season rates and the positive reviews. Its standard rates are expensive but they do have special rates at various times.

The hotel rooms are luxurious and the views over the olive trees and vineyards are wonderful. The rooms are large and the bed was very good with high quality linens. The double shower and large bathroom added to the sense of luxury.

But, and this is a comment made by others, the restaurant was most disappointing. The dining room is impressive and we had a table by an open fire on a cool November evening. There was a limited choice on what was an expensive set menu. Yes, we were there in off season and there were few guests so it is harder to offer choices. That does not excuse poor cooking. The food was very ordinary and the wines were expensive. Certainly not worth the price we paid (55 €) for the meal. As others have noted there are few local choices in the off season but a hotel with the claims to being a luxury destination needs to lift its game in this area.

Overall a recommended hotel but dine elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Travelalot2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hclb, Owner at Hotel Crillon le Brave, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

We were very pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed her stay in Crillon le Brave late last year but we were of course very disappointed to learn that she had a less than satisfactory meal in our restaurant. We are very sorry for this and will continue to work to improve our performance.

We would like to point out that this visit took place during a short gap between the departure of our previous chef, and the arrival in 2013 of Jerome Blanchet, our talented new Head Chef. Jerome has worked at Four Seasons Provence and most recently for five years, was the Executive Sous Chef at the Hotel Negresco in Nice where he was instrumental in helping Chante Cler Restaurant achieve two Michelin stars. We are delighted to have attracted one of France’s most promising young chefs to lead our restaurant in the months and years ahead.

We would invite this reviewer and all of our previous guests to visit us again in 2013 to experience Jerome's great new cuisine. In addition, from May, we are opening a fun rustic alternative, Bistrot 40K specialising in all produce drawn from within 40 kilometres of Crillon le Brave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here as a family in July 2012. The Hotel and location is wonderful. We flew into Marseille and drove to Crillon le Brave (1.5 hours) I wish we used SatNav though as we got a little confused out of Marseille airport but once on the right track the hotel is well sign posted and easy to find. The hotel is a beautiful standard and so chic. We stayed in an annexe of the hotel (no lift) but we were away from everyone else and it was an easy climb to the restaurant and pool. Restaurant and food was exquisite and the breakfast wonderful. we also tried other restauruants in the village and wine tasting. Reception are very helpful when planning excursions and Mont Ventaux is well worth the drive (dont go if you hate heights) Chateau neuf de pape is only 20 minutes away and the wine tasting and lunch is a must. You must book your spa massage before you travel as they book up so quickly and although there is nogym, walking, the pool and the hotel bikes will keep you fit, plus they will loan you the helmet, chains and maps of the town. We will be returning in 2013

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful but as it is an old building there are plenty of stairs, ask for a ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in this beautiful little hilltop village for a week in June. Early one evening while exploring the passageways, we were captivated by the sound of light jazz echoing throughout. We followed the sound and discovered a comfortable lounge with an adjoining deck, both offered a stunning view of the valley below. The staff were most welcoming and attentive, the drinks were reasonable, the appies were tasty and the music was excellent. I can hardly wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CorkVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Arrived about 20.00 and not the easiest of places to find, but once close-by its well sign posted. At check-in nothing was too much bother - after a long days drive, they would not let park the car 100 yards away, we were escorted to our large and elegant room with all the expected refinements you would expect. We asked if it were possible to get some tea, it really was their pleasure and it arrived in 5 minutes ( take your own tea bags - the French cant make a good strong cuppa ).
Beds were huge and very comfortable - beautiful fine cotton sheets and wonderful pillows.
Dont rely on TV - very little English surprisingly
The room was larger than expected, great view of the countryside. We had a large walk-in bathroom with a free standing Victorian style bath and if you wanted to see the view from the bath just open the French doors. A double walk in shower with his and her shower heads - big enough for the whole family to shower together.
We stayed 5 nights and thoroughly enjoyed the stay and will return.
Its not cheap, but there again you would not choose to stay here if you wanted cheap.
The restaurant food was not fast, but was certainly worth waiting for - it was truly excellent and well presented. We were aware the restaurant manager disappears at about 21.00 regardless.
The whole development was refurbished to a very high standard all in keeping with the surrounding.
Would very highly recommend, but 5 days were enough - nothing to do locally, so you need a car - loads to see within 20 minute drive

Room Tip: I believe there are no poor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

I recently spent my birthday at this hotel. I have been to many fine and famous hotels. However, in terms of the beauty of the hotel both externally and in terms of its interiors and the countryside it is surrounded by plus the most efficient, courteous and friendly staff, I have never stayed at a place to match it.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a suite and live like a king for a while.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at this hotel for 2 nights of our european honeymoon and everything was PERFECT! The staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast was perfect on the patio (in Mid November!) and the views were breathtaking. We will never forget this hotel- we will hopefully be back often! We were hesitant because it is a little out of the way- if you have a rental car and/or bike - it's totally, absolutely worth it! They have the attention to detail down (for example, heated swimming pool, fire pits to animate the multiple decks, bocce court, family style table on the patio, good indoor/outdoor seating capacity, private seating areas at the pool). You won't be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Orly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crillon-le-Brave
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
53 reviews
14.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
283 reviews
17.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
582 reviews
13.7 mi away
Le Mas des Herbes Blanches
14.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon le Brave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon le Brave

Address: Place de l Eglise, 84410 Crillon-le-Brave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Crillon-le-Brave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crillon-le-Brave
Price Range: $283 - $546 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Crillon le Brave 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crillon le Brave is a relaxed and informal refuge where you can enjoy all of the simple pleasures of Provence. Located about 25 miles northeast of Avignon, our 36-bedroom hotel - a member of Relais & Chateaux since 1995 - is perched on top of a tiny hill village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The views from our rooms, terraces and gardens are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and MrandMrsSmith so you can book your Hotel Crillon le Brave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Le Brave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing