We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved our fourth stay at Crillon le Brave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed at Crillon for 8 nights recently and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff are great, the setting is beautiful and our room was excellent (#35).
We had breakfast and dinner there every day and a few lunches. Overall we enjoyed all of our meals. On our first two nights the service was not as good as we had experienced before. However, the Director and Restaurant Manager explained that four restaurant staff did not show up for work so they were short-handed. The management made adjustments and service was better the second night and was back to their normal high standard after that.
We plan to return for another great time at Crillon.

Room Tip: Some of the standard rooms do not have views and are small by American standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendo2CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (753)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 753 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

It literally took "Trains, planes and automobiles" to get there, but it is so worth it. The people are super nice. Breakfast every morning looking into the valley is amazing. Great wineries near by. One of the most beautiful places we have ever been.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Crillion le Brave for two nights as we transited between the French Riviera and Paris. Within an hour of arriving we were wishing we had spent our entire vacation in this one spot. The Hotel and Village are about 20k from Carpentras on quiet country roads that are well marked. Once we arrived the hotel staff unloaded our car and following a very efficient check-in whisked our bags to our room,

Our room was located on the second floor with a great view of the valley below and in the direction of Mt, Ventoux. Needing some refreshment we wandered down to the bar/cafe for a bite to eat and a few glasses of wonderful local wines.

We also spent quite a bit of time relaxing in and around the pool. They have posted "quiet hours" from 3 to 6PM each day which allows one to drift off to sleep feeling the warmth of the Provence sun and gentle breeze (no Mistral this time).

We dined at the Hotel's restaurant both evenings and throughly enjoyed our meals and the service.

I only wish we would have had several more nights to spend at this wonderful little hotel. I am thinking a return visit is in order.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank left_at_eaglecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Breakfast was excellent, however the food at dinner is well below par and the servings are very small. The kind reception girls will recommend some good local restaurants.

We were two couples who booked superior rooms. Our friends' twin Room No.10 was fine, however our Room No. 8 was small, and without enough room to place two suitcases. On complaining to the manager, he kindly acknowledged the same, and only charged us for a standard room.

This area is wonderful, with an abundance of vineyards and wine tasting centres.

Room Tip: Book a superior room but not Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stayed at Hotel Crillon Le Brave for 4 days for our honeymoon after getting married just before in Toulouse. It was idyllic. When we arrived we were welcomed by the very lovely Julian at front of house who showed us to The Lavender Room and who for the rest of our trip was ever obliging,helpful and friendly. We went and had a look around straight away and was breathtaken by the glorious views of Provence from the pool and restaurant. The hotel manager Sebastian was friendly,engaging and very genuine and each day always came over to have a chat and to make sure we were enjoying our stay. I loved the pool, it looked amazing, was well heated , had stunning surroundings and you could phone straight to the restaurant and order food and drinks. There were a plague of wasps and that was the only down side to the visit as they did not leave us alone whilsttrying to eat breakfast or lunch. The food in the restaurant which has a Michelin star was good but not fantastic for the price. The lobster and avocado starter was delicious, as was the cheeseboard but the mushroom risotto main dish had no flavour at all and was excessively creamy and not worth the €35. On the second night we ate at a charming little restaurant separate from the hotel but just down some stairs from the hotel restaurant which was absolutely delicious and well worth a visit. The fois GRAS was fantastic! All in all this is a romantic place to visit with gorgeous views and perfect for a honeymoon or a romantic weekend few days. The staff were charming and we are already thinking about returning for our first anniversary.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoF78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We first came to Crillon le Brave four years ago and although we don't generally return to hotels (there are so many lovely places in France to visit), we just had to come back to this fabulously positioned Hostellerie in the Vaucluse.
We love the views from the terrace, and from our bedroom, and even the swimming pool faces towards the largest mountain in the area, Mont Ventoux.
My husband is a very keen walker and there is plenty of scope for that locally, and of course, if one wants to, one can take up the challenge of cycling up to the top of the mountain. We went up it by car however!
We very much enjoyed our second stay here. The staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful - even remembering that my husband liked a particular type of jam with his croissants, and bringing him out a small pot of it, when it had not been put out for the buffet breakfast on some days.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different rooms, and they both had character and individuality. The rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Per all the rave reviews... Beautiful location, great staff, and the luxury you'd expect in this price bracket. But it has several flaws. Above all, the food. Pleasantly presented, but extremely bland. With the notable exception of a wonderful cheese selection, we found the menu limited, the food forgettable, and the restaurant atmosphere sterile. Only the plague of wasps added any buzz. The little bistro on the street outside the front door (not sure if it's owned by the hotel) offers much tastier and better value food with a bit of atmosphere, where you feel like you are in France rather than in boring boutique land. While the hotel and village are chocolate-box pretty, this is a rather cruddy corner of Provence - making the place an oasis that is barely worth escaping. The pool is small and, while we never had to fight for a lounger, there is little space between you and fellow guests raeding their Conde Nestes. In summary - if you can afford it, you cannot help but like it. But it lacks a certain je ne sais quoi - and certainly needs more creativity in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Twojackets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crillon-le-Brave
0.2 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
54 reviews
14.6 mi away
La Bastide de Gordes
La Bastide de Gordes
#1 of 24 in Gordes
286 reviews
14.5 mi away
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit de France
La Maison sur la Sorgue - Esprit...
#1 of 15 in L'Isle-sur-la-Sorgue
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
585 reviews
17.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
4.4 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Crillon le Brave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Crillon le Brave

Address: Place de l Eglise, 84410 Crillon-le-Brave, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Crillon-le-Brave
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Crillon-le-Brave
Price Range: $415 - $782 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Crillon le Brave 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crillon le Brave is a relaxed and informal refuge where you can enjoy all of the simple pleasures of Provence. Located about 25 miles northeast of Avignon, our 36-bedroom hotel - a member of Relais & Chateaux since 1995 - is perched on top of a tiny hill village surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. The views from our rooms, terraces and gardens are stunning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Crillon le Brave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crillon Le Brave Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing