We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harrison's Cave

Harrison's Cave
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.00*
and up
Harrison's Cave Tour in Barbados
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the central uplands of Barbados, is a magnificent attraction with a world class property and unmatched beauty anywhere else in the Caribbean. Harrison's Cave is a massive underground cave stream system, with awesome caverns and crystallized formations. Enjoy an unparalleled underground experience as you journey aboard a tram, past clear streams and cascading waterfalls. This phenomenal underground attraction, is one of Barbados’ premier visitor attractions, truly a must see when on vacation.Enjoy an unparalleled underground experience on one of our tours. On the Tram Tour you will journey aboard a tram, past clear streams and cascading waterfalls on a guided, driven tour of the caves awesome caverns. Looking for more adventure? The Eco-Adventure Tour is perfect for nature enthusiasts. Trek along our scenic gully trail before embarking on this amazing underground exploration; crawling and climbing as you traverse some of the caves natural passages.With other exciting tours also available, including our Scenic Gully tours, Walk- In Cave Tours, the amazing educational programs like the Harrison’s Cave Bat Program and Technical tour, Harrison’s Cave offers visitors to Barbados an entire new world to discover in one attraction.Unearth the Adventure!
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

During my visit to Barbados in March 2013, I visited Harrison Cave. This is a very easy tour. There is a train that takes you around in the cave so you don't have to walk down many stairs. It was very interesting to see nature's work. This is fascinating and I would recommend anyone visiting Barbados to make this a must see.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simone1019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,232
    820
    261
    63
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

The beauty of this place make you wonder . What you see is only a fraction of the entire cave . Even though work has been done over the years there should be places where the visitors could get off the tram and walk around a bit ( supervised of course ) other than that it is an interesting experience for such a small and developing country.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL Suburbs
Level Contributor
66 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Don't Believe it is Real”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We did a tour of Harrison's Cave after a cruise and while wasting some time before a flight home from Barbados. I've been through many caves all over the world, and my gut just tells me that something is fishy here and I just don't think most of it is real. There is one section where some water is shooting out of the wall (almost like a firehose) and there is no build-up anywhere. I could be totally wrong, but something just doesn't seem right to me here.

A hint: You will get dripped upon a LOT on the tour. So be prepared and don't wear anything that water can damage.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ChgoSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
94 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Never ceases to amaze me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

You simply have to experience this beauty for yourself. It is disappointing to read some of the bad reviews of this attraction. I am so in awe of what God has created in this cave and to think that thousands and thousands of years from now the cave won't look the same as it does today is a true wonder. This attraction has the type of appeal that any good attraction should have, that is, when you leave you are wishing it was longer. That is a true sign that you had a great time! Our tour guide was very friendly, I enjoyed her narration as we went though the cave and she also offered to take photos. You need a camera that takes great photos in dark spaces in order to capture this natural beauty. What also amazes me is that during the tram tour you only see a third of what the cave has to offer but there is an opportunity for you to explore other parts of the cave on a special tour that takes about 3 hours. I definitely want to try that one next time around.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Disneyfied, cruise-shipper, tram thru blasted tunnel to see few decent formations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

If you have done much caving you will find the extensive infrastructure and blasted tunnel, which explains the high price, annoying. Very few decent formations. Staff nice enough. My tram had distracting squeaky wheels that needed a lubrication. Walt Disney and lots of cruise folk types would love it. That's who they're shooting for.

Helpful?
Thank Gregory S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrison's Cave also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 
Saint Peter Parish, Barbados
Saint Lucy Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Harrison's Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing