We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Golden beach hotel”
Review of Golden Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Golden Beach Hotel
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
st albans uk
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Golden beach hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Just returned from golden beach hotel in Gambia read all the reviews, we knew exactly what we were going too. Took my two daughters. The staff are very friendly, helpful! Although the hotel is only a 2* its a good base. Lamin the house keeper was very attentive checked on us every morning and night making sure we had everything we needed always popped to us at 6pm with hot towels! The evening bar staff were good company. Only ate lunches at the hotel and what we had was good. All the staff at the golden beach hotel were staff that you would expect to find in a 5* hotel! Nothing is to much trouble for them! Would definitely go back again. Normally stay in 5* hotels these can sometimes be very disappointing, and I certaining wasn't disappointed with this hotel great staff with great big friendly smiles from the staff. If your looking to go out and about go out to the front of the hotel and there is the taxi controller he will get you a good taxi driver with good rates!! A lot better than the Thomas cook tours. Cheaper and more true to the real Gambia! They will take you into town and wait 2 hours for you then take you home for £6. You do get some bumsters that will come up too you but if you just say no thank you they will go away! I would recommend going to a juice bar in the mornings to get a fresh juice very nice and refreshing! Once you get to know the juice men they are very friendly and harmless. You will have extra family members.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank heather k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    31
    24
    13
    20
See reviews for
9
67
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Booked a suite here for a week commencing Friday 16 march 2012,arrived at 4.45 on Friday afternoon to be told ,the people in our suite and have had a emergency !!! And are staying longer (sorry not my problem), but yes no other room available !! Luckily the cosmos manager Sarah was on the case and within an hour we were in the kombo beach.cant really say much about the hotel,but let's just say for the same money,we got a safe,fridge,aircon,kettle and hair dryer free !!!!!! At the kombo beach.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank taylioNorwichUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bijilo hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

When we first pulled up to the Golden Beach Hotel i did wonder what we had booked, the outside looked a little tired and could have done with a lick of paint.
We were greeted in a lovely clean spacious reception by a lovely guy called Abrahim and he showed us to our room. The room was fabulous. Very spacious even with 2 3/4 beds in and the bathroom was big. Had a bath as well as a shower which is great. The balcony door lead onto the gardens and down to the pool which although small was very clean and tidy. The gardens were kept immacluate by Damba and he is such a friendly guy , once he got to know us we had fresh flowers bought to us every day and placed in a jamjar on out balcony table. The pool was small but very well maintained, the only down part was the surface around the pool was very slippy when wet and a little uneven but with care can be negociated.
The food at the hotel is excellent with a good choice. The fish is beautiful.
The staff are all very friendly and only too willing to help and do anything for you. They are fun and always happy to sit and chat. We did tip for services but never felt pressured to do so.
This is a poor country and there are some sites which can be upsetting but the ganbian people are a happy people and never did we feel any danger or bad feeling from them.

All in all this is a 2/3 star hotel but the heart of it is definately a 5 star one.

Room Tip: We were in A1 but we made friends with a few people there and the quality of the rooms seemed to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annsalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

Our first time in Gambia and we went for my husbands 60th birthday. Arrived saturday night and by wednesday evening we had had £400 taken from our locked safe, our friends also had the same amount taken from theirs and the couple on the other side of us had £120 taken from theirs. The security is non-existant. The management tried to tell us that it had never happened before but reading reviews further down proves that it obviously has. We asked to be moved and went to the Bokatu hotel which restored our faith in the Gambian people. Do not stay in Golden Beach unless you want to spend 6 hours in a Gambian police station writing statements as we had to do. Truly dreadful experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Debell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

just returned frimthe golden beach, dissapointed with breakfasts, very basic, evening meals well presented and nice. staff also very nice, but never gave any change where ever you went, ie breakfast, pool snack bar, and evening meal staff, at the end of the holiday we had given a lot of money away whether we wanted to or not.wouldnt go back there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank june m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

Peaceful is the word for this terribly tatty hotel. It is next to a lovely beach and some staff are delightful but this is run on a day to day basis so do not expect much in the way or food drink or service although reception and Lamin the cleaning supervisor are very good. Take a kettle and hairdryer there are no extras in the room it is extremely basic no fridge, either but for a ridiculous sum you can hire. If you are looking for asthetics this is not for you. Be prepared to subsidise your breakfast sometimes it can be just fruit bread and jam. There are snacks available but they are expensive. No bar as such either. However help is at hand in the Senegambia Strip for a small YELLOW Taxi Fare. Ne aware in this lovely Country and you will return.

Room Tip: Ground Floor if you like theMonkeys(gorgeous) first three are quite shady.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Visited in December 2011. Lovely staff especially Lamin the cleaner. Couldn't do more to help and always kept our room clean and tidy. Manager made frequent visits to the hotel and always spoke. Wonderful country with great people. Don't do wha tthe travel rep says and book trips with him, go outside and ask for David and Pablo (He runs the little stall outside on the road. They took us all over the place and we felt safe and secure. Visited most of the tourist attractions but were shown more than most as we had local guides.We had a picture book made up of our travels and sent them a copy. Ask them to see it and it will show you some of the best sites to see. Hotel breakfast was fine, although the same every day, it was enough. Diner is very good, but the coice is a little small, far better to go to eat on the strip at Senagambia, watch tout for the indian restrurant , Banjul Belly is free there !

Room Tip: All rooms are great with a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijilo
0.1 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
1.8 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kololi Beach Club
Kololi Beach Club
#2 of 9 in Kololi
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seafront Residences & Hotel
2.5 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Kairaba Beach Hotel
Kairaba Beach Hotel
#2 of 8 in Serekunda
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Beach Hotel

Property: Golden Beach Hotel
Address: Kombo Coastal Road, Bijilo 2345, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Bijilo
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Also Known As:
Golden Beach Kololi
Golden Beach Hotel Gambia/Bijilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing