We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bijilo Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$72
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sarges Hotel(Kololi)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveler rating
24
31
16
5
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
24
31
16
5
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 79 reviews
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I went to this hotel trough a Finnish tarvel agency. I looked references from here trip advisor, allmost all sayings went right! The staff were soooo nice, we loved them! Breakfast: if you have travelled to Asia or South America, this is not same, it is less! But you have to put on Africa button! Same rules in the garden, very uncleaned with wheeds! Beatch is near, we got luck and had a room with sea view! What this hotel should have a new thing is: clean the garden from wheeds, re renaveted stairs and round pool and toilets. Breakfast is ok, but could you have a real coffee instead instand one? And defennetly in a fruit groving land, something else than banana and melon!!! Were is pineapple? And the worst, where is pool towels??? We asked towels from nice pool guy, he sayed, that everyone are saying same, go to reseption. We did that, they sayed go to pool man! Ou jeah. They do not have money to the towels, think customer! We never saw pool towels insted some Bristish did, but we bring from our room,(it is not allowed) ou yeah! We can choose this hotel again, but their should renevate, clean and buy some towels! Anyway it is good value for money... I think? The best is staff!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

To everyone looking for a beautiful stay in the Gambia look no further than Bijilo Beach. Amazing location with views to die for. I have been travelling to Gambia for over 20 yrs and have stayed in a lot of the hotels but for me and my family Bijilo is the one. The staff are so lovely, they make you feel special your every need is catered for. The rooms are cleaned daily, fresh bed sheets and towels. If you have a query the staff at reception are only too willing to help you. The food is tasty,if you stay B&B you can eat more than enough to keep you going through the day. The Head Waiter Foday is a superstar as is Essa one of the many barmen (as are all the bar staff). Ask the Chef's to cook your food in a particular way and they will, no problem!!! If you are travelling to Gambia for the first time stay at this hotel and you will not be disappointed. The owner Mr. Bojang is on hand everyday and if you have a problem or query of any kind he will do his all to fix it for you. Thank you to all of you for a magical stay.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms in this hotel have fantastic sea view's.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela1956862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Now this Hotel for me and my family was excellent. The owner, staff and security are a cut above the rest. Firstly the owner takes time out to talk to the guests and make sure everything is fine. The domestic cleaners were polite and cheerful. Security were always around morning and night, which gave me a great sense of security. Now the bar staff, they were fantastic especially Essa who floats around like a butterfly smiling all the time, nuff respect my brother.
The hotel is very clean and the grounds are beautifully kept.
The main thing that I loved was the peaceful beach with no hustlers hanging around.
We stayed bed and breakfast as we are out most of the day. Breakfast was very nice for me and my family as we ate more than enough.
Would I stay there again, yeah man. Lovely time spent here and I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the staff there. PEACE AND LOVE

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank afreeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Have been a number of times to this hotel, this last visit being the 6th. Have always loved the hotel and the staff. On our last visit the hotel has deterioted greatly. The biggest problem being the pool and pool area, some days the pool was green and noticed alot of leaks, which has now affected the tiles and made the floor uneven. There is big gaps between the tiles which somebody will easily catch their feet on. Can not complain about the pool guys as they worked very hard to rectify the on-going problem. Gardens looked very untidy and weeds were growing through all paths and through the outside restaurant tiles. Looking around this once pretty hotel you can tell that alot of money will now be need to be spent to bring it back to what it once was. Food was nice as always but the limited menu became a little annoying each night and also the portions have shrunk! I wont and cant grumble about the staff from room cleaner to bar/restaurant to reception staff they were all great and this is why we keep returning, but as more hotels are becoming available and also through cheaper travel agents we may have to start looking else where, its becoming hard to justify paying Gambian Experiance prices for the standard that Bijilo has dropped to :(

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Herecomesthesun79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

A very basic, simple hotel, but best on the strip for the beach, where you can at least jump in the waves. The better hotels nearer the town have steep drops into the sea. The staff are not well trained, but do try hard. However, they do continually try to get you to sponsor them or the local school. The food as stated by others is not at all good. It is possible to walk the beach to the town at night and is great if you want exercise. Most of the locals on the beach are very genuine and proud of their country, but when we went last year, there were still some of the very irritating touts that are really very offensive and threatening.
The hotel we were told is owned by a local and therefore local market traders, juice boys etc. are allowed into the hotel. We liked this as it added some local flavour, but it might not be to everyone's choice.
The hotel is wonderful for birds. They just fly past, rest in trees, or walk round the pool. We saw at least 50 different species.
Do walk into the town. The restaurants there are wonderful and reasonably priced. We staggered down every evening, then risked life and limb having a taxi back. Very entertaining and a wake up call to how hard life can be for the locals.
We travelled last February. Weather superb.

Room Tip: Take shampoo, shower gel etc. as this is not supplied.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Newforestpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews