We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the dogs......”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bijilo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sardinka Guest House
Ranked #1 of 8 Bijilo B&B and Inns
Hamble, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Just the dogs......”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Sorry about the review headline but it sums this super place perfectly, as pointed out by others Roy and Lorraine are wonderful hosts and very quickly they have become friends.
For us the location is perfect in being in a quieter part of the coast but only a very easy and cheap taxi ride from the busier places.
Our room was extemely comfortable and offered exceptional value for money.
On our first night Roy arranged fish and chips for us and other guests and this we had around the big table which became the centre of a lot of entertainment over our 15 night stay including an evening spent with great company to celebrate my birthday and our wedding anniversary.
Roy offers trips to some lovely places for days spent fishing or relaxing with food at lovely beach bars.
This was our third visit to The Gambia and it was so much better than our previous ones and that is down to this warm and friendly place.
Oh and if you wonder about the title they have 3 lovely dogs which are just like their owners.
Cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pdjlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
27
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

As the previous posters have said - it is Roy and Lorraine who make this place special. We were picked up at the airport by Roy when we arrived. We had never been to The Gambia before and when we arrived at Sardinka i mentioned that I needed to get a phone with a local sim card and change my money. Within 10 minutes we had a phone (lent by Roy and Lorraine) and they got someone to visit to change my money (at a good rate). They even cooked us a complimentary meal to welcome us (Roy's chicken curry was one of the best meals we had all holiday) and gave us a bacon and egg roll the next morning.

They really know The Gambia and are well liked and respected by the local people so if it is your first time to The Gambia you will be well looked after. We really liked the location - 10 minutes walk to the three beach bars and on the main road with loads of taxis and only 5 mins to the Strip. We were happy to pay the 50 dalasi for a "town" taxi to the strip but you can pay just 7 dalasi each if your prepared to haggle and share with others. It's nice to be a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the strip, but be able o get there and back so easily.

The accommodation is basic so if your looking for a luxury hotel then this isn't for you. However for what you pay it's good value. It's clean and the apartments have everything you need (comfy beds, satellite tv, fridge, cooker, kettle etc.). The staff are 100% trustworthy and it is so relaxed. The honesty bar is great - help yourself to beer, wine, and soft drinks and pay at the end of the week - cost price no inflated hotel bar costs here!

Would we come again - definitely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philandsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds, england
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay at Sardinka Guest House.
From the minute you are picked up from the airport until you are dropped back off for your flight home, the owners Roy and Lorraine and their wonderful staff can't do enough for you.
The rooms are quite basic compared to other accommodation we've stayed in, but are cleaned every day. Beach towels and a welcome pack are provided - teabags, coffee, sugar, Bop and mossie coil. The pool and garden area is lovely, with areas to catch the sun and plenty of shady spots to while away the days. The honesty bar and fresh bread delivery on a morning is another lovely touch. Also the free water was much appreciated.
Roy and Lorraine cooked a meal for us on our first evening and Roy took us to the supermarket and money exchange on our first morning. We also went with them to Bata Kunku and an overnight ( wet and cold ) trip to Kartong. We had a fab time seeing parts of The Gambia that we wouldn't have been able to see.
Location is between the turntable and Senegambia and the nearest beach with facilities is a good 10 - 15 minute walk. You need a taxi to the strip or to the other beaches - which for us became a bit wearing after a while. The other disadvantage was the frequent unexpected power cuts - not great and it does get very frustrating especially when you're getting ready to go out.
Having said that - we had a fabulous 2 weeks with these amazing people, not forgetting the dogs, Porky, Marcus and Penny.
Thanks Roy and Lorraine for our lovely holiday at Sardinka - Holy Place

Room Tip: Poolside rooms can be a bit noisier due to bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank troutie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Sardinka REALLY is a wonderful place and is probably better than a home from home.
The owners Roy and Lorraine are fantastic hosts and the weekend Bbq's and Sunday Beach Party's which they organise make a welcome change from the usual tourist trap tat. They have a wealth of knowledge which they readily share, their staff are both very friendly, helpful and 100% trustworthy and the combination of self contained accomodation units mean they can cater for 1 - 6 people.

The Sardinka has a great location - quite literaly a 2 minute walk to a beautiful, almost empty, beach, 10 minute walk to the "Turntable" or a 5 minute (7 Dalassi - 14p !!!!!!) taxi ride to the "tourist strip" at Senegambia - and if you are peckish, why not visit F's Fast Food (a green shack) which is on the left, just before Senegambia - where 35 Dalassi (70p) will get you a plate full of a very tasty local rice dish (Benechin, Yassa, Domoda or Choo).

My wife and I came to Gambia 5 years ago and stayed at a popular beach hotel and whilst we enjoyed the weather - the poor quality accomodation, bumpsters, beggars and street sellers spoilt it for us. This time though the whole place was completely different and I really enjoyed it.

My only concern about writing this review is that I am planning on returning to the Sardinka for 10 weeks (Jan - Mar) next year and I am concerned that they will either be
Fully Booked or have increased their very reasonable rates ....... lol.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Just returned from a 3 week stay at Sardinka and have had one of the best holidays in Gambia. The outstanding hosts do this guest house proud. Roy and Lorraine treat their guests like family and go out of their way to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay. They took us to beaches which we would have not found ourselves and have a wealth of knowledge between them - it was like having our own private tour guides !!
The nearest beach bars are 10-15 minutes walk away and a 5 minute taxi ride gets you to the strip and all the restaurants and bars.
The apartments are clean and basic in a quiet area of Bijilo with a small pool and honesty bar which was always well stocked.
We will be staying there again !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixiegill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorkshire england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This was our second visit to the Sardinka guest house, and Im sure it wont be our last,
it as a very homely feel with Lorraine and Roy, we feel as though we are visiting family,
everything is relaxing, the hosts are really helpful.
The honesty bar is great, and homemade Rose wine and Baileys a lovely addition this year.
Nice touches this year was the option of having a meal made for you by the lovely Roy and Lorraine, spring rolls and roast potatoes are extra speacial yum yum
The rest of the staff are a credit to the owners,
Keep up the good work,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunny21_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

What can I say, what a lovely little oasis. The friendliest of hosts, spotlessly clean (thanks Jenny & the girls) roomy, comfortable apartments set in an ideal location between Turntable & the Strip, within easy/cheap reach of any number of places to visit, or stop local at Bijilo, the beach & several beach bars/restaurants are within 10 minutes walk.
Lovely little splash pool, plenty of sun beds with pool towels provided and mostly you’ll probably get it to yourselves. Well stocked honesty bar & don’t miss Lorraine’s homemade Baileys & Red, White or Rose wine.
Don’t underestimate the value of having English owners who have lived in TG for many years – and what great company. I’m not going to say too much about this place as I want there to be space when I’m next there, and it is getting VERY popular.
Thanks Lorraine & Roy & see you in March
T&P

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nextmrsfisher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bijilo
0.2 mi away
Lemon Creek Hotel Resort
1.1 mi away
Leo's Beach Hotel & Restaurant
2.1 mi away
Hibiscus House
Hibiscus House
#2 of 4 in Brufut
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Gambia Coral Beach Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
Senegambia Beach Hotel
Senegambia Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Serekunda
1,214 reviews
3.4 mi away
Seaview Gardens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sardinka Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sardinka Guest House

Property: Sardinka Guest House
Address: Drakes St, Bijilo, Gambia
Location: Gambia > West Coast Division > Bijilo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Bijilo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property comprises of 1, 2 and 3 bed private apartments with easy access to the swimming pool and bar in mature gardens. Each apartment is individual and decorated to a high standard. Each apartment is fitted with home from home comforts such as large European king size beds, fridge freezer, gas cooker, satellite TV etc, DVD available. Situated at Bijilo just off the main coastal road making it easy for taxis to the strip and only 400 mtrs from the beach. English owners Roy and Lorraine live on site and are available 24/7. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sardinka Guest House Gambia/Bijilo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing