We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty as a Picture...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau de la Coutanciere
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We arrived in the evening , welcomed warmly. The room was huge, bathroom was huge as well with all modern convenience and yet kept the old feeling of this beautiful Chateau. It was cool,rainy weather mostly and the Chateu in the fog made it look mysterious and a dream like appearance. We strolled about the grounds , they are extensive and although the weather made it impossible I can imagine these areas outdoors in good weather to be perfect for gathering or sitting quiet with a glass of French wine relaxing. We stayed 3 nights and enjoyed the area very much, definitely will return! We were the only guests the first 2 nights so not sure about noise when this Chateau is full? It is an old place with tons of Character and the owners warm and accommodating! Highly recommend this Chateau if you want a unique, romantic experience.

Room Tip: Visit Chateaus Chambord, Chenonceau and there are many more. Many wine caves in the area..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 83 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My stay at Chateau de la Coutanciere was perfect from start to finish.
The welcome from the Chatealain was warm and she enquired after any personal needs we may have throughout our stay. The room in which I stayed was tasteful and suited the romantic image I associated with a Chateau; vintage leather; antique wooden floors; a warm, homely interior. The bathroom, which departed from this decor for a modern luxury feel was spacious and very pleasant. Enormous walk-in shower and deep old fashioned bath tub!
I tried the hot tub and it was wonderful on the cold, clear evening to be under the stars.
The food and wine was a real highlight, with all wines sourced locally and the food beautifully presented with a real taste of luxury. The surprise menu was varied and always special.
It would have been lovely to visit in the Summer and experience the pool and the grounds in sunshine, something I will certainly consider in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grombulus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This was a late booking via an internet website. We arrived during sudden cold and windy weather and were relieved to find the chateau beautifully warm throughout. We received a warm welcome from the Dutch owner and were shown to our large, well furnished room with modern bathroom facilities. The tea/coffee making tray was a welcome bonus. There was no TV in the room but this did not matter for our short stay. Our room overlooked the large estate and garden and we are sure that the outdoor pool and hot-tub which we would certainly have used in the summer. The candlelit dinner at night was excellent ! There was no choice of menu but the owner had checked for any dietry requirements as we booked in. There was a different Loire wine to complement each course but the excellent waiter was very happy to substitute another wine such as when I said I did not like sweet, desert wine. Coffee was taken in the comfortable lounge surrounded by antique furniture .

Room Tip: All rooms individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had not stayed in a Chateau before and this was to be a new experience - and WOW!! we were not disappointed from the centuries old tiled floor in the bedroom to the original oak parquet flooring in the lounge. Lovely old Chateau but with luxury bathrooms - our bathroom was huge with deep designer bath and walk in shower with his and hers sinks. The dutch lady was very welcoming (despite other reviews!) we took the surprise 4 course menu and the wine package - and we thoroughly enjoyed the evening. The swiimming pool was a delight and the acres of grounds made it an extremely quiet and relaxing oasis of calm.
Will stay again when we next travel south and will take a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed Sept 2011; We booked the Master Suite (bedroom+dressing room+bathroom). The room was very comfortable, decorated with antique furniture and very comfortable big bed (we are tall people!); the dressing room was bright and very convenient to store our belongings, and the bathroom was huge (comfortable, although dated decor).
Dining was first rate.
Breakfast was a feast! We had three gourmet dinners at the chateau. I recommend getting the “Surprise Menu”, which is a great value, and allows you to try a good assortment of French cheeses. The wine sampler is a selection of only local wines, and is a great introduction to the wines of the region. Dining room service was excellent.
Dutch owners are very personable and helpful. Robin, the intern, is a very charming person, warm and always smiling. There were plenty of recommendations for trips in the room and even maps for hikes if sightseeing got you tired.
Ample (and easy!) parking on the grounds and charming small park with free roaming, slightly temperamental geese:). Heated pool looked good.
On the negative side - while the room was spotless when we arrived, it was not cleaned very thoroughly during our stay (although towels were fresh every day, and the bed linens were changed every other day).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank basiaczek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The building was quite charming and the pool/relaxing area was well set out. The stream and the little waterfall was very pleasant. However, we did not feel any warmth in the place or the welcome. We decided to have the surprise dinner which was actually very nice but we were made to feel uncomfortable when we said that we didn't drink red wine. The rooms were OK although they had put a table over an unstable floorboard which was quite dangerous. We would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank morrfam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Area is nice, but bad taste furniture,building rather cold inside,and avoid 'surprise' dinner, as no French luxury, but Dutch style 'economic' meal, we were still hungry after it...and no special at all,very small portions and surely the food comes from a 'Carrefour' hyperstore , which is a shame if you think that you are in a 'special' place in the valley of Loire in France...!!!!only positive thing:
wine was great....

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyje66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chateau de la Coutanciere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Coutanciere

Address: 4 route de la Coutanciere, 49650 Brain-sur-Allonnes, France
Location: France > Pays de la Loire > Maine et Loire > Brain-sur-Allonnes
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Brain-sur-Allonnes
Price Range: $98 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Coutanciere 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de la Coutanciere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing