We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de la Coutanciere
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Du Parc(Saumur)(Great Value!)
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Logis Hostellerie Saint-Paul(Vivy)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
$227
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
$49
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Diligence Saumur(Saumur)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel L'oree Des Bois(La Breille-les-Pins)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Bussy(Montsoreau)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Alcyon(Saumur)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
45
20
10
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
20
10
3
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswooden floorsreal frenchlarge bedroomlong driveenjoyable staysurprise menugreat roomgreat hostsloire valleydutchbathroomwinechateaugpssaumurfireplacemontsoreau
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 83 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Not the best experience once can dream of. Room/sleep was ok, "surprise" dinner was somehow disappointing for the price (35 plus 12 for wines), nice park that rain did not allow us to explore, castle interior was cold and not so well and tastefully renovated.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antoine c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Quite easy to find – well signposted.

A warm welcome from professional-like Josine – plus a complimentary bottle of local Chinon wine.

This is a lovely chateau – much tasteful work has been done on it, and there are more improvements in the pipeline. It has nice gardens with a river flowing through, plus outside terraces – and a swimming pool.

Yes it’s an old building – but with renovations that are in-keeping – and lovely original wooden floors. The place is free from unnecessary clutter – with some classical pieces of furniture. The décor is tasteful. The rooms are well heated and double glazing keeps it peaceful.

Our (Josephine) room was vey spacious – with an enormous, well equipped bathroom complete with all amenities and hairdryer. The room has a safe, a fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, and even a thoughtful array of magazines – but strangely no TV. The WiFi however is free and extremely fast (so get a Slingbox).

There is a dining room and the chef will cook to order.

Very, very pleasant. Better than some chateaux we have tried in the area !! Don’t be afraid to book this chateau. Enjoy it.

Room Tip: Rooms are different. Ours was "Josephine" - very spacious with an incredible bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike99Marg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hotel has the best of both worlds. Owners and staff, who are mostly Dutch, who are exceptionally welcoming and friendly, and an amazing French chef who produced a dinner that exceeded expectations four nights in a row. This was the owners' home until they decided to make it into an hotel and it has retained its own unique, elegant, private house feel . We had a suite which was hugely spacious with a modern bathroom and comfortable bed. Breakfasts are multi layered continental affairs, slices of cheese and meats with a hard boiled egg but they would rustle up scrambled eggs if requested. Nothing is too much trouble and the tea arrives already brewed in the pot when they realise you are British.There is WIFI and no television. Marvellous!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Epoque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Dutch only service with a very cold welcome.
Restaurant is open to public so every kind of people can have a table a test the pool.
Not enough privacy for a romantique experience.
Very poor services concerning activities in the area, especially for cultural or artistic purpose.
An example of very bad taste in a nice place.
My husband and I regret strongly our visit to this "Chateau" which is only a big 19th Century French house, not a castle !
Go elsewhere ! You have a lot of choice in the area...
Ann.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gourmette27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We booked this chateau for dinner only. My husband, Daughter, Son-in -law and their 3 children ages 12 years to 19. We had advised them 28 hours beforehand that one of us was vegetarian, and could they provide for that? The answer was yes, so off we set with great expectations of their `surprise' five course meals.
We began with an aperitif in the beautiful grounds.
The dining room was charming, the table laid to perfection with gleaming crystal ware and cutlery.
The amuse bouche was very nice. A garlicy froth with smoked salmon. Our veggie doesn't eat fish, so his was returned and replaced with garlic froth and cucumber.
Scallops in a fennel and vanilla sauce was next. Delicious and perfectly cooked.
Our vegetarian received a fresh peach and fig salad in a tasty dressing.
This was followed by duck breast with a honey type sauce and pretty courgette and carrot parcels. The duck was burnt on the meaty side, so hard we had difficulty cutting it. the skin side was uncooked and a flaccid pale mess. Awful! My daughter and I wondered if this was how the french cooked theirs.........then came to the conclusion that the chef must have left the building! The worst dish was our vegetarian's ! His plate arrived full of plain cooked vegetables and......... a boiled egg! We thought it was a joke!!! But NO!! That was it!
The cheese course was followed by a very tasty chocolate pudding.
The service from our charming waiters was second to none.
When my daughter quietly paid at the end of the evening, she pointed out that to be served a boiled egg as a main course was rather insulting. The reply was `Sorry, our chef forgot' No recompense was offered.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GHendle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews