We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Point Reyes Hostel
Nearby Hotels
$310
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Continental Inn(Tomales)(Great Value!)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Petaluma(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
$140
AscendHotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Metro Hotel & Cafe(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$100
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn Petaluma - Sonoma(Petaluma)(Great Value!)
$149
$129
QualityInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveler rating
41
25
4
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
25
4
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspoint reyesthe kitchenprivate roombunk bedshiking trailslimantour beachmain buildingcommon areasoff the beaten pathbring your ownmy sonfront desk staffa great experiencebeautiful areafresh airlong driveinteresting people
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 72 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Over the years We stayed in 2 hostels and both were older and ok, BUT this one was modern , nice set up with 4 private rooms with 2 bunk beds. One set had a full bed on the bottom for a couple and was new and comfortable. Entrances to seperate building has a push button numeric code on door and walking in a modern shower on the right with a sink (large room) then on the left is a room with a toliet and sink both clean and new. Entrance to the rooms have another modern electronic numeric door code pass. The kitchen area has it all.......sinks for washing dishes, table and chairs , a couch to sit at and relax. Fridge and all kinds of pots and pans and even a center table to work at cutting up whatever stuff to eat. High ceiling and just as modern as you could ask for. Great place $80 for a private room and 20???? for the dorm setup that I never saw in the other building. Not bad for being out in the boonies with few places close by. Oh and the staff were very helpful....and nice .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grambo1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Although this has the usual hostel set-up (communal dining and living areas etc), this was far removed from most hostels I've stayed at. We stayed in the newly built accommodation separate from the main building and as such, shared the facilities with only a few other people. The dining/kitchen area in this block was amazing, nicer than my own house! We enjoyed it so much we stayed an extra night and if we ever return to California, we will somehow try and incorporate a night at Point Reyes Hostel into our trip.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank mouflonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Having never stayed in a hostel before, I have to admit I was somewhat apprehensive. However, my fears were soon put to rest. We stayed in a private room, with mattresses that were more comfortable than a lot of B&B's where we have stayed. For the first time staying, I was glad that no one else was sharing the rest of the two bedroom dorm with us. The kitchen we used was well equipped with everything we needed to cook some really good meals. Of course, the hiking, the wild life, and the ocean are always to be enjoyed on Point Reyes. And be sure you eat at Drake's Bay Cafe for a little seaside ambiance.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank orgnizd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed here one Saturday night in May 2012. I stayed in the women's dorm for $24. The hostel is in a great, isolated location on Point Reyes. You can walk or drive a short distance to the beach. A trailhead is about a quarter-mile away. All of Point Reyes is a short drive away. The bed was super comfy with a memory-foam mattress and lots of blankets. The dorm had its own bathroom with two toilets and two showers, which were clean. There is a big kitchen with lots of room for people to cook. The seating area was very comfortable to sit and read. There is also an outside grill and picnic area.

The hostel is several, winding miles from any store so you have to bring all your food with you. Also, there is no TV or WiFi so bring your books.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IMAndreaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed at a private room on a new year's day break. I read on their hostel website that the private rooms are hard to reserve, but apparently they've opened up 4 newly built private rooms in Dec 2011, thus the availability was quite good when I called. Those new private rooms are located in a separate, dedicated building across from the older main hostel building, and the building has it's own brand-new kitchen that are shared only among those staying in those private rooms. I really liked the kitchen - clean, large, high ceiling, patio and sofa setting area, a long farmhouse table. Bathroom and shower rooms are shared between 2 private rooms. I don't have much experience with hostels in the USA, but this place was definitely one of the cleanest and more secluded place to stay (secluded both in terms of the hostel location itself and among guests).

Can't speak much about the main hostel building, but it looked cozy and welcoming.

The private room costed $120 per night for us and we shared the room with friends (4 adults and some small kids). It was really a great bargain and a wonderful stay all in all. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChihiroSaito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews