We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little corner of paradise for unbeatable price!”
Review of Chateau Juvenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau Juvenal
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Little corner of paradise for unbeatable price!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We just came back from our second stay there. Same thing happened like the last time: we came for 3 days and stayed 6 - it was just so great.

If you are looking for an amazingly beautiful and authentic place - and one where times seems to stop - then this is it. We've stayed in two room in the Chateau and both were furnished with incredible (Ann-Marie's) taste - actually quite lavish but without being cheesy or overdone.

The garden - actually, the 100 year old park - around the park is really beautiful, as is the nice pool.

Most importantly, Ann-Marie and Bernard are amazing hosts. If you do not feel social, you can go around the Chateau the whole day without noticing them. On the other hand, they can be very charming conversation partners if you are interested.

Overall, the place - especially given the prices off-season - is unbeatable if you are looking for a great, authentic and peaceful place for your strolls in Provence.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Besuhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cirencester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Chateau Juvenal is an exemplar for what all high end gites should be. It is sympathetically run by Anne-Marie and Bernard who have turned a run down 19th century chateau to a haven of beauty and elegance. They are unfailingly kind and helpful and cope admirably with the influx of visitors from many different countries. It says something that American visitors return time and again and in fact most of their bookings are repeat business. The property has its own olive tress and vineyards and makes a red wine which ranks as 87 on the Robert Parker scale. We have already booked for June 2013.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent but see the other visitors comments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohanSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We rented the smaller of the two gites for two weeks starting at the end of September. The bedrooms were large with excellent en suite facilities, including huge walk-in showers and the kitchen/ living area was comfortable and well-equipped and throughout the housekeeping standards were excellent. Air conditioning/heating is available according to season. There are all sorts of facilities, including a pool, jacuzzi, steam room, outdoor kitchen, table tennis to name but a few, and in addition you have the beautiful grounds and access to some wonderful walking country direct from the chateau. Just to add to this splendid mix is their own winery, just down the road, which they are delighted to take you round, and the twice-weekly dining with your hosts. However, what really sets this place apart is the warmth and attention to detail from Bernard and Anne-Marie. They seem to be almost constantly on hand to open up the pool, offer help and advice on local trips and restaurants, provide another bottle of their excellent wine when you run out, and call you in for an aperitif and some pate when they see you walk past. Set in this fabulous part of France what more can you ask for?

Room Tip: Apart from the two gites, there are a number of bedrooms in the house which are let on a bed and bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandPEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in August at this lovely chateau. We rented the Amandiers apartment (3 bedrooms). Anne-Marie and Bernard are wonderful hosts. The rooms in the apartment are large and nicely appointed. The walk in showers are great. The other guests were all friendly and interesting. They came from all over; Russia, Belgium, England, Germany, and Netherlands. Having breakfast with them each morning was a treat. Breakfasts were fresh croissants, jams, cheeses, meats and juices (and coffee and tea). We did find the stairway in the apartment a challenge. It is narrow and winding. The pool welcomed relief from the hot, hot weather we encountered. But bring your own towels. None provided. The dinner hosted by Anne Marie and Bernard was terrific. Simple but elegant. And they never stopped pouring their terrific wines. A drive up Mt. Ventoux is a must and very close from this location. Ping pong table and piano provided much entertainment for our little grandson.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orlando1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Chateau Juvenal is the perfect place to enjoy the best of the provencal countryside with wonderful owners who go out of their way to make you feel at home. My wife and I stayed there for 4 nights recently in a great room with a balcony overlooking the superb gardens of the chateau. The hotel is surrounded by vineyards and great walking country. We walked to the lovely village of Le Barroux directly from the hotel grounds through fantastic provencal woods. It really is the best way to appreciate this unique corner of provence.
You must take the opportunity when staying there to take dinner with the owners and other guests. The food is very good and you also get the chance to taste their delicious wines including a great rose. These dinners are very relaxed and are a great opportunity to get to know the real provence.
A great stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: Take the room a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Algolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

This gracious, comfortable chateau in the Ventoux area of Provence was exactly what we hoped to find. The hosts are wonderful, setting out a lovely breakfast, helping with dinner reservations and much more. The house is situated on a beautiful property surrounded by vineyards and backing into the Dentilles. We spent our days hiking and on drives exploring the wine country and historic villages - then returning for a swim or a bath in our huge claw-footed tub. One of our main reasons for visiting the area was because we love the wines of this region, and Chateau Juvenal's lucious red was the best that we tasted on this trip. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geotravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I wanted a comfortable place to stay in Provence that would give us a true taste of Provence and be a good home base for our day trips. What we found at Chateau Juvenal was so much more! Anne Marie and Bernard, the owners made us feel like extended family. The guests we met at the Friday evening dinner were all so nice, and all were repeat visitors. The grounds and Chateau are beautiful. Our room, the Grape room was large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom roomy and modern. We loved our balcony and were lucky enough to see a shooting star one night. One rainy evening we took advantage of the small guest kitchen and prepared ourselves an indoor picnic rather than going out for dinner. We shopped at the nearby village which was a treat. Carpentras, one of the nearest bigger towns was a 10-15 minute drive away and at the recommendation of one of the other couples we had dinner one evening at Chez Serge. A modern french menu at a moderate price. If we are fortunate enough to travel to Provence again we would definitely stay at Chateau Juvenal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
14.3 mi away
Hotel du Poete
Hotel du Poete
#1 of 2 in Fontaine de Vaucluse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
1.2 mi away
Les Geraniums
Les Geraniums
#2 of 2 in Le Barroux
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
18.7 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hotel la Cle des Champs
Hotel la Cle des Champs
#1 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Juvenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Juvenal

Property: Chateau Juvenal
Address: 120 Chemin du Long Serre, 84330 Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron, Beaumes-de-Venise, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Beaumes-de-Venise > Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A backdrop of ancient trees, a stone and lime sunny facade, a romantic park, a magnificent panorama, comfort, silence, attentive home owners: Welcome to Chateau Juvenal.In guest room, you sleep in an authentic master bedroom and have a generous and varied breakfast in the park or in the dining room.In furnished flat: you live in the farm, with everything needed to be independent.For all, pool, park, spa and welcome to our hosts' table on Tuesday and Friday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Chateau Juvenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Juvenal Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur/Saint-Hippolyte-Le-Graveyron, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing