We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple elegance in a welcoming setting”
Review of Chateau Juvenal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chateau Juvenal
Reviewed June 2, 2012

My husband and I wanted a comfortable place to stay in Provence that would give us a true taste of Provence and be a good home base for our day trips. What we found at Chateau Juvenal was so much more! Anne Marie and Bernard, the owners made us feel like extended family. The guests we met at the Friday evening dinner were all so nice, and all were repeat visitors. The grounds and Chateau are beautiful. Our room, the Grape room was large, the bed comfortable and the bathroom roomy and modern. We loved our balcony and were lucky enough to see a shooting star one night. One rainy evening we took advantage of the small guest kitchen and prepared ourselves an indoor picnic rather than going out for dinner. We shopped at the nearby village which was a treat. Carpentras, one of the nearest bigger towns was a 10-15 minute drive away and at the recommendation of one of the other couples we had dinner one evening at Chez Serge. A modern french menu at a moderate price. If we are fortunate enough to travel to Provence again we would definitely stay at Chateau Juvenal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 48 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife nd I spent a week-end in the Chateau. Truly outstanding reception, and truly remarkable rooms, service, facilities and all!
Not to mention the most wonderful winetasting of the couples own wines. We enjoyed a perfect weekend with them.

Room Tip: Note. Its a Bed and breakfast. You need to eat out, in any of the many restaurants to chose from in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bjorn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Hidden away under the mountains, amid the vines and olives groves less than an hour to the northeast of Avignon, this refurbished 19th century chateau is reason enough on its own to head to Provence. The chateau itself -- a sprawling country home with pond, park, and wooded hills -- is a mind-clearing escape, the rooms are charming (we stayed in the fetching Rose Room that overlooked the pond and had a clawfoot tub), the meals are fantastic, and the country air (which had just a nip in it when we stayed there in early November) does a soul good. Just as impressive though was the hospitality and the story of Anne-Marie and Bernard, who formerly worked in software, and chucked the city life around the minute they found this rambling chateau with its many acres of pine forest. They'd originally come to make wine, but along the way they uncovered the olive groves...and well, they have green thumbs and great talent with both wine and olive oil! To come here is to fall in love -- with the countryside, the chateau way of life, and with the owners and their products! A great place to hike, rock climb, escape -- and to travel to nearby points such as Barroux and beyond....

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gypsywithalaptop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We are just back from 5 nights in the Grape room at this superb establishment. It is impossible to imagine any feature of the stay being undertaken better. From the moment we arrived to a warm welcome with a glass (or two!) of wine, to the moment we left to an equally warm goodbye at an unearthly hour of the morning (and for which both Anne-Marie and Bernard had risen to make us a breakfast) we felt completely at ease in this wonderful home. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
We loved the room with it's high ceilings, wetroom, enormous comfortable bed and tall French windows opening onto a small balcony with table and chairs overlloking the pond and gardens... so ideal for aperos. The housekeeping was first class and would have shamed many a 5 star hotel.
Breakfasts were taken both in the garden and in the house depending on the weather and were plentiful in quality, choice and quantity. The home made jams (Bernard's handiwork) were very tasty.
The communal dinner with four other guests and our hosts was a great success combining lively conversation with great cooking and a plentiful variety of wines.
When we were not out and about discovering new wines, restaurants (excellent advice on these from Anne-Marie) or local villages we were to be found lounging by the pool (super towels provided) soaking up the sun.
We were invited to watch the wine production at the Chateau's own new winery....a big investment for which only the very best facilities and skills have been employed with the purpose of creating a very high standard of Cotes du Ventoux wines. We're sure that Anne-Marie and Bernard with their dedication to quality and detail will succeed in their objective and we shall be back for certain to sample the progress.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natali A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

We agree on every review mentioned below. Chateau Juvenal has it all!
The 3 of us enjoyed our stay in July 2010 very much and recommend it to everyone who loves the Provence and it's small villages, nature, swimming, quietness, hospitality of Anne-Marie and Bernard, clean rooms, fantastic table d'hote, regional wine and drinks, happy other quests. Close to the Mont Ventoux for everybody who likes biking. Couples, families, young, old: Enjoy it yourself!
Derk, Odile & Jorrit

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Odilegerver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Chateau Juvenal was one of the best experiences we've ever had and we do travel a lot. I came here with my wife and my 6 y.o. daughter and we all felt more then comfortable in this lovely place for 5 fantastic days. . Anne-Marie and Bernard are excellent hosts and so kind, warm and welcoming in their beautiful home. We arrived late in the evening, all the restaurants in the area were already closed and Bernard made a late dinner for us, opened few bottles of local (very good by the way!) wine, served in the main hall of the Chateaux, so that we felt like the Royal family. The style of the rooms was unique and comfortable, the garden and pool were pristine and the breakfast was delicious topped off with the jams and French bread made by Anne-Marie and Bernard themselves. We definitely would recommend Chateau Juvenal to anyone who is interested in a relaxing vacation or just a romantic getaway. That's also a good base to travel in Provence. It's perfect, without any doubt. Much more then 5 stars... Finely, I would say, that Anne Marie and Bernard had become more than our hosts. They had become more like friends. We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlebGlebyich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

It has taken me a year to write this review, but felt I ought to as the Chateau was simply stunning and our time there was so lovely.
A family run Chateau with so much charm and character. Your hosts as other reviews have said are very welcoming and helpful.
We arrived at very late hour with very little notice in booking (stayed 2 nights on a Wednesday and Thursday)Anne-Marie and Bernard actually got their niece to wait up with the keys as they had planned a trip to the local Opera with other guests. We stayed up with her niece sampling the produce of their vineyard until the early hours.
All in all we couldn’t fault this place, the swimming pool was set nicely away from the house and caught most of the sun all day. You can rate a place generally by the type of people who return, there were lovely other couples and families staying who had stayed at Chateau Juvenal for many years. One chap even used it as a base to follow the tour de france which goes nearby some years.
Anne-Marie recommended such a super special restaurant in a nearby hilltop village that we’ll never forget. Ask her for the recommendation if you stay, cannot remember the name annoyingly but it had a huge view across to the south east of Provence.
We also went in toad mating season, mid July 2010, some people might not like the noise for an hour or so in the evening, but to be honest it is France, the country of ‘love’, if the toads are doing it nightly, it reminds you you should be too!
Thank you Anne-Marie and Bernard – Apologies for the delay in review.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Ings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
3.3 mi away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
54 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auberge de Cassagne & Spa
3.2 mi away
Hotel Crillon le Brave
Hotel Crillon le Brave
#1 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Chateau de Mazan
Chateau de Mazan
#1 of 2 in Mazan
398 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
22 reviews
4 mi away
Hotel Les Florets
Hotel Les Florets
#1 of 2 in Gigondas
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Juvenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Juvenal

Address: 120 Chemin du Long Serre, 84330 Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron, Beaumes-de-Venise, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Beaumes-de-Venise > Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Price Range: $159 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A backdrop of ancient trees, a stone and lime sunny facade, a romantic park, a magnificent panorama, comfort, silence, attentive home owners: Welcome to Chateau Juvenal.In guest room, you sleep in an authentic master bedroom and have a generous and varied breakfast in the park or in the dining room.In furnished flat: you live in the farm, with everything needed to be independent.For all, pool, park, spa and welcome to our hosts' table on Tuesday and Friday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Chateau Juvenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Juvenal Provence-Alpes-Cote D'Azur/Saint-Hippolyte-Le-Graveyron, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing