We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location under looming cliffs, pleasant room and restaurant.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge des Seguins
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buoux
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic location under looming cliffs, pleasant room and restaurant.”
Reviewed September 15, 2010

This auberge was a highlight of our trip because of its wonderful location under cliffs in a large canyon reminiscent of some of the smaller canyons in the American West. We climbed to the Fort de Buoux, the remnants of a medieval town, at the top of the opposite cliff.
We ate at the restaurant one night and the food was very good. Breakfast was average. Although the guidebook said they only took half pension, I asked if we could take breakfast and dinner only the first night and just pay for the room after that. Amelie said that would be fine. Since we wanted to travel around the area we wanted to eat breakfast and lunch out. We ate our picnic supper on the table in front of our room. French dinners are generally too large and too late at night for us.
The room was very simple, kind of rustic but of a fair size, in a 14th-century stone building--it had a bed, private bath and a table--just fine for us. Amelie said the stone buildings ranged in age from about the 14th through (I think) the 19th or 20th centuries. It was dry, so no odors of mold that a previous reviewer noted.
We stayed 3 nights. Although the roads are very winding, it was a pretty central location for visiting Bonnieux, Lacoste, Oppede-le-Vieux, Isle-sur-la-Sorgue and Roussillon. The auberge had plenty of room for parking. It also has a big pool--it was too cool for us to swim but other guests used the pool.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ravens2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    51
    18
    9
    10
See reviews for
38
63
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
paris
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

I stayed there for the week end with my fiance and we absolutely fell in love with the auberge des Seguins: the location is stunning, with superb views of the cliffs, beautiful authentic stone architecture, a gorgeous swimming pool (and large enough to do laps), beautiful trees that provide shade in the hot summer months. It is very charming, simple and elegant. A heaven of peace amidst stunning natural landscapes, and at a reasonable price;
The rooms were nice, very clean and with all the comfort one needs. We also very much enjoyed the restaurant, which serves autentic regional specialties prepared with local products. They also serve a fresh juice of the day that taste phenomenal! The staff is friendly and always available to help if you have any questions or requests.
We strongly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aurevangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2008

Two years ago (2006) we stayed 1 night in this hotel, with which we were very impressed in terms of stunning location, superb hiking and cycling opportunities, and the food. This year (2008) we booked 6 nights for this very reason, however we were slightly disappointed. The location is absolutely beautiful, very quiet, and superb for nature lovers and people who like it quiet. However, the rooms sometimes smell intens mouldy when the weather is a bit wet/rainy. For this reason we changed rooms twice.... Also the rooms are poorly cleaned, the bathrooms are often somewhat dirty with hairs (of others), lack of toiletpaper, towels not dry or not quite clean. In addition, the first night you stay (we saw this also with all others guests), you get an impressive appetizer plate for dinner followed by a lovely menu. If you stay longer than 1 night though, the apppetizer plate is replaced by an OK-starter and the food is OK, but really nothing special. For this reason, although half-pension booking, we went out for dinner twice elsewhere to finaly get a NICE French meal. An other down point is, that when the hotel is fully booked (often groups of hikers), there is often not enough food for breakfast and if you're a bit "late" for breakfast (meaning after 8.30), you shall eat dry crackers, because bread and yoghurts have all been eaten.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Puksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level Contributor
82 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the remote, striking L’Auberge du Seguins for one night in mid May 2007. It is a 27 room hotel located in the Natural Regional Parc of the Luberon several miles from the village of Buoux in a quiet valley at the foot of a massive cliff. We walked there from Roussillon (a 14 mile journey) and were almost overcome by the sight of its peaceful beauty, attractive buildings and pristine swimming pool.

Our spacious room had four beds and a good size bathroom with two sinks. The friend who accompanied us was given an amazing room built so close to the cliff that an outcropping of granite protruded into it! Dinner outside on the hotel terrace was a delightful taste of Provincial food. The highlight of the meal was very fresh trout from the hotel’s pond.

For those who enjoy walking, it is possible to take a trail from the hotel that climbs up to the top of the cliff behind it to a dizzying overlook and panoramic view of the hotel and its environs.

  • Liked — Remote, striking location & wonderful restaurant
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EWLTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buoux
3.4 mi away
Domaine de Capelongue
Domaine de Capelongue
#2 of 5 in Bonnieux
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Bastide de Lourmarin
4.3 mi away
Logis de l'Etang
Logis de l'Etang
#1 of 2 in Cucuron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Coquillade Village
Coquillade Village
#1 of 1 in Gargas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
5.9 mi away
Domaine de Fontenille
7.2 mi away
Le Clos de la Glycine
Le Clos de la Glycine
#2 of 6 in Roussillon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge des Seguins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge des Seguins

Property: Auberge des Seguins
Address: 84480 Buoux, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Luberon > Buoux
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Buoux
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Auberge des Seguins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Des Seguins Hotel Buoux

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing