We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but expensive”
Review of Domaine Des Vignes

Domaine Des Vignes
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good food, but expensive”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Lovely setting, we sat outside, which was perhaps a mistake given that we were plagued by flies during the meal. Not sure what the restaurants owners could do about that but nevertheless it did spoil the meal to some extent. The menu choice was very good, and well explained by the friendly waiter. The food was excellent, if perhaps a little over-fussy, with too many tastes being presented at the same time. The restaurant was expensive, and I have had better meals at a lower cost. There was also no towels in the toilet - not good for such an expensive restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and wedding caterer”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had Joss (owner and chef of the restaurant) cater for our wedding at Saint Privat des Pres and the food was excellent. His canapés are amazing and all of his food is really excellent. We even had him do the catering for a BBQ at the wedding venue for our guests the next day and it was the best BBQ food we have had - real gourmet French BBQ - not your usual burgers etc. All Authentically French and wonderful stuff. Would highly recommend Joss for wedding catering and he is a real pleasure to work with - a great guy and always eager to please.
Purvis and Olivia

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Purvis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fab food reasonable price”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a lovely modernised restaurant serving fine French fare, I had the goats cheese, duck and crème brulee and enjoyed it all very much

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Becky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Would highly recommend this restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have just spent over 2 weeks in the Charente region and this restaurant was definitely one of the best ! The food was local, very fresh and beautifully cooked and tasted wonderful. The dining room is very atmospheric and the chef and his wife were so welcoming. We left that night knowing that we had really enjoyed a very special meal,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyDublin30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Something Special”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you are in the Charente region look out this place it is something else. The food is amazing.
The restaurant is located on the road between Chalais and Aubeterre sur Dronne. Look out for large farming Silos on the right and fork in the road to the left which has a bungalow built right in the middle of the fork. The restaurant is marked by a picture of a Lady dressed in red with a Red hat. Immediately turn right into the car park. The restaurant is a converted barn, a huge place. When we were there the weather was cold and wet but there was a magnificent log fire in the large fire place and we sat on a small table near this. We were the only ones in the restaurant, and despite its vastness we didn’t feel out of place on our own, rather quite intimate.
We had the most wonderful meal presented in what can only be described as art on a plate. Stunning and beautifully presented not to mention the quality of the food.
Tried to photo this but it hasn’t come out well.
We had 2 aperitifs and each had the set 3 course menu it all came to €81.00
The owner spoke reasonable English and it is run by him and his wife.
Outside there is a wonderful patio area for better weather and I think that any other time you might need to phone and book as he told us that he had been busy in the day. It is unusual to find a restaurant on a Sunday evening and this is why he was quiet.
I think he also said that he was closed Mon, Tues & Weds – Open from Thurs – Sunday.
Check his opening times as were visiting out of season. Telephone 05 45 98 41 31

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CRM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Domaine Des Vignes also viewed

Saint-Severin, Charente
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
 
Saint-Paul-Lizonne, Dordogne
Saint-Severin, Charente
 
Aubeterre-sur-Dronne, Charente
Petit-Bersac, Riberac
 

Been to Domaine Des Vignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing