We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Braisiere
Nearby Hotels
Hotel La Vieille Maison(Saint-Paul-Lizonne)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Les Pins(Le Tatre)(Great Value!)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Marjolaine(Roullet-Saint-Estephe)(Great Value!)
$42
$40
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Hotel Restaurant La Vieille Etable(Roullet-Saint-Estephe)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henri IV(Coutras)
$82
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hostellerie du Perigord(Aubeterre-sur-Dronne)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rev'hotel(Riberac)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Les Tuileries de Chanteloup(La Roche Chalais)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Natur'Hotel(Menesplet)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (68)
Filter reviews
68 results
Traveler rating
21
23
5
11
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
23
5
11
8
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 68 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Quite dated place, with thin walls and a humid smell in the room during our stay. Haven't seen much of the not-too-friendly staff. The location is nice (quiet little village), but would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mg-bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Having booked through the Logis web site, we arrived only to be greeted by shrugged shoulders. Fortunately I had a printed copy of the booking.
We subsequently offered a ground floor room with no windows, just a French door opening directly onto the street.
There was a very large fan on top of the wardrobe which provided the only air movement. We were also told the shower was broken, which it was.
Having 'moved in' we then discovered that the bed linen was very damp, due to the humidity of the room and the fact there was no ventilation.
We decided not to stay, which was unfortunate as we had been driving for over 6 hours at this stage.
We chose this hotel as "English" is listed as one of the languages spoken (my French is fair, but I like to have a backup). Neither of the staff on duty spoke anything but French.
A poor result for a Logis hotel, several of which we have used in the past.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jack_and_Amber2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2010

I have been coming to La Braisiere for over 25 years now and have watched this fine Logis evolve under the careful stewardship of Alain and Maguy Jozeleau. you will enjoy a gastronomic treat in the Restuarant and can relax by the pool. The rooms are very cosy and the decor is sympathetic. A real Gem, sadly these hotels are getting harder to find whilst touring France.

Enjoy the delights of pituresque Aubeterre sur Dronne [-]

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Otterail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2008

We love La Braisiere and plan to go back and stay there every time we're in that beautiful part of France (Charente - great for walking and riding).

The hotel wouldn't win any awards for decor - in fact its quite sweet and dated in terms of its furnishings and look - but the staff, the atmosphere and the food make it a very special place indeed.

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome by the proprietor and his wife. It's a small and family run establishment which means that they can dedicate individual time and attention to their guests. Our french is pretty appalling but they spoke quite good english and we were able to have lots of friendly chats and jokes with them as they insisted on giving us refreshments after our long journey.

Our room was very clean and cosy and featured some lovely retro print curtains and covers - i don't think the retro look was intended but we appreciated it anyway! It also had a small but very clean bathroom with a great shower.

We'd elected to eat in the hotel restaurant that night because we'd read that it offered excellent local cuisine. It was one of the most fantastic meals that we'd ever had. For a brilliant price we were served 5 courses of exquisitely prepared local food - all made on the premises by the family. I can't recommend it highly enough. We feasted on local pates, beef, pork, snails, wonderfully fresh vegetables and melt in the mouth puddings. When it came to the cheese course we could scarcely eat another bite.

It's a shame that more hotels in the UK don't offer old fashioned home cooking like this. We went to bed utterly full and completely happy.

Thank you La Braisiere!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews