We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We lived around the corner”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Savigny-sous-Faye
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chateau Hotel Savigny
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We lived around the corner”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The reason all these people had the chateau to themselves is .....no one stays there. They seem to not want people to stay there.
We lived 1/2 mile away so we would go past.....I say past because the gates where mostly shut.

They have a horse and buggy ride....you can pick up the balloon ride on the beautiful grounds, the exterior is out of Disney. It should Be the place to stay......why isn't this place packed?
The area is just a bit too south of the Big Loire chateaux.....it's remote. Staff not so friendly.

If owners would put more in it......could be great.
Somebody else should buy this place!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Cindy5221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    60
    25
    21
    31
See reviews for
20
133
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

As this is one of the few chateaus that you can actually stay in we thought we would give it a try.
The building inside and out is really lovely. Our bedroom had a door which led out to a turret of the chateau and was beautifully appointed with a view across the vast lawn.
The evening meal was delightful and the furnishings throughout were elegant and clearly very expensive.
Just on the edge of the Loire Valley in the Vienne Region close to Poitiers and Futuroscope this a region of France undiscovered by many which has some lovely countryside and rivers off the regular tourist tracks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

As a chateau... marvelous. Beautifully renovated, nice rooms, quiet wooded estate. As a hotel... null. Poor quality welcome from a snobby receptionist who reminded me of a gay Oliver Hardy. Room not made up on second day. Totally average "industrial" breakfast. Nothing special about the dinner and the waiter constantly forgot (or ignored) our requests (more bread, water, etc.). Definitely a place to stay but find a restaurant elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SpiderOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We pitched up here 'en famille' on our way home from skiing in the Pyrenees. This was the coldest we'd felt all holiday! The chateau is utterly stunning and beautifully kept - really magical. However it was deserted when we arrived and felt like a scene out of Dracula. From other reviews we understood the food would be good, but we were worried we might be on the menu... The food was actually very good (and our children had the full five course menu for half the price) but perhaps a little over complicated. Our room was elegant and cosy and clean, but the communal areas were utterly freezing and we and the four other guests in the place had to have our aperos in the dining room as the other public areas were too cold. Even here we had to wear three layers, including out thermals... Overall an interesting experience and one we would perhaps repeat in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melanie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

I had the good fortune of spending a few days at this beautiful chateau in September 2006. We had the place and the staff all to ourselves, which was lovely for us, but spelled doom for le chateau de Savigny as a business venture. We had a beautiful suite with the sitting room in a small round tower, and a peaceful atmosphere permeated the premises. The most remarkable thing was the restaurant menu, a set menu with food that was simply up there witht the very best I have ever eaten anywhere in the world. Impressed, I asked to visit the kitchens. The chef de cuisine, whose name I have unfortunately forgotten, but who, I imagine, must now be employed in some international five-star hotel, as he deserves, was obviously a possessed man, intent on turning out fabulous food. When I asked him how he had cooked the previous night's perfect canard, he told me that he cooked its different parts with different techniques, according to an ancient Roman recipe by Apicius that he had researched. I seem to recall that dinner was about 35 or 40 Euros per person, which was cheap for what we got. We were in the depths of the countryside, and there were no other restaurants in the nearby villages, so it seemed surreal to dine like kings in the middle of nowhere. The staff were all most helpful. The owners, Mr. and Mrs. Whitehead, were staying at the chateau, and told us how they bought and restored it. I remember thinking that it was a case of "folie a deux", but a beautiful folly. We had rented a car, and visited the area, which was absolutely wonderful. I have often thought of going back there.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elisabetta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klosterneuburg, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We had the chateau practically for us. Went through the enchanted forest. Saw the ancient buildings on the grounds. Looked through the old windows from our marvelous room.

It was just magic. Nothing less.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank thel4mb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

My wife and I visited Chateau Hotel Savigny for three days as part of our honeymoon and found it to be, in a word, perfect. From its manicured grounds, beautiful entryway, and stunning dining salons to the opulent and lush room and absolutely fabulous restaurant, not a single need or desire was wanting. We traveled via auto to a half dozen famous chateaus in the Loire Valley and found Chateau Hotel Savigny to be very well located for this - but I don't mind driving: if you are not fond of motoring, this might be the single drawback. Overall, it was an idyllic stay: we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pauljoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Savigny-sous-Faye
10.3 mi away
Chateau de la Motte
Chateau de la Motte
#1 of 1 in Usseau
174 reviews
16.2 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
475 reviews
15.3 mi away
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
Le Pigeonnier du Perron
#1 of 1 in Availles-en-Chatellerault
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudiere
Le Chateau du Clos de la Ribaudi...
#8 of 20 in Chasseneuil-du-Poitou
351 reviews
12.5 mi away
La Gourmandine
La Gourmandine
#1 of 10 in Chatellerault
114 reviews
9.8 mi away
Le Puits Dore
Le Puits Dore
#1 of 2 in Richelieu
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Hotel Savigny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Hotel Savigny

Property: Chateau Hotel Savigny
Address: 6 rue du chateau, 86140 Savigny-sous-Faye, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Savigny-sous-Faye
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Savigny-sous-Faye
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau Hotel Savigny 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance style chateau totally renovated to create a luxury hotel ideally situated between the Loire Valley Chateaux and the Futuruscope. All rooms are overlooking the 16 hectares park and woodland. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing