We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful stay in de Ternay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Ternay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Ternay
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delightful stay in de Ternay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

There is really little praise that can be added that has not already been said in previous reviews other than to support that the chateau is real, the experience authentic, the building beautiful in showing it's fragility and age, the surroundings magnificent and peaceful and the story-telling first hand as Compte de Ternay's lineage is resident in the demeure since 1606.

There is no pretension here - simply delightful guests who's passion is there home and heritage.

It's a pleasure and an honour to be hosted by Loick and his wife Charlotte.

Do not hesitate to go.

Room Tip: It's a chateau ! Every nook and cranny shouts authenticity. Every room is unique and any room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sacsw81ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    20
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed here during a riding holiday with Chateau et Cheval. Great hosts and a wonderful setting. We arrived on horseback via the forest behind, and then had a tour and glass of fizz followed by supper. The food was excellent as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Chateau de Ternay is a great place to spend a few quiet days in the French countryside. The welcome is warm and the dinner is well worth staying in for. The atmosphere exudes the rich history of France and dont miss the tour both for the history and the humor. The Chateau is well located also for day trips to surrounding Chateaux and tows like Loudon and Richelieu.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Desirous of a night in a chateau we chose Chateau de Ternay and were not disappointed. The chateau is lovely and the owner Comte Loic is a warm and humorous host, and the tour he gave was most interesting and amusing. Having an understanding of the history of the chateau was an essential part of our enjoyment and appreciation, so we recommend that the tour be taken at the beginning of the stay. The meals are home cooked and not haute cuisine, but the elegance of the surroundings makes dining there a pleasure. A most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PG_Dot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We stayed at Chateau de Ternay for 2 nights in the family room. It was a beautiful place. The owners were friendly and hospitable, and provided a personal tour of the castle. The history of the place is very interesting. The castle grounds are extensive and just gorgeous. We walked through the woods accompanied by the 2 delightful dogs. You can explore the castle's dry moat with small troglidyte caves. There is even an old trebuchet (middle age weapon) that you can practice firing. The room was large, spacious, and furnished with period pieces. It has big windows that open out with views over the valley. I would highly recommend staying here. It is near to some beautiful villages such as Montreuil-Bellay. Our hosts recommended we visit there, as well as a zoo called the Biopark which was outstanding. There was a large lounge room with free wifi and the breakfast room was impressive. You could imagine what it would have been like to live there hundreds of years ago. A great experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loulou R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

If you are looking for something out of the ordinary beaten path, you are likely to find it at Château de Ternay. Don’t expected polished perfection, expect authenticity. No overwhelming tourist crowds, not a complete isolation but comfortable solitude. You will breathe in the air of “times past”, as unspoiled as it can be today. You’ll get to meet the extraordinary owners of this place, Caroline & Loïc, who thoughtfully maintain the property. Take the tour of the château with Loïc who will share his detailed knowledge of this place with you. They both gracefully share their family history with guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaDom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Traveling with our 8-year-old grandaughter, we had 4 wonderful days at Chateau de Ternay. Our grandaughter loved the resident animals and had fun wandering the estate. We loved our lovely huge rooms and the warmth and humor of our hosts, Loic and Caroline de Ternay, as well as their cooking for two (pre-booked) dinners. We would definitely stay at this special and beautiful chateau again. Be prepared to pay cash.

Room Tip: The only suite is on the ground floor, has good heaters and view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ternay
10.7 mi away
Fontevraud L'Hotel
Fontevraud L'Hotel
#1 of 3 in Fontevraud-l'Abbaye
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
13.0 mi away
Chateau de Marcay
Chateau de Marcay
#1 of 1 in Marcay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
11.1 mi away
Logis Le Chai de la Paleine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Brit Hotel Saumur
Brit Hotel Saumur
#1 of 1 in Distre
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
9.2 mi away
Domaine de Roiffe
Domaine de Roiffe
#1 of 1 in Roiffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
6.2 mi away
Hotel Renaudot
Hotel Renaudot
#3 of 3 in Loudun
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Ternay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Ternay

Property: Chateau de Ternay
Address: 9 rue du Chateau, 86120 Ternay, France
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Vienne > Ternay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ternay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The de Ternay family have been bringing alive this historic monument, which dates from the 15th and 19th centuries, since 1606. Within the walls of the Château nestles a small chapel which is considered to be a masterpiece of gothic art. The warm and friendly welcome that you will receive in these prestigious surroundings, where strength and elegance join forces, is a promising start to your stay in a haven of peace. From your room, enjoy views over the calm sweep of the Dive valley, or the Château grounds, with trees that have stood for centuries. The authenticity of this historic site is a real pleasure to discover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Chateau de Ternay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing