We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard pub fare.”
Review of Middleton Tavern

Middleton Tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Middleton
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Standard pub fare.”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The crowd loved the chicken schnitzel. The serve was enormous and a real crowd pleaser. Every meal gives you access to vegie and salad bar. Salads were fresh and healthy. The lamb roast was ordinary. Good if you need to cater for variety of tastes including the bland.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ozfamilyToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    38
    22
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Victor Harbor, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Sound pub fare on Schnitzel night”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Thursday night is Schnitzel night at Middleton Tavern and it provides a good pub experience with a well priced meal and good service

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank TeamJaffa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good pub meal and really great service”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Went to dinner in the busy summer season and were happy with our meals and service was very prompt and friendly. We had the pork roast of the day with superb crackling and the salad/veg bar is a bonus, with an extensive selection. The one thing that I liked best was, with dessert I asked for no icecream or cream, just extra custard - and they happily added a generous portion. Would recommend for an easy quick tasty meal in a relaxed setting

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kaz780_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Went for dinner Sunday 6 January 2013. I had the Middleton Medley - I was shocked when it was put in front of me - 6 chips - yes 6 chips - 2 calamari rings, 2 of those horrendous pre-crumbed butterflied prawns and one very small piece of fish!! All this for $19. It was the smallest meal I've ever been served on the smallest plate. There were 6 of us eating and all the servings were ridiculously small - I don't know who was in the kitchen but they were being very mean with their chip allocation!! It was extremely disappointing for the price of the meals - even with the salad bar which consisted of a bit of watermelon, pineapple and the usual potato salad and coleslaw. Add into this the decor of 1980's hanging baskets with fake ferns in what is like a huge barn - I would keep on driving the extra 3 minutes onto Port Elliot and go the Port Elliot Hotel were I've previously had a great meal. We wont' be going back!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ah1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HUGE meals, fast service!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very impressed, we didn't wait long, schnitzels were MASSIVE, Kids meals were huge with garlic bread, salad bar has a HUGE selection, entres were also a generous size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pannozz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Tavern also viewed

Port Elliot, South Australia
Middleton, South Australia
 
Port Elliot, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 

Been to Middleton Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing