We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HUGE meals, fast service!!”
Review of Middleton Tavern

Middleton Tavern
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Middleton
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HUGE meals, fast service!!”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Very impressed, we didn't wait long, schnitzels were MASSIVE, Kids meals were huge with garlic bread, salad bar has a HUGE selection, entres were also a generous size.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pannozz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    37
    22
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“It's A Basic Pub Meal”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Our last visit here was very disappointing. We had been here in the past it it was ok but it was quite poor this time. I had the kangaroo and it was so over done! It was dry and hard to chew! The sauce looked and tasted like it had come out of a bottle or jar so i am guessing it did! The salad bar and hot foods were previously decent but again poor with little choice. It's a busy place and is really just a pub so don't expect fantastic table service. Don't get me wrong the staff are nice and do their job but that's all they are really expected to d I suppose.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickoSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
outback SA
Level Contributor
104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Could be better.”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I had been here before but last time food was awful and cold,tasted like not fully cooked.They seem like they in ahurry to get you out fast as come to clean/clear tables even before one has finished,will not go back even if they do have a big choice of salad etc to pick from.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank awelltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Hot food please!”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We used to live in Goolwa so had eaten here often and returned recently with old friends to find that it was not as good as it used to be. I ordered a soup and the roast and had a unique experience - they were both put before me at the same time. I protested and said that I would like the roast after I had finished the soup. But to no avail - "you've got them now!" The soup was luke warm and, needless to say, the roast was quite cold by the time I had finished the soup. The salad bar did not have as good a choice as the old days (5 years ago) but the hot vegies were hot and nice.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosieterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Fair to middling”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having dined here on several occasions it was with trepidation that we met friends here for a meal one Monday evening. We were pleased to find the dining experience had improved since our last visit a year or so prior. The schnitzels were huge and there was a good selection of hot vegies and salad at the serve yourself salad bar. There's still room for improvement, my calamari was fairly ordinary. The staff were very friendly and it is a great place to take children for a well priced meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Middleton Tavern also viewed

Middleton, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Goolwa, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 
Victor Harbor, South Australia
Port Elliot, South Australia
 

Been to Middleton Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing