We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a breathe of fresh air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chateau de Sarceaux
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a breathe of fresh air”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

After spending a whirlwind five days in Paris, it was such a relief to relax in a story book setting in the country of Normandy. We wanted to give our two grown daughters a cherished family vacation and the chateau certainly exceeded our expectations. Herve greeted us warmly and then left us to acclimate to the quiet grandeur of his childhood home. Madame Jacqueline prepared a gourmet feast for our dinner. She ended the sumptuous repast with a flaming Baked Alaska! Herve gave us very good advice for visiting the D Day Beaches as well as visiting the nearby picturesque village of St. Ceneri le Gerei; a painter or photographer's dream! We would love to come back to Normandy and stay here again.

Room Tip: I would follow the Marquis' recommendations since all rooms have their own unique qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 453normas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
89
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

Choosing the location as a stop off on the way to Limoges we were not prepared for the wonderful welcome we got at the Chateau Sarceaux. Arriving very late Madame Jacqualine waited up for us past midnight. The room in the old stable block was fabulous and such a relief after a long drive. Everything was perfect and the next morning having breakfast in the dining room of the old chateaux (shooting lodge) felt very very special. The decoration is all original and our hosts charming, witty and attentive. We were so taken with the place that we booked immediately for our return journey. Lovely people, fabulous setting and first class experience. We need an excuse to go back!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I wanted to have the experience of staying in a beautiful old french chateau so I could feel like I had stepped back in time.
We met the owner on his lawnmower down the drive way, he was very friendly and made us feel welcome. The house is beautiful with its full rose bushes and is full of interesting items. We had not booked the meal which I would recommend doing but the owners were able to fit us in. The meal was beautiful and it was lovely to sit with other couples and chat. The meal was €52 pps and included a bottle of wine per couple. The owner decides what to serve so if you are a fussy eater this may not suit. Our room was lovely and reasonable priced. I thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiebug165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2014

I have to admit that as we drove up the long driveway to the chateau that I felt quite nervous. Well it is not everyday you get to stay with the Marquis and Marquise Gicquel des Touches but I really should have not worried. Staying here is like staying with long lost friends - I didn't need to wear my tiara or curtsey to our hosts!
We unpacked in our big bedroom overlooking the lake then went down for aperitifs at 7.30pm, we had champagne and some lovely nibbles. We then had a super meal cooked by Jacqueline. It helped that we had dinner with a lovely couple from Yorkshire called Kate and William (no not the famous ones!) then we had the pleasure of sing song round the piano with Jacqueline.
All in all a lovely experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zipperhead2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2014

One night at Chateau de Sarceaux is not enough. It is beautiful, quiet, comfortable, elegant and
Herve & Jacqueline, the Marquis and Marquise Gicquel des Touches and fabulous hosts. You need to ask very nicely and you might get a wonderful dinner cooked by Jacqueline which was such good value.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lplondon2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived rather late and tired after having a long journey. I am pregnant and was exhausted so even though it was late Jacqueline cooked us the most delicious supper. Breakfast was also just perfect. The room was elegant and spotlessly clean.
A relaxed, elegant hotel and Herve and Jacqueline were delightful.
We shall return!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Highly recommended. Good stopover going north or south. Lovely hosts and lovely food. Delicious chateau setting with large grounds and not as pretentious and expensive as many others of the same ilk. Try it soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valframbert
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
1.6 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
235 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
76 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#9 of 11 in Alencon
257 reviews
1.3 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Property: Chateau de Sarceaux
Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing