We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Sarceaux
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stopover”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Highly recommended. Good stopover going north or south. Lovely hosts and lovely food. Delicious chateau setting with large grounds and not as pretentious and expensive as many others of the same ilk. Try it soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
207 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a quite beautiful chateau, with a lovely couple whose family has owned the estate for some time. We were greeted by the most adorable Westie dog and the Marquise, who could not have been kinder. She is also an amazing cook! The Chateau is exquisite and located in a lovely park like setting. Our rooms were pleasant and beautifully furnished. The dinner (expensive but well worth it - don't miss it)was cooked to perfection and really on a moments notice, by the Marquise. Breakfast was also delicious. This is a slice of life you can only experience by staying in a family home of this type. Really a delight!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rixensart, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed for one night with a business colleague. We enjoyed everything: the castle, the park with animals (we spotted deer), the cracking wooden floor, the whisky in the cosy living room with open fire, the breakfast in the old dining room.
Very calm rooms, no a singe noise, since we are far off in the woods, all the comfort in the bathroom, wifi, etc.
A very pleasant stay with very pleasant owners who can tell you all the history about it and what to do around: Mr and Mme les Marquis.

Room Tip: I stayed in the en-suite in the main building. Forgot the name.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiableRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, Berkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed one night at Chateau de Sarceaux on the way down to the Dordogne. You'll rarely receive a warmer welcome - you're made to feel at home from the moment you pull up. The setting is lovely and it's a fantastic stop-off spot on the way south. Dinner was excellent and very reasonably priced. I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 2, 2013

One hour after leaving CDG Airport we encountered a flat tire. No problems changing the tire but now we needed a new spare. We got to the Chateau around 6 PM and were greeted by Herve, the owner. I told him about the flat and he offered to take me to town the next day to have it repaired. Herve interfaced with the tire shop worker and within 30 minutes I was on my way. This could have been a real problem without Herve because I do not speak French. Even while the tire was being fixed Herve took me into town and showed me its historical sights, including a 400 year old church. I'm sure he had better things to do but still took the time to help me out and make a very stressful event an almost enjoyable one.

Now for the Chateau. It is just dripping with history. You really feel like you are going back in time while staying here. We stayed in the L'Etang suite which was large and comfortable. The dinner was preceded by hors d'oeuvres and champagne in the study. The dinner was duck breast with a pepper sauce. Enhanced by a fabulous bottle of bordeaux. It was great.

After dinner we all sat around and discussed our itinerary. I had a chance to practice my very limited French with Herve and Jacqueline. I highly recommend the chateaux with two wonderful hosts.

Room Tip: L'Etang Suite is worth the small additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverkusen, Germany
Level Contributor
874 reviews
155 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 346 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location was superb with the chateau nestled in it's own extensive, beautiful parkland grounds complete with small lake. The building itself was very impressive, well preserved and lovingly maintained. Our rooms were well appointed and comfortable. The hosts were very helpful & also spoke English which was a bonus as not all in our party could speak French. Breakfast was in a communal setting with all guests sitting at one table with very attentive service. Dinner is also available for those who prefer to dine in the chateau.
We recommend much better illuminated signposting to the chateau - we had difficulties to find the place and after a long journey this was annoying. We also suggest to place discreet signs asking vistors to drive slowly up the long, winding track leading to the chateau - certainly a more elegant solution than being greeted by the host running towards us waving his arms around demanding that I drive more slowly. The hosts were also very friendly but rather obtrusive in our opinion. Please add frosted glass to the bathroom windows as they look out onto the gardens. The view looking out was lovely but left one feeling rather, let's say, exposed...
Of our tour of north western France and overnight stays in many such similar chateaux, this was the most expensive overnight stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eyekaytoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silloth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here on our way back from the Dordogne to Eurotunnel. An inspired choice, as it turned out.

It's only a few kilometres off the main motorway - yet you could be in a different world. Extraordinarily peaceful and with nothing to hear but the birds and nothing to look at but the lake and grounds. We were greeted by the Marquis and shown to our, very large, room and then provided with a tea tray on the terrasse. Sat there unwinding and made friends with their dog and threw his ball a few times. Even that was an optional activity - as he was far from demanding and clearly in tune with tired guests!

The Marquise (Jacqueline) joined us outside and - we'd indicated we required a meal - covered the choices. There is no formal menu - you just discuss the options directly with your chef! Very civilised. We met for drinks in the main salon before dinner - I recommend the Pastis if you're a fan (or reader of Michael Wright books!). And were shown through into the small, but beautiful, dining room when the meal was ready.

We'd chosen duck breast. I have never before had it served with poached whole cherries, and the main course was as good a meal as my wife and I have ever eaten. The duck was cooked to perfection and the cherries - a dozen or so each - were simply outrageous. I've never tasted anything better or more complimentary - and that includes meals at the Ritz. It really was quite superb - if you stay here, you must eat here. There was only one other couple - on a long weekend from Paris. Fortunately their English was far superior to our French, but we understood that even the French fully approved and thought the meal fully upheld the high traditions of French cuisine. The sole small downside was that coffee never materialised. Perhaps we talked too much - and our hosts didn't like to interrupt.

Our room (L'Etang - so named because it overlooks the pond / lake) was large and well furnished with antiques. A very large king size bed proved to be very comfortable and with crisp cotton sheets - something of a novelty in France, where you normally get weird bed linen that feels like a mix between flannelette and bri-nylon and is not conducive to sleep on warm nights! This was exceptionally comfortable and we both slept well.

Breakfast - was essentially French. Very decent coffee. a nice croissant ...... but I'm afraid all French breakfasts feel very similar. Other than the setting - which, in this case is an extraordinarily beautiful dining room and worth taking time to appreciate.

All in all - a real gem. If you do stay - push the boat out and enjoy an evening meal cooked by Jacqueline. It's likely to be memorable.

Room Tip: All the internal rooms are quiet and face over the park. And all are furnished with antiques and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valframbert
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.0 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
1.3 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Property: Chateau de Sarceaux
Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing