We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay in real chateau” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de Sarceaux

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Sarceaux
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay in real chateau”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Great family owned chateau, beautiful grounds with lake you can swim in. Staff and owner lovely! Breakfast incl. Evening meal available, good but expensive ( but worth it for the beautiful setting for one night at least). Family suite with 2 bed rooms has little kitchen so good for longer stays and those with special diets / fussy kids. Not cheap but you get what you pay for in life.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelcowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    11
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
82
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dursley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for one night on our way to La Rochelle.
We were made to feel part of the family in this chateau which I beleive only has 5 rooms.
We will never forget our lovely eveing with The Marquis and Jacqueline.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertWelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed one night (19th July 2013 ) en route to Calais for our crossing home.
Chateau Sarceaux is a former hunting lodge/chateau/family home that is a priviledge to be able to visit.
You are welcomed like family friends by the owners ( Jacqueline and Herve) from start to finish.
The rooms are very clean and comfortable with the option of dining in catered by your hosts with other guests, starting with a sundowner and nibbles on the rear terrace overlooking the lake.
real family/stately home atmosphere , complete with friendly dog.
Free wifi,free parking.
Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house overlooking the lake/parkland, there are other rooms in an annexe buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

Not a lot to add to the reviews below except to say that all the superlatives are more than true and we had a great time here and met some lovely folks. If you read these things Bert and Trish, it was a blast!
No higher praise than a return visit and we are booked in again in early September. Just great!

Room Tip: Jaqueline will probably show you them all!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teepees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here on our 1st night on the way to the Loire valley. We were greeted by the owners who were very friendly and hospitable. Our room was spacious, comfortable and very peaceful with good views of the countryside. We booked dinner and had a very good meal with the other guests in a convivial atmosphere. Later Jacqueline entertained us on the piano and we had a jolly fun evening. We would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tottytime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangammarch Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Loir-et-Cher. We were greeted by Herve, who gave us a tour of the house, highlighting family heirlooms and antique furnishings of historical interest. We stayed in La Chambre des Roses, so named because of the beautifully scented climber planted below the window by Herve's mother.

The room was beautifully decorated with silk drapes and satin-covered walls. The bed was extremely comfortable, the shower very powerful and everywhere spotlessly clean.

Herve made us feel like honoured guests in his family home and we were invited to the drawing room for aperitifs at 8pm. These were in the form of a choice of spirits and the ratio of gin to tonic was on the more than generous side. Herve also served a selection of hors d'oeuvres with the aperitifs which were extremely tasty.

I noticed that another reviewer had mentioned the 'Agatha Christie' feeling and certainly one of the other guests during our stay commented that they expected a 'short, Belgian detective to appear at any moment'. You really felt that you were an invited guest, not a paying client.

There were five others dining and we shared one table, emphasizing the 'family guest' feeling. The meal, prepared by Jacqueline, was very good, as was the wine. Breakfast was plentiful and varied.

We didn't have the champagne or the piano entertainment that other reviewers have mentioned, but we did enjoy a unique experience and only wished we could have stayed more than the one night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquarosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel was a real treat.The dinner cooked by Jacqueline was wonderful and the whole experience made us feel like part of a wonderful family. A unique and special experience that we hope we will enjoy again soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valframbert
1.9 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
3.3 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
1.4 mi away
Campanile Alencon
Campanile Alencon
#1 of 3 in Cerise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Property: Chateau de Sarceaux
Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing