We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of France.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de Sarceaux
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Certificate of Excellence
Wells-next-the-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“The best of France.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Marquis and Marquise will make your stay so comfortable adding music and humour. It truly was a highlight of stay in France. Our room was beautifully furnished and spotless. The food was just what was needed and the wine superb. We will be back soon we hope.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellsDeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    12
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
89
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived late one Friday around 7.30 straight from London and rather tired. One glimpse of the fabulous drive and then the chateau soon makes you forget your fatigue. A very warm welcome from Madame and we were shown to a table of 4 or five couples having an aperitif.They were speaking French so thought we wouldn't have much to say but it then transpried they were all English. A barrister, a banker, a homeopath of some kind, the makings of an Agatha Christie movie if ever there was one! A delightful and interesting evening followed having a wonderful dinner at one big table, fabulous and amazing home cooked French cuisine. A memorable and remarkable experience within a beautiful chateau, what more could you want!

Room Tip: overlook the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bootspost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

we want to thank Jacqueline&herve for the great first rate hosting and warm family atmosphere in their chateau. we staid in this beautiful place 3 unforgettable nights.the room was beautiful,comfortable and, clean. we recommend to eat the great diner that jacqueline cooks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobi52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed twice at this family run B&B set in a beautiful family property, and very close to the A28 motorway. It's literally 5 min away from the motorway and it is very quiet!!
Our first experience back in December 2011 was so good that we decided to go back on our Easter break for one night stopover on our way down to Bordeaux.
The welcome was very warm, we saw deers in the private park upon our arrival! It was quite of a sight!
Our room - chambre de l'Etang - was spacious and nicely decorated. We have been upgraded because the room we stayed at before was not heated due to technical problems. It was dealt with very efficiently and we were not cold at all during our stay.
They always offer aperitif (pre dinner drink) with a few nibbles, which is a great way to relax and chat a little. We then had dinner and the food was sumptuous - home cooked too by Jacqueline. We had some soup, followed by duck fillets with Dauphinois potatoes, and vegetables, cheese and tarte tatin baked while we were having the main course. Our daughter had special treats during dinner, but we were not charged for her dinner. Also, the wine was included in the price. Given the quality of the food, and the freshness, it was really good value.
We had a good night sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was also very nice : fresh fruits, breads, croissants, yogurts.
The atmosphere is very friendly, the owners make you feel at home!
I would strongly recommend this place. We would have gladly stayed there again on our way back, but it was fully booked. We stayed somewhere else and we were truly disappointed. (See my review about Chateau de Villiers)

Room Tip: La chambre des Oiseaux has a little separate room at the entrance, where you can put a travel cot, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We spent two very enjoyable, relaxing days in early March, 2013 at Chateaux de Sarceaux. Jacqueline and Herve are wonderful hosts and the hotel is first-rate. Centrally located near the national forest of Ecouves, the chateau is grand looking and most importantly, very comfortable. Great bed, as well as a very clean and modern bathroom with plenty of hot water. It is serene and a lovely change from Paris to see green meadows and early spring buds, as well as grazing stag and deer. Herve introduced us and facilitated our day stag hunting with l'Equipage Kermaingant. Dinner, both evenings was first class- the best meals we had while in France! Jacgueline is a excellent cook and completes the evening with a few tunes on the piano for the guests, while we finished our wine or cognac. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsmithfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manzanita, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We (three) spent two very pleasant days in the Château de Sarceaux and enjoyed our stay. The place is very well-maintained, PLENTY of heat, modern eco windows (double paned and insulated - yes they open), the rooms are spacious and calm, breakfast (which is included in the price and for those not used to the European style, this is worth 15 to 20 Euros) is nice without being fancy, French style. Help yourself cereal and yogurt, pots of coffee and or tea, jams, good bread and croissants, juice, a big cheese to slice, fruit. The hosts are very welcoming and helpful with the organization of your stay. Price for our room quite normal for Europe, we thought it was rather a good value, as we travel a good deal, live here in Paris and Brussels, and look for quality. The dinner was of solid quality with good wine included in the price of 49 EUR per person. Served on family silver, home cooked, PLENTY to eat. Candle lit dining room; first night it was as a house party, three groups of guests, total of eight people, all but two were English native speakers, - still the house and halls were quiet and restful. Fire in the library always (this was December), will go back again, as one other couple was there for their fourth visit, and the other trio were return guests as well, and even brought a bottle of wine as a house present to our host as is the custom here in Europe with friends!
Tea making tray in the bedroom with instant coffee too (this is France NEVER expect a tea tray here my British readers), TV in most bedrooms (but we were well entertained in the library by our host and hostess so we didn't need it,) great location just off the major road and also to the city. Everything was included in the price and I recommend that you ask for your dinner in advance (charge for this).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very easy to find, close to the A28 autoroute. After our long drive from Bordeaux, we received an effusive welcome from Jacqueline. Our two family rooms (party of 8) were in stable/cottage conversions in the grounds, not far from the château. Both suites were individual: one fairly modern with an attic bedroom for 3, a ground floor bathroom, kitchen and living room (with sofa bed). The other was in a former stable and Jacqueline kindly provided a cot for the youngest child.

Even though we had overlooked booking dinner, Jacqueline assured us there was no problem and that a special arrangement was available for the children: the two boys were catered for in the garden along with other guests' children whilst the two girls enjoyed dinner in the kitchen cooked by Hervé. Both our hosts seemed very relaxed as they accommodated our needs at short notice.

Following dinner for the children, they were treated to a Star Wars screening in the château whilst 8 grown ups were served canapés and champagne by Hervé. A splendid, child free dinner followed in the dining room.

During coffee, our expectations of musical entertainment were fulfilled as Jacqueline began, not the classical recital we had anticipated, but a medley of popular songs, the shock of which caused some embarrassment when she tried to encourage us to sing along!

Continental breakfast was served in the dining room: good quality, plenty of choice and nice coffee. A most enjoyable one night stay, comfortable accommodation, very child friendly and a unique experience thanks to the ebullience of our hostess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valframbert
3.0 mi away
Chateau de Saint Paterne
Chateau de Saint Paterne
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paterne
290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
Hotel des Ducs Alencon
#2 of 11 in Alencon
194 reviews
1.6 mi away
ibis Alencon
ibis Alencon
#1 of 11 in Alencon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Alencon
0.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
B&B Hotel Alencon Nord
#3 of 3 in Valframbert
72 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mercure Alencon
Mercure Alencon
#9 of 11 in Alencon
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Sarceaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Sarceaux

Property: Chateau de Sarceaux
Address: rue des Fourneaux at Valframbert | Alençon, 61250 Valframbert, Alencon, France
Location: France > Normandy > Basse-Normandie > Orne > Alencon > Valframbert
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Valframbert
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chateau de Sarceaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Sarceaux France/Valframbert

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing