We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau de Sarceaux
Nearby Hotels
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ibis Alencon(Alencon)
$80
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$97
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Le Hussard(Alencon)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
113
13
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
13
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsdining roomdrawing roomfamily homeevening mealwarm welcomewonderful hostshome cookedbeautiful groundsbottle of winestayed for one nighthouse partypre dinner drinkslovely experiencedinner cookedlong drivewayhost and hostess
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 135 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is like walking back in History - What an amazing place.
Jacqueline met us and showed us to our Room. Which was wonderful, lost of antique furniture and overlooking the lake. She then invited us to have tea outside.
We then met Herve who said he would meet us on the patio at 7pm. We were greeted with a glass of Champagne and Canapés, he introduced to our fellow guests. 2 couples from England and a couple from Holland. After drinks we went into the dinning Room, which was set up with crystal, Silver and bone china. The meal was amazing. Herve and Jacqueline remained with us and we were all soon talking as if we had been friends for life.
After Dinner we retired to the Drawing Room and Jacqueline played the piano, everyone joined in with the singing. It was very late by the time we went to bed.
After a very comfortable sleep we had a good breakfast and said goodbye to all our new friends.
I am sure you will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Epage7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We arrived here to a wonderful welcome from Madame Jacqueline and her husband Herves. Lovely surroundings steeped in history, the accomodation was excellent and very comfortable. We were joined by four other couples for an excellent four course dinner preceded by champagne and canapés . After which Madame played the piano for us in the drawing room. An excellent breakfast brought the whole experience to a delightful end. One not to be missed.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Longacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was determined to find somewhere really nice to spend the last night of our holiday on the way home from the south of France and I certainly succeeded! The Chateau de Sarceaux is all that I could have hoped for and far more. Our hosts were absolutely charming and great fun! They made us feel completely at home in their lovely house. I highly recommend dining there as our dinner was delicious and we then had an excellent night's sleep in our beautifully furnished and extremely comfortable room.

Room Tip: As far as I could see all the rooms looked wonderful!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizaMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

A fabulous stop over, to or from Calais, or great spot for a romantic retreat to discover the area. We discovered Chateau de Sarceaux online the day we stayed by having iPad with us. Herve and Carolyn, the Marquis and Marquise, are charming hosts, providing a warm welcome to their fine ancestral home. Our room, overlooking the park and lake, was beautifully furnished with antiques in traditional country house style. The ensuite bathroom was large, full of fluffy white towels and lovely toiletries.
We chose to take dinner (€49.00 per head including drinks and wines) with two other couples, and Herve served canapes and pre dinner drinks on the rear terrace. Carolyn called us all in for dinner in the elegant candlelit dining room for a four course fixed menu of melon and Palma ham, veal casserole with garlic mushrooms and fresh vegetables, a selection of local cheeses, apple sorbet and Calvados. Seconds were offered before we all retreated to the drawing room for coffee or more drinks, and songs around the piano led by the indomitable Marquise...great fun.

Breakfast was a similarly lavish affair and was included in the room price of €135 for 2 persons which we thought very reasonable, given the quality of our stay.

Room Tip: Worth paying for a room in the main house with views to the front, over the park.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Arrived late in the day to be greeted by the owner of the Chateaux and his wife. Booked for dinner with them and four other guests - excellent value and good food. Comfortable room, very quiet and convenient for A28. Not the cheapest but you get what you pay for.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite which was very comfortable and spacious.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amethyst31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews