We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Maeklong Railway Market (Talad Rom Hub)
from $24.67
More Info
from $32.89
More Info
from $107.96
More Info
from $37.04
More Info
Reviews (1,765)
Filter reviews
1,765 results
Traveler rating
871
636
211
33
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
871
636
211
33
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train passes railway market fruit fish unique experience train arrives stall holders victory monument few minutes be careful mini van take pictures for sale both sides out of the way once in a lifetime stall owners
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,765 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Save yourself from the crowds of tourists flocking here to see this sight. You're better off watching it from the tons of videos in Youtube.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank philipplim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2020

This railway market is unique as we are lucky to see the train coming pass this market. This area sells cheap food, raw meats & fishes, coffee shops, clothing etc. Would recommend to come here to explore and to experience the train coming pass the market and to see how locals sell their shops in the railway area with little space to walk through and how they close the shelter when train is coming.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank AlvinNJQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2020 via mobile

My husband had seen this market on the Discovery Channel and had to see it in person while we were in Bangkok. It was amazing! Largely a fresh food market, and when I say fresh, I really mean it. The meat and fish are freshly cut and prepared right in front of you and the variety of fruit and vegetables is inspiring. We wish we had access to a market like this in Canada. The vendors all pull their wares back from the track 6X per day when the train pulls through - it is really cool to see. Definitely put it on your list!

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020 via mobile

Booked via klook which coupled with the damnoen Saduak floating market. It’s along the way. The train schedule is on time as per schedule. You can stand along the tracks but do be careful as the standing area is quite small to be honest, it is actually quite dangerous. When the train arrives it’s actually right in ur face. Do take note to stand behind the red line on the floor for own safety. Before the train arrived, you will be able to see the market sellers keep their stuff. Overall, the experience is gd if u have not tried before. Definitely worth a visit

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank jamz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

We had a terrible experience during the entire process of going to both the Maeklong Railway Market & Damnoensaduak. We had actually been really looking forward to this trip. When we were collected from our hotel it was a different time to when it had stated on the information on TripAdvisor. We were collected at 7:15am. The driver drove like an absolute lunatic, nearly drove into the back of 3 cars on three separate occasions.

When we were all in the vehicle, all 13 people heard the brief the tour guide gave. We were under the impression we’d just be dropping off two people at a site on the way back from both markets. This was not the case at all. We were rushed at the railway market by our tour guide, we barely got time to look around and had to be back to leave. We then got to the floating market and pressured Into paying extra money on top of the ticket price we’d paid to go on the tour of both markets already. The tour guide kept asking us to pay. We said no. We preferred to walk. On the way home from the “finished tour”. We then were told we’d have to stop at the elephant “sanctuary” where people were riding elephants and tigers were caged in. Out of the 13 people from our bus, 2 had paid extra for this experience and the tour guide made us wait an hour unwillingly. We all wanted to get back home. I will not recommended this company! I am in disbelief at how horrible the service was from both this company (Unique Travel Center LTD) and TripAdvisor because people have previously been unsatisfied.

The price that was paid should certainly not have been acceptable for such poor quality and then the tour guide became increasingly rude as we all started to request to leave. Disgusting! So not go on the tour

Date of experience: January 2020
1  Thank KirstenGoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews