We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Priceline
travelup.com
Booking.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (2,423)
Filter reviews
2,429 results
Traveler rating
1,660
349
203
124
93
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,660
349
203
124
93
Show reviews that mention
All reviews meliton hotel neos marmaras horse riding salt water beach bar breakfast and dinner next year great resort family vacation sandy beach junior suite main restaurant golf course news cafe marina view winery spa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
89 - 94 of 2,429 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Last year we were in Sithonia Grand Resort and that was a terrible experience - 0 points!
Melliton is cosy, luxury hotel, perfect for families.
We have chosen golf view which was an excellent choice because of a North orientation, so we enjoyed our terrace to the maximum.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank Marija P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Carras Grand Resort, Άλλο at Porto Carras Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2020

Dear Marija P,

I would like to proudly announce the reopening of Porto Carras Grand Resort, April 29th 2021,under new management and new ownership. Since April 2020, as a proud member of Belterra Investments, Porto Carras Grand Resort’s mission is to provide luxury, care, comfort and safety to all guests accommodated in the resort. The new management philosophy and culture aims at providing a unique personalized holiday experience and memories of exceptional quality. Top priority is our guest's satisfaction only.

I will be delighted to welcome you in person back again to our resort and "Feel the New Porto Carras Experience" and for many more memorable stays. Contact me at the hotel to share with you our vision and plans. Have a beautiful day.

Kostas Plaskasovitis,
Hotel Manager
Porto Carras Grand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2019

An unforgettable holiday at the hotel Meliton Porto Carras, excellent service and very polite staff. Our gratitude is extended to Ms Athina Ioannou for her professionalism kindness and warm friendly smile that greeted us every day and for her recommendations regarding our different tours . A special warm thanks goes to George, the manager of the VIP beach/lounges. A perfect stay, highly recommended

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Carras Grand Resort, Άλλο at Porto Carras Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2020

Dear MPAGPA,

I would like to proudly announce the reopening of Porto Carras Grand Resort, April 29th 2021,under new management and new ownership. Since April 2020, as a proud member of Belterra Investments, Porto Carras Grand Resort’s mission is to provide luxury, care, comfort and safety to all guests accommodated in the resort. The new management philosophy and culture aims at providing a unique personalized holiday experience and memories of exceptional quality. Top priority is our guest's satisfaction only.

I will be delighted to welcome you in person back again to our resort and "Feel the New Porto Carras Experience" and for many more memorable stays. Contact me at the hotel to share with you our vision and plans. Have a beautiful day.

Kostas Plaskasovitis,
Hotel Manager
Porto Carras Grand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019 via mobile

As a family we had always wanted to go to Porto Carras for a holiday and when we saw that rooms were available we decided to book for 5 days. The online booking was smooth and Mr Ioannou answered all our questions very efficiently and promptly, as one would expect from a 5 star hotel. When we arrived at the hotel, we realised there was no valet service. We unloaded the car and then had to go and find parking ourselves. This should not be the case in a 5-star hotel. The gentleman who took our luggage was very friendly but the receptionist was not. There was hardly a smile. No ‘how was you journey here’ , ‘thank you for choosing our hotel’. No one escorted us to our room and it was the man who brought our luggage who explained a couple of things after I asked him.
The room was lovely, with a wonderful view of the marina. It is spacious for a family with a child and the balcony is a nice place to sit at and look at the sea and the boats coming in and out.
The hotel, many years ago, used to have all its corridors paved with beautiful local slate stones. These have now been covered by an awful carpet, that smells and has a dark colour ( red or green) that makes the corridors of the hotel look cheap rather than luxurious.

The decorative lights in the main stairs of the hotel were very very dusty, had probably not been cleaned or dusted since the beginning of the Summer season.

There is no turn-down service, unlike 5 star hotels.

The food at the buffet, either in the morning or the evening, was nothing exceptional. Huge quantities of food produced but nothing of really good taste or quality. The exception was the pizza, which was made there and then every evening and it was very tasty with a thin, crisp base.

At breakfast you got some filter coffee like the one you get served on the plane. If you wanted a cappuccino or espresso, you had to pay. Unacceptable for a luxury hotel.

The waiting staff at the restaurant were generally attentive and polite, with a smile and would engage in friendly conversations with guests, which was nice. Most of them were Greek but some were other nationalities and did not speak any Greek.

Some of staff behind the buffet, who cooked the food, often looked completely overworked, with blank stares, and like they hated working there.

The beach is lovely, very big and with clear water. It is one of the best beaches in the area and in late August there were quite a few sun loungers free. However, Meliton has a VIP beach section which is completely unheard of as a notion for a 5-star hotel. In a 5-star hotel everyone should be made to feel like a VIP and the person who pays for a two-bedroom room or the presidential suite must have the same treatment. I have been to many 5-star hotels in Greece and abroad and I have never seen a section of the beach to be unavailable to customers who don’t pay for the big suites!

The spa was nothing special and even as a paying guest of the hotel you had to pay to use it. I paid 25 euro and I could use the spa only for 2 hours and only one pool; not the other pools or the sauna or steam room. Really? Not worth it. The spa was empty, no wonder.

The marina is lovely and our child enjoyed going to the open air cinema in the evening. However, the cinema is just beside a bar and shops, so you watch the film with the background music of the bar. The projector was not adjusted properly to the screen so about a fifth of the top of the image was not visible and a lot of the bottom of the screen was empty. When I pointed that out to the people who run the cinema they said it could not be fixed.

In Porto Carras you need to have cash, because many services within the resort are separate to it. We needed cash to buy ice-creams or rent a pedalo or if you have a drink at one of the marina restaurants. This is inconvenient because in 5-star resorts, when you stay there, you can just sign for everything and do not have to carry cash.

On the day of our departure, when we checked out, the last at the reception ( Marianna) did not smile to me once. She was doing her work quite robotically and do not ask me ‘how was your stay?’, ‘we hope to see you again’, ‘ thank you for staying at our hotel’. Nothing. I was shocked. This is basic! Of course there was no offer to help with our luggage which we carried ourselves to the car park. Big disappointment.

If Porto Carras did have attentive and polite staff, I think we would not have minded the lack of cleanliness, the smell in the corridors and the mediocre food. But the fact that apart from some restaurant waiting staff the rest were impolite or uninterested (at best) left a real sour taste in our mouths. Maybe they do not get paid much, I do not know, but even paradise would not be a good place to be if people there were all disgruntled.

Porto Carras is a huge resort with huge potential. It is in a beautiful, paradise-like setting, with azure waters, gold sandy beaches, pine trees and olive trees. It would be such a shame if it continues to drop in quality. Since it is so vast, a lot of money is needed to maintain it and an eye for detail to keep it in shape.Mr Carras, who built it 50 years ago had a real vision and this now is in danger of being lost. The buildings, inside and outside need renovation and the staff need training about how to be polite, smiling and attentive at all times and to any guest.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
4  Thank ailLondon15
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Carras Grand Resort, Άλλο at Porto Carras Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2020

Dear aliLondon15,

I would like to proudly announce the reopening of Porto Carras Grand Resort, April 29th 2021,under new management and new ownership. Since April 2020, as a proud member of Belterra Investments, Porto Carras Grand Resort’s mission is to provide luxury, care, comfort and safety to all guests accommodated in the resort. The new management philosophy and culture aims at providing a unique personalized holiday experience and memories of exceptional quality. Top priority is our guest's satisfaction only.

I will be delighted to welcome you in person back again to our resort and "Feel the New Porto Carras Experience" and for many more memorable stays. Contact me at the hotel to share with you our vision and plans. Have a beautiful day.

Kostas Plaskasovitis,
Hotel Manager
Porto Carras Grand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

at best 3 stars - terrible service
big groups of low class all inclusive clients
food was crap (even the club sandwich was bad), rooms average, staff untrained
beachfront nice but not clean enough
spa unclean and below average

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank fivos-kalaitzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Carras Grand Resort, Άλλο at Porto Carras Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2020

Dear fivos-kalaitzis,

I would like to proudly announce the reopening of Porto Carras Grand Resort, April 29th 2021, under new management and new ownership. Since April 2020, as a proud member of Belterra Investments, Porto Carras Grand Resort’s mission is to provide luxury, care, comfort and safety to all guests accommodated in the resort. The new management philosophy and culture aims at providing a unique personalized holiday experience and memories of exceptional quality. Top priority is our guest's satisfaction only.

I will be delighted to welcome you in person back to our resort and "Feel the New Porto Carras Experience" and for many more memorable stays. Contact me at the hotel to share with your our vision and plans. Have a beautiful day.

Kostas Plaskasovitis,
Hotel Manager
Porto Carras Grand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2019

The hotel was very clean. The staff was very helpful. The food was excellent and all the services provided were great. The room was very comfortable for a family with two kids. The superb location and the excellent facilities make Porto Carras the best choice in Chalkidiki.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Δημοσθένης Ε
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Carras Grand Resort, Άλλο at Porto Carras Grand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2020

Dear devangelinos,

I would like to proudly announce the reopening of Porto Carras Grand Resort, April 29th 2021,under new management and new ownership. Since April 2020, as a proud member of Belterra Investments, Porto Carras Grand Resort’s mission is to provide luxury, care, comfort and safety to all guests accommodated in the resort. The new management philosophy and culture aims at providing a unique personalized holiday experience and memories of exceptional quality. Top priority is our guest's satisfaction only.

I will be delighted to welcome you in person back again to our resort and "Feel the New Porto Carras Experience" and for many more memorable stays. Contact me at the hotel to share with you our vision and plans. Have a beautiful day.

Kostas Plaskasovitis,
Hotel Manager
Porto Carras Grand Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews