We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing desert scenery and experience”
other travelers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
127 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 127 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
Rebecca L
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
“Amazing desert scenery and experience”
Reviewed January 8, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Saleh, Alia, their children and extended family make Wadi Rum an experience never to forget. Their warm welcoming nature and enthusiasm to show you the best Wadi rum has to offer I'm sure would not be surpassed. Their business lived up to all of the glowing reviews. During our day and a half there was something for everyone in our family, from beautiful views and astounding natural forms for the photographer, to sand dune bashing, sand boarding and scrambling up natural rock bridges for our adrenaline junkies, delicious food and a beautiful sunset for me and cute goats and camels to pet for the animal lovers. The accommodation was basic but authentic, comfortable and warm (considering it reached almost 0 degrees overnight). Alia cooked food for everyone and entertained with traditional drum playing early in the evening before the babies in the camp went to sleep. The following morning we decided we wanted more so Musa our witty tour guide and Saleh's nephew took us further to a large canyon hike and we climbed/sand boarded the largest sand dune we've ever seen. 10/10 Thank you so much for an amazing stay and experience Saleh, Alia and your gorgeous generous family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsisa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Desert tour and dinner with Saleh”
Reviewed January 2, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We had superb time with Saleh who showed us various places in the Wadi Rum. We also had dinner in his camp with other tourists. The dinner was cooked by his wife Alia and was very delicious. We found Saleh very hospitable, accommodating, knowledgeable about the place and cooperative. We were family of seven and had an amazing time. We definitely recommend this tour with Saleh.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
9martined
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The family Mosa is bedouin hospitality”
Reviewed November 13, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

the food is delicious;happily, the camp is authentic and no VIP; Saleh is very dedicated;
the price/quality ratio is excellent. We saw all the wonders of desert; we had a family evening and diner and it was lovely.
But we are seventy old and the bed are a little hard and the toilets are far from the tent ,during the night:11°C in november

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: hospitality
Liked least: bedding and mattresses
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shellbewr...
Taggerty, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful - people, place and experience”
Reviewed November 10, 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Hospitality extraordinaire! I enjoyed every moment from sunrise to sunset through to star gazing in the middle of the night. The peace of the desert, walking for hours in silence in the most beautiful setting. A jeep tour of the protected area and finally a camel ride from the camp back to the village when leaving. Vegetarian, Alia prepared the most delicious food for me and she and Saleh are truly authentic hosts - hardworking for their guests. The family atmosphere, no stress, no pressure and good company. I did not know what to expect - but, if I get the chance, I shall be going back - only three nights and nearly four days.

Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin K
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unique Experience”
Reviewed October 5, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Saleh is very friendly host and he is doing a lot of effort to make his guests feel comfortable in his camp.
Because of a sandstorm we arrived very late. Saleh and his wife still prepared a lovely dinner for us and warmly welcomed us. During the day we had been shown around the beautiful Wadi Rum desert with its unique landmarks. Mostly it was not too crowded of tourists.
The camp itself is equipped with electricity, hot water in the showers and western style toilets.
Also I did not had been a problem for Saleh to return us early morning back to our car to continue our trip. Saleh even supported us a lot to get back our lost luggage from our previous flight.

Thanks again for everything Saleh!

How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hospitality of the host Saleh and his wife; the location of the camp
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H
2 reviews
“Excellent Experience with Saleh and his Family!”
Reviewed October 2, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having been to Wadi Rum I decided to take two friends with my on a recent trip to Jordan to share this unbelievable experience. Saleh and his family were very hospitable, accommodating and provided an excellent experience! We were in Jordan on business and booked last minute with Saleh, who did his very best to accommodate us and not make us feel rushed. His nephew took us around, showed us Wadi Rum and made sure that we experience the most that we could in our short amount of time. Before we left his wife cooked a delicious meal. She even separated the meat from the main dish because one in the group was a vegetarian. You don't find hospitality like that in many tourist places. Excellent experience with an excellent family....a must-do while in Jordan!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeonardRO...
Satu Mare, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a dream come true”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

For an once in a lifetime experience inside a true bedouin family, look no further! There are many camp sites in Wadi Rum, but I knew what I wanted.. to sense that magical feeling in the desert, to sleep under the stars and get a glimpse of how the locals live. I got more !
Saleh and Alia welcomed us in their family and for a moment I felt like a part of it.. They do know how to make you comfortable and what you get is the real experience. The camp is nice, the food was really great (with traditional food cooked by Alia - his wife) and yes.. you have even a bathroom with shower in the desert !
You can walk outside the camp and wander on your own for an outstanding sunset.
The jeep ride in the desert was full of fun and enjoyment whether you go with Saleh or his brother.. we felt secure and we saw more than we were thinking.. you just have to experience it.. it was my dream... and they helped it make it true.. thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing