We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“wonderful place to be with great hospitality”
other travelers have booked this property
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
189 reviews
Saleh's Safari Camp, in the heart of Wadi Rum, at the foot of Jebel Khazali, wadirumtous start here!
in the heart of the Wadi Rum protected area
family meals, outdoors, round the camp-fire
trekking and camel-riding are easy options from the camp
the setting is as natural and tranquil and protected as you can imagine
the bedouin symbol of hospitality is the coffee pot
We have just (late 2013) installed new showers and wash basins, at the desert camp
Wadi Rum is famous for its spectacular rock bridges
there's 4x4 transport from the camp in Rum village to the camp in the heart of the desert
Lawrence's spring where he washed and rested after the capture of Aqaba
And we're keen to introduce new ideas, when they can blend in without doing damage!!
Saleh Musa, his wife and family run the bedouin tent like a special guest house, plus they run tours
to the south of Rum, on the Saudi border is Jordan's highest mountain
preparing for a day's safari -- safe adventure for all ages
we have developed a unique 'behind the veil' tour for women only, to learn bedouin skills
a branch of the Hijaz railway runs close to Wadi Rum, cutting through virgin desert
climb up then roll down the blood orange sand-dunes of Rum
ancient inscriptions in many caves and canyons, believed to date from the Nabateans who build Petra
imagine waking up to this view
or settling down to sleep after the perfect, peaceful sunset
and, most important!!, two new, European-style loo/WC/toilet/lavatory, in a nearby stone building
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Wadi Rum Village, Wadi Rum, Al Aqabah Governorate

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 189 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Polish first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
E8674KSmi...
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“wonderful place to be with great hospitality”
Reviewed May 5, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

It was a great pleasure für us to spend two night in Saleh's Camp. In this time we meet the whole family und were overwhelmed of the great hospitality and furthermore the cooking skills of Saleh's wife Alia. Breakfast and dinner, when dreams come true. A jeep-tour through the desert was included and there we had all the time to know the desert. Thank you very much for this special experience. We absolutely recommend this camp and were so lucky to stay there.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin B
Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
“A special time, in a special place, with special a tour guide and his family”
Reviewed April 22, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Saleh and his wife were fabulous hosts. The tour was excellent, and the food was delicious. The amenities were really good.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hosts great attitudes, the tour and the food.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeHusba...
Cusco
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saleh and his family are gracious hosts!”
Reviewed January 28, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

My wife and I could only stay with Saleh and his family for an afternoon because we were in Jordan for a short time, just 5 days, and we planned on driving to the Dead Sea after a 3 hour tour of Wadi Rum and lunch at Saleh's home in Rum. Before we even left for Jordan, Saleh sent me a WhatsApp message to introduce himself and to welcome my wife and I to Jordan. He made us excited, as his profile photo shows how beautiful Wadi Rum is.

Finding Saleh was easy, as he was available via mobile, and he waited for us at the entrance to the Wadi Rum protected area. He had a big smile and was genuinely welcoming. We got in our car and followed his truck. Along with Saleh was a Scotish man, who had stayed with him as a guest in the past, and who enjoyed himself so much that he returned once more, as a friend. That's it in a nutshell. Be prepared, Saleh and his family will make you want to return, they are such friendly hosts and interesting people.

Even though we were a bit late driving down from Petra, he was kind and flexible with our tour's start time and was honest about all we could fill in, asking for our preferences and giving us advice on what would be best to see in such a short tour.

After a short, scenic drive, my wife and I arrived at their home in Rum, met Atiyek, Saleh's brother, and we were off. Atiyek is funny, energetic, friendly, earnest, and a great guide. He also has great tips for good photographs. He and the family's Scotish friend drove us around Wadi Rum, we got excellent photographs, went sand boarding, climbed a few hill sides, saw ancient writing on rocks and a possible makeshift home of TE Lawrence and got to play with camels. We had a great time.

Alia, Saleh's wife, and Khadra, his mother, prepared a delicious home cooked meal, and we had a pleasant conversation. It made us wish we could stay the night at their camp in the wadi. Hopefully we will get to some day!!!

Date of stay: January 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NicolienZ
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet desert joy”
Reviewed January 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stay with Saleh Musa and his wife Alia, both excellend hosts. Different from other camps is that Wadi Rum Tours offers sustainable tourism run by locals from Wadi Rum. Location is great, suitable for some day tours hiking.
We had the pleasure to be hiking with Saleh's brother Ateeq: an unique guide, such a remarkable character with a enormous love for his desert. A joy to stay in the camp of Wadi Rum Tours.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beauty of the desert and deseert guide Ateeq
Liked least: Cold water in winter (it's so easy to equip bathroom facilities with solare heaters)
Traveling group: Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed January 7, 2015 for a stay in November 2014

Date of stay: November 2014
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
silviacsb
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Atiiik the desert man!”
Reviewed January 5, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We were welcomed by Saleh at the visitor centre at the scheduled time. He took us to his house and explained the tour over a cup of tea. After enjoying Alia's, Saleh's wife, delicious cooking we met Saleh's older brother Mr Atik the desert man. Atik gave us a great tour of the wadi rum while cracking jokes and driving like a mad man through the desert. He knows every corner of wadi rum. He is also an amazing photographer and really enjoys taking pictures of us while we climb beautiful rocks and pose with the amazing landscape on the backdrop. He is happy to take you sandboarding if you are able to climb the sand dunes. The camp is facing the sunset and is equiped to provide you an authentic beduin experience while being also confortable. After the fun desert trip we had an amazing traditional beduin meal cooked by Alia, probably the best cook in jordan. After dinner we had a great time listening to Atik crazy stories around the bonfire while smoking shisha. We said goodbye to wadi rum with a nice camel ride kindly arranged by Saleh. Overall we would recommed this experience to all kind of travellers and group sizes. We are sure Saleh and his family will welcome you and be able to adapt to your needs.

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominik E
1 review
“Great tour with excellent service”
Reviewed December 7, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We only had 1,5 days for the Wadi Rum area and taking the trip with Saleh was an excellent choice. Booking went quick and easy via email and he also organized a taxi pick-up from Aquaba and further on to Petra. The jeep tour was fun with lots of time to go for climbs or walks. We drove with Salehs nephew who was always up for a joke and had good advice on fun motifs for taking pictures. We stayed one night in the - very comfortable - camp and very much enjoyed the dinner prepared by Saleh's wife Alia.
Looking forward to going back some day!

Date of stay: November 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: great silence at night
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing