We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Sulphur & collagen beach that makes your skin smooth & muscle pain disappears

This beach looks stunning on arrival (see pic), noticeably the water is a milky or cloudy colour... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
BarbieMegaTraveller
,
Sydney, Australia
Beautiful but small

Passed here today for hour or so. Off season so empty with exception couple photographers. Imagine... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
kingsley p
,
Sheffield, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 912 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Koroni
from $32.60
More Info
from $35.20
More Info
from $41.60
More Info
Reviews (912)
Filter reviews
310 results
Traveler rating
176
99
24
6
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
99
24
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rotten eggs natural spa steep steps sulphur springs eggy smell healing properties quick dip the cliff unique experience swim shoes hired a car park your car your feet small pebbles blue water snack bar nefis travel
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 310 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This beach looks stunning on arrival (see pic), noticeably the water is a milky or cloudy colour which is the sulphur and collagen in the water. You don't notice these things in the water but the cloudy colour makes it difficult to see the boulders in the water so be careful with your feet, take small steps and feel around otherwise you could break your foot smashing into a giant submerged boulder.

The beach is small pebbles so you'll need beach shoes to swim comfortably but the experience is well worth it - absolutely loved it. The water is colder than other parts of Zakynthos but you get used to the temperature fairly quickly, then suddenly a burst of really cold water will go past you lasting just a minute, then it's warmer again. Very strange but all part of the fun.

The day before swimming here I tripped while hiking and the muscles in my legs were painful. It is a very steep walk down to the beach and I was limping at the time, but 30 minutes swimming and I came out with no pain whatsoever!! So, I was sceptical going in but the sulphuric waters truly did help me.

There's a small shop at the top of the hill before you walk down to the beach, where you can sit and watch the views but be warned the shop is expensive. The sulphuric waters can feel drying so you'll likely need water or a drink of some type after you finish swimming so the shop is handy.

Thank BarbieMegaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Passed here today for hour or so. Off season so empty with exception couple photographers. Imagine in season be overwhelming. If you have mobility issues this is not for you due to the VERY steep and deep steps/hills leading down to the beach area. Sea is beautiful and blue. Worth a visit. Could do with clean up lots of litter around.

Thank kingsley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Xygia beach looked small but in October some days it was just two of us there. It gave us feel like very special experience. Next to it is little xygia beach which looks like paradise beach. Again in October water is still warm and weather is nice some days it was 25 Celsius. I recommend holidays in October.

1  Thank agnieszka102018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2018

try to go early, this beach is tiny and fills up fast. there is a free limited parking area, if full, than park on the street. bring footwear, the beach is all pebbles. the water is milky in color and has warm (not hot) and cold area's. while in the water you will be nipped by little crabs, it doesn't hurt

Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2018 via mobile

Stunning beach and perfect for a nice swim. The sulphur smell isn't that noticeable and you are quite sheltered once you are down on the beach. Not suitable for children, elderly or disabled people due to the steep stairs.

Thank Hannah V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2018 via mobile

Beautifull small beach, one of the great atractions of the island. We went snorkeling and it was absolutely lovely. The smell was not that bad as everyone says, it was ignorable after a few minutes.

Thank Andrei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2018 via mobile

Hired a car from Laganas and took the trip to the much talked about sulphur beach.. had heard was a drink of rotten eggs but had collagen in the water and was good for the skin.. with sunburn we had to give it a go.. Car park was full so we parked on the road and took the walk down the steep steps to the people beach.. you need diving/sea shoes for this beach don't attempt in flip flops..
You can smell the 'rotten eggs but it's bearable.. great experience in the water.. little bits of collagen floating about in the sea.. hot and cold pockets of water.. don't enter with silver jewellery as it turns black with the sulphur almost immediately..
beautiful beach .. sunbeds are 4 EUR each but worth it if you can get one as it gets busy.. well worth a visit just watch out if you're lying on the sand in the shallows .. those little black crabs like to nip!

1  Thank JulesnlesB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2018 via mobile

I don't give five points just because I wish someone had told me how painful it is to walk on pebbles but the water is amazing, it's color is stunning and the sulphur water is weirdly funny, hot and freezing at the same time.

Thank martinaf953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

We came to this beach as an hours stop off with Nefis Travel when we did the shipwreck and blue caves. You can smell the sulphur from just driving up the the road. It was absolutely packed and the steps to walk down are really really steep. When we got on the beach, it wasn’t sand it was hard stones that you really couldn’t walk on. Swim shoes is a must really. There was no where to sunbathe as it was that busy. The sea is an amazing colour and supposed to have healing properties. It went from warm pockets to freezing cold pockets in the sea. Some lovely caves to explore. We just had to get off the beach as it was just unbearable under foot. The locals did look at us all strangely! Wouldn’t go again but worth seeing and swimming in it the once.

Thank Holiday1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018

Parking is along the road side as the car park is closed.
Access is down a number of steep steps.
The beach is quite small but the water is what people are visiting for.
Natural spring water flows into the sea here filling it with collagen and sulphur – apparently great for your health! The taverna at the top supplies refreshments if you need a little more.
A popular location.

Thank pirried
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews