We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Talari Mountain Lodge
Nearby Hotels
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
$72
$63
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$499
$374
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Hotel Zima(San Isidro del General)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel del Sur(San Isidro del General)
$59
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savegre Hotel, Natural Reserve & Spa(San Gerardo de Dota)(Great Value!)
$57
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Dantica Cloud Forest Lodge(San Gerardo de Dota)
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
20
21
6
3
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
21
6
3
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverhot watercosta ricamountain lodgethe ownerbird watchinggreat foodrestaurant areapotatoestoastswimming poolthree course mealjuiceopen airbeautiful birdscarlosmeals
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 54 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2011

Off the road and very nice, this was an unexpected treat. We had it to ourselves late Nov.. liked the big rooms and fridge! We saw an armadillo trotting around at sunset... and of course, tons of birds, as all have mentioned. We were not impressed with the sheets on the beds, but otherwise, everyone was friendly and accomodating, we had a great quiet sleep. The grounds are spectacular and feel safe.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Lots of birds nearby so you could spend your entire day here looking and watching birds. There are a good two miles of trails through the local forest and by the river at the bottom of the hotel reserve. The owner is very friendly and is currently building a tennis court at the top of the hill. The shower is solar powered so environmentally friendly, but this doesnt equate to comfort if there is no sun! This applies to the jacuzzi and pool as well. Well worth a visit even still as the spot is beautiful and the experience was positive.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We stayed only a day at Talari Lodge. Recommended to us by a Costa Rican friend, for nature lovers, birders, and bird photographers this place is amazing. I wish we had stayed longer.

The place is a bit rustic, compared to its neighboring lodges (such as the esteemed Savegre Lodge in the mountains). But the birds are a WOW. The place is family run, very reasonably priced, and proved to be a hit with my teenage daughter and my wife (as well as myself). Erika, the hotel manager, used to be a restaurant-er and the food served shows her skills. The owners have several bird feeders and we immediately went ooh and aah when we saw the colorful birds on this property.

If you are a nature-lover spend a few days at this lovely place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashok K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

This was a great spot for bird watching. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. The staff was friendly and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAIT89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews