We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Punta Tombo
from $105.74
More Info
from $111.68
More Info
from $152.41
More Info
Reviews (2,178)
Filter reviews
2,178 results
Traveler rating
1,637
453
70
10
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,637
453
70
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto madryn long drive magellanic penguins the reserve their natural habitat gravel road hour drive cruise ship rented a car national park tour company walking path south american cruise amazing place parking lot protected area penguins walking
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
271 - 276 of 2,178 reviews
Reviewed February 19, 2012

If you do not have a car, rent one, the experience is worth it, and the cost is about the same if you take a bus or excursion to here. The best thing about renting a car is you are free to follow your own agenda stop along the way to see other things. We saw a wild horse stopped on the side of RN 3 he was standing near a watering hole, just watching cars go by. We drove to the penguins, took our time, viewed the history of the area, and watched penguins, taking magnificant photos and gazing in awe. On the way back we saw one of the most beautiful sunsets ever. Do this on your own pace and really enojy it, it only cost about 12 pesos if you dont speak spanish well, and they think your a foreigner they charge you double, no worries its worth it!

Date of experience: January 2012
2  Thank DoThe R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

It is well established here that if you want to see penguins, and plenty of them, go to Punta Tombo. The questions then is how. There are many local tour operators. We used Whales Patagonia to get there. Ahead of time I arranged for a private car, with an English speaking driver or driver and English speaking guide. We were picked up at the cruise dock and were on the road to Punta Tombo before the buses were loaded. Whales Patagonia provided a comfortable car, very good driver, and friendly English speaking fellow who was not experienced as a guide to the penguin colony but who turned out to be very good and informative. Both the driver and guide were friendly and courteous.

Whales Patagonia was easy to do business with, and for two passengers less expensive than the shore excursions offered by our cruise line. I highly recommend them for a private car to Punta Tombo.
e-mail info@whalespatagonia.com.ar
http://www.whalespatagoniatour.com.ar/

Date of experience: February 2012
13  Thank SoutthfieldRomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

the drive was long the car was not so good but the place was nice it was too hot but we knew it perfect guide in general worth while visiting

Date of experience: February 2012
1  Thank relly israel n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2012

Facilities are good by water availability is spotty. No mind -- strolling through the penguin colony is a hoot!

Date of experience: February 2012
1  Thank Nail56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Imagine seeing pinguins everywheree?....so just go there!

Date of experience: November 2011
1  Thank Gaia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews