We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thalori Traditional Village
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Keramos(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$49
$42
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Idi Hotel(Zaros)(Great Value!)
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Neos Matala(Matala)(Great Value!)
$48
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexander Beach Hotel(Kalamaki)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
102
28
6
4
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
28
6
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity pooloriginal cretanoverlooking the mountainsguest housemarcosmysticalsearetreatcreteagio
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 144 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have just returned from a 15 day stay here. I found the hospitality of everyone in the place to be exceptional. Perhaps if a previous reviewer had spent a little time to find out people's names and attempted a little Greek she would have had a different experience. The two waiters are called Yannis and Costas and often played numerous instruments along with the owner Markos.Both of these waiters were extremely good and kind with me and we had many laughs together. The father of Markos is named Michalis. The wife of Markos is named Poppi, and she spends the week days in Heraklion because her young children are at school there. She is a wonderful lady and speaks very good English. The place is in Crete so don't expect everyone to speak English or French. The properties are of a very high standard with enough equipment to make light meals, not fully self catering for major cooking. They have a very reasonable restaurant for this. The restaurant is also a gathering centre in the evening for all guests to chat and mix, if so inclined. Many nights (and days) the Mandolin can be heard as one or more of the staff play and sing. A true Cretan experience. The food there is all purchased locally, also the wine and Raki.
On one occasion the cook even went to her own garden to get me some fresh green beans.
The food is amazing, with the rack of lamb cooked at an open fire. The views down to the Libyan sea through the gorge are spectacular. I am in agreement with an earlier reviewer who didn't really want to review the place, but keep it secret. However I felt compelled to write something after the last review. There is no need to eat lamb every day, there is a large menu and many foods not on the menu. I was asked every day if there was anything I particularly wanted the following day, the chef always obliged. I am an experienced world traveller and this place is definately something different, just make an effort to join in and you will have an amazing time.
The peace and tranquillity during the day, the fun at night makes this a special place.
I will definately be back. Markos and Poppi, and all the staff, I can't thank you all enough for an amazing holiday, your kindness and generosity will never be forgotten. Next time can I have some early nights please.

Room Tip: All are good, only some have a better view than others, you get what you pay for.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pethal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We went to stay in September. The weather was great, not too hot. The wind blew strongly at times, keeping the temperature down. The new swimming pool added a beautiful touch. The water temperature was closer to 10° than to 20°. It seems a great spot to go walking from.
There are three people who speak English. An elderly gentleman who was welcoming. He is perhaps the father of the owner (whose name I know from reading Lorenzo's review) who was proud to show his estate, but not too interested in whether we were enjoying ourselves. There was TweedleDee and TweedleDun who showed us the list for breakfast or lunch or dinner and hardly smiled. One of them played the guitar wonderfully in the afternoon for himself. The person with the charm is the owner's wife, but unfortunately we didn't see enough of her and she doesn't seem to be able to teach the others how to smile or greet people. We had lamb four times in five days, and we left after five days for warmer hospitality and better food elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace away from the wind. It really blows hard sometimes.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent location with unique view to Kofinas mountain.. the sacred mount top.. well organised excursions by the hotel to various points of interest either on foot or by jeep. Good and healthy food consisting of local products, warm and hospitable service.

Room Tip: Accommodation in restored stone houses, all nice!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

During my recent visit to Crete and staying at Residence Mourtzanakis, one evening a friend of my host Makos Skordalakis dropped by for dinner. A charming individual in his mid thirties and a real Cretan, could have been a character from one of stories of the famous Cretan writer Kazanzakis. Markos tall with long flowing black hair and a matching well trimmed beard is a true idealist and his penetrating dark brown eyes sizes you up as he speaks enthusiastically about his island and the touristic complex he owns in the south of the island. It did not take me long to accept his kind invitation and to get to know the different and truly unspoiled Crete.
The next afternoon Markos came to pick me up and in his 4x4 jeep and we departed for Kapetaniana some 65 kilometers south of the island. The drive was extremely varied and after leaving the urban area of Heraklion we were soon passing through the green and fertile plains of Mesara. It was now late afternoon and the twisty windy road began to climb, in fact we were going to pass the mountains of Kofina 900 metres. Markos suggested that we stopped for a glass of raki at the village of Paranifi (Brides’maid). Here he was known to the whole community and we sat down in a very typical small Cretan café unchanged in over 60 years. Here there were about 8/10 old men average age over 75 with impressive grey moustaches dressed in traditional Cretan dress complete with boots and carved walking sticks, a scene truly belonging to the early twentieth century. After a few rakis (local distilled ouzo) we were on our way to our destination Thalori in Kapitaniana.
Markos’s complex consists of a collection of approximately 30 beautiful stone built houses within a natural wall built into the rock. Each guest house has on the ground floor a spacious sitting room and bathroom all simply but very artistically decorated, reminding one somewhat of a chalet in the Swiss alps, and above in the loft is the bedroom charming old metal beds with very comfortable mattresses, the bed counterpanes are hand- made, with traditional old Cretan designs and wonderful soft but bright colors. From your guest house for both dinner and breakfast you proceed to the main restaurant, which below has a large terrace with
tables overlooking the cliffs below leading down to the sea by narrow pathways. Ideal for trekkers as it is about a 7 kilometer walk down to Aghios Ioannis, a small monastery (uninhabited) carved into the rocks overhanging the sea. In this location there are two restaurants suitable for light lunches, since dinner at Thalori is an important event, consisting of many appetizers fresh vegetables and salads all homegrown, most of the main dishes are meat orientated and not to be missed is the most exquisite baby lamb cooked on the log fire with plenty of local wine or Raki to accompany your meal. There are also fish dishes freshly delivered by the local fishermen. Guests enjoy a truly royal breakfast with freshly squeezed orange juice from the garden trees bread just out of the oven from the bakery, home- made butter, jams, and honey and a great selection of blended herbal mountain teas. Indeed in Thalori you live outside reality and be sure that it takes a little time to get re accustomed to the hustle and bustle of Heraklion in preparation for your return journey home. A truly unique experience NOT to be missed. Certainly Thalori could be considered as one of the 50 places in the world to visit during ones’ life.
Lorenzo Argenti Guest at Thalori June 2012.
Former journalist and owner of Villa Argentikon Chios.
One of the hundred best accommodations in the world selected by Harpers & Queen , London 1992

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lorenzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

Visiting Crete we decided to see beautiful place Thalori in Kapetaniana. Time did not allow us to make a trip, it was raining but the atmosphere was excellent. If you want to stop the breath out of sight, if you want homemade Cretan cuisine then this is the right place for you. Do not expect high quality service and expert knowledge of English but be sure you'll enjoy the atmosphere and the view with very good food. We will come back :)

Room Tip: Not beside a kitchen
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7elpida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews