We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Joyo Island
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
105
11
1
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
105
11
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island dinner on the beach robinson crusoe experience cannot recommend highly enough whole team absolute highlight indonesian cooking quiet island hermit crabs table tennis to celebrate my husband's birthday desert island amazing weekend rooms are huge perfect holiday every evening paddle boarding
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 22, 2015

Pulau Joyo doesn't wow you like a 6-star resort. Nothing there is fancy. But it is a very impressive place. The staff are excellent. The food is very good, and they cater to your requests, such as for vegan food. The rooms are huge and the beds are comfy. They really seem to have thought things through. For instance, they have rubber boots in many sizes so that people can walk in the sea, despite the stones, etc. on the sea bed. My only disappointment was that the swimming wasn't great because the water level was low; plus, there were some jellyfish. I swam nonetheless. They also have other activities, such as kayaking and ping pong. I really want to go back.

Room tip: the room wifi wasn't good, but it worked fine near the pool
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank George J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Dear GeorgeMJacobs,

Thanks for your review. great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am sorry to hear that you did not have a great time in swimming due to the low water level and jelly fish encounter. unfortunately those are external factor that we do not have control about. Jelly fish are seasonal and please be assured that you will be informed by our staff if there are any. We hope to welcome you back again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2015

I went there in early July 2015, with 20+ friends and three of us celebrating our birthday. We arrived on Friday afternoon and spent the next 48 hours in a blissful retreat that catered to our every desire and made for a fantastic birthday experience. From the delicious food to the affable and attentive staff, the sandy beach and comfortable surroundings, Joyo managed to deliver on several fronts, keeping almost 30 hedonistic hellions engaged, enthused and entertained.
Joyo manages to appease both those looking for a quiet retreat and others looking to embrace their passion for carousing. I have no doubt the fact that we were able to secure the island for ourselves took the experience to another level but I would gladly go back there with a smaller party and share the amenities. I would highly recommend Joyo to anyone considering this as a destination and look forward to returning for another memorable trip.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StephenjStork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2015

Thanks for your very kind and detailed review. it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much with us and its particularly thrilling to read your comments on the service quality as well as the food. we hope to welcome you and your friends again some day. once again, thanks for taking the time to write this generous review for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2015

Island, staff and overall experience is top notch. Accommodation is very nice and comfortable, and we were able to co-ordinate 3 arrival groups with ease. Staff are attentive and responsive both on emails and on the island during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corydonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2015

Dear corydonuk,

Thank you for you very kind review. Our team will be thrilled to read your comments about their service. once again thank you for taking time to post this review. We hope to welcome you back again in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015

A beautiful island, very courteous staff, great accommodation, variety of activities, delicious authentic Indonesian meals - I couldn't ask for more from a private island rental. We traveled as 28 for a birthday celebration in three separate batches and I just don't think we'll ever be able to top the weekend we spent on Joyo (even with it raining a morning or two). We had the most Joyo-us time ;) and would come back in a heartbeat.
Accommodation is 6 spacious palaces so with a group of 28 it was a "comfy" set-up with 4 or 6 people to a palace - but there was plenty of comfy corners for you to pass out + 2 bale houses which were MORE than adequate for couples who want privacy from the group. Java palaces are right on the beach front so super breezy and nice whereas the beach palaces were raised so had a nice view of the sea and hammocks just below. Meal times were always together and set up in different locations and the bonfire, cake + fireworks was a nice treat for the last night.
They supplied copious amounts of water and mosquito repellent all over the island and fed us yummy little snacks in between meals after we exhausted ourselves paddle boarding and kayaking around the island, I don't think there was anything we wanted that they hadn't considered: massages, fishing trip, snorkel trip, even fresh coconuts from the tree when we requested! (only they didn't have plastic cups for beer pong and flip cup, but you definitely couldn't fault them there!). We only hope we didn't exhaust the team too much with our energetic group of friends! The journey there and back was just fine too - they even gave us refreshments and beers.
The value for what you get is totally worth it if you consider a weekend away from Singapore in Bali, Rawa or Phuket where you're not on your own private island and spend roughly the same. Don't hesitate. Just book it :)

Room tip: Java palaces are on the beach front, Beach palaces are tree-house like (Palace 1&2 are joined). All are great so it depends what you fancy.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PangkilJoyo, Manager at Pulau Joyo, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2015

Dear tpn88,

Thank you for very kind and detailed review. we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much. it is very pleasing to read your detailed comment about our service quality and food. We look forward to welcome you back again someday. Once again, thank you for taking time to post this wonderful review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2015

Great location for honeymooners. Very peaceful and quiet. The staff go to a lot of trouble to change the lunch and dinner venue individually for couples/families/friends each time, making it quite special and private. The last evening all the guests had dinner together on the beach, accompanied by a bonfire and fireworks. The food was plentiful and wholesome although the choice at breakfast was a bit modest. The beach palace we stayed in was lovely, spacious and with all the creature comforts one needs. We had a nice breeze during the night which ensured that we slept well. All the transportation arrangements and the fast track handling of immigration worked out really well, except that the return trip by ferry to Singapore was very uncomfortable. The ferry was jam-packed so it was a scramble to get a seat and the air-conditioning (partly patched together with tape) clearly could not cope, so it felt like sitting in a sweat bath for 2 hours. This has nothing to do with Pulau Joyo of course but it is worth them and other tour operators complaining as it is quite a sobering return after a wonderful weekend. Thanks again to all the friendly and helpful staff who made our stay a very relaxing and enjoyable one.

Room tip: choose your 'palace' in line with the season and hence wind direction for cooling effect at night
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews