We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sifa Cottage
Nearby Hotels
Black Marlin Dive Resort(Kadidiri Island)(Great Value!)
$29
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Sifa Diving Resort(Malenge Island)(Great Value!)
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveler rating
26
13
2
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
13
2
1
2
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 44 reviews
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Sifa did a good job in setting up 9 bungalows on a very remote beach in the Togeans. You can easily feel like Robinson Crusoe, lying on the beach, farniente.

No internet, so make sure you book in advance (we met customers who had encountered reservation problems and had to leave the beach for another place)

Minus points :
Not much to do, and sometimes when you feel like going on an excursion you have to really force the staff to organize sthg. They won't make suggestions actively.

Plus points : good food, nice beach, nice snorkeling right in front of the bungalows. Sifa is very welcoming (she invited us to visit her family for Idul Fitri celebrations!)

It can be a real pain to reach the Togians, Sifa cottage is clearly a reward for those who persevere!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is not the easiest place to reach in Togians (on Waleakodi island), but for sure this is very good for value. Sifa is a very nice person, managing this family owned resort.
Be aware that you'll be alone (well, with other guest of course!) on the island, and that the next city, Malenge, is about 1h by boat. No signal, no electricity except from 6 to 10pm, then no fan, no AC, ... a very quiet place !
The beach is quite nice, you can go snorkeling from there, otherwise you can go by boat to other reefs for diving/snorkeling.
Bungalows are very simple but clean, with indonesian bathroom.
Food is fresh and very good (no extra fat, grilled fish, salad, fruit, ...)
Most of the people we've met there were extending their stay.
Note that without signal, bookings have to made in advance, this is managed by Sifa's husband located in Czec Republic ! and she got info only we she's going in Malenge, every morning.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyril C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Sifa cottages is the best place to stay and to relax. I stayed there for 5 nights in December 2012, coming from Fadillah cottags. From the first minute I arrived on the beach I knew this place is different. Very welcoming people, excellent food and the two guys working there were just amazing. We went fishing every evening and enjoyed the sunset from the boat. They took me to some local markets and explained a lot about their culture. It was not only about money as it as at Fadillah cottages, where I had the feeling of beeing a cash cow for them.
The beach is one of the best I have seen and the snorkeling was quite ok just in front of the cottages. If you are looking for some relaxing days with great people this is the place to go. They are very helpful with information about transport and do not charge every boat ride extra.
Check it out yourself. They offer as well diving and have brand new equipment which was great. The only thing which could be improved are the matrasses. They are a bit soft...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthias G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I can only agree with the good reviews before, about the great service, peace and quiet, delicious food.
The bungalows are basic but with good mosquito nets. The generator only runs until 10 pm or so, and the electricity is quite weak, had problems keeping batteries fully charged.
The house reef is like a haunted house, with creepy grey and black shades, interesting crevices and rocks to look under for eels and octopuses. The clownfish colony right of the beach is truly one of a kind.
Two big issues with location: it is 45 mins from Malenge, and the two islands are separated by a strong current. Even when the weather is calm, the current is nasty. For 4 days, we never made it to reef 5 because Ikbal judged the conditions to be too rough - and it wasn't a nasty storm, just some waves on top of the current. Only managed to get to other reefs once.
It was interesting to visit the nearby village though, you can go with them when they get shopping etc done. I would only go back there in the un-rainy season, as my main interest is snorkelling, and it was annoying to be so stuck there, with the seas looking almost perfectly calm, but too rough anyway for the little boat. I would also really really hate to be in that boat again for the crossing from Malenge in rain or bigger waves - even if you are not scared, you will get drenched.
The other issue is that there is no mobile signal. Which would be ok.... if we hadn't got a ride to Dolong before sunrise, in nasty rain, only to be told there that the ferry never even departed from Wakai and there wouldn't be another one for a week. The staff was really really nice and took us all the way back to Malenge, but we wasted a whole day in the boat going up and down, and then 2 more days waiting for another ferry to go north. If you are on a beach with signal, or within reach of signal, then at least you know in advance that you will be stuck.
It is a very nice place, and again, no issues with service etc, but the location makes it very inconvenient in certain ways, which I think you should know about before you commit yourself to a remote location like this.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank FireDragonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great snorkeling, great food and great people.
We had an excellent time here, it was so pleasant and relaxing.
This is what all my beach holidays will now be measured against and so far nothing comes close...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank delikafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews