We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxed, refreshed, rested.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Thurgoland, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CrosvillE
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxed, refreshed, rested.”
Reviewed July 28, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Just what my wife and I needed after a hectic few months moving house in Liverpool. So peaceful and welcoming, even as we approached through the fields.
Extremely comfortable bed, good wi-fi and mobile coverage, fabulous "sitting-out areas" for catching the sun and chilling. Great walks around the cottage and Wortley village.
Handy for Peak district and Yorkshire Dales. Returned home with our "batteries fully recharged" Highly recommended!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Could not fault the property or welcome”
Reviewed March 3, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Could not fault the property or welcome. Property is reached via a farm track as advertised and we did get stuck because it was dark and we missed the hard surface!, our fault. Owner most helpful in getting us out again.
Nice and warm, and the log burner was great. very handy for the motorway and all local attractions.
The Wortley Arms does great food and the butcher/village shop does amazing pies :)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jessicaha...
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing getaway!”
Reviewed November 7, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Can't say enough good things about this place. It's a perfect little retreat if you want some time to relax. We were made to feel so welcome and loved every minute of our stay.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah C
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful week away ”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I stayed at the bothy for a weeks holiday in August. The place is in a beautiful setting, furnished to a high standard, quiet and peaceful. Perfect for a solo holiday or for a couple seeking a quiet and romantic getaway.
Very helpful pre arrival instructions, a lovely welcome and a wonderful stay.
The property is ideally situated for access to the sculpture triangle which includes the fabulous Yorkshire Sculpture Park and the Hepworth museum in Wakefield. I also enjoyed a day trip to Harrogate and a trip to Sheffield while I was there.
Would love to stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 21, 2016
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Hollins Wood Bothy, thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. It sounds like, as well as having a lovely place to call home, you were never short of interesting places to explore in the area, always a perfect combination! We will be sure to pass your comments along to the owner and hope you return for another break soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben B
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Small and perfect”
Reviewed March 8, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

If you are interested in somewhere small and cosy then this is absolutely perfect. It is finished to a very high standard and has everything you need for a trip away. It is within walking distance of the village but far enough away to be quiet as well.
The owners are so welcoming without being intrusive and couldn't be more helpful. There are walks provided from the Bothy and plenty of information about the local area.
If you're after somewhere to go and relax then I cant reccomend this highly enough.
My only hesitation in writing a five star review is that we want to go back and don't want it to be booked up! A very special place indeed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 10, 2016
We are over the moon that you enjoyed your time at Hollins Wood Bothy, it is great to hear that you found the property cosy, warm and perfectly formed - the position sounds great too! Thank you for sharing this lovely review, despite not wanting the secret to get out! We are sure we can find a time for you to visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honeycat8...
Southend on Sea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Idyllic Retreat to Unwind and Explore”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

If you're looking for a secluded cottage, but with modern touches, such as wifi and dishwasher, washing machine etc, this is the place for you.

Hollins Wood Bothy is a beautiful, modern, clean, cosy cottage set in the grounds of a working farm. The cottage itself is located between a sheep field (wake up and see sheep from the bedroom window. Bliss!) and another field with a few cows in (they'll come and say hello if you let them).

Don't let the 'working farm' part put you off. You don't encounter farmers walking past the Bothy, nor is anyone in the field milking cows or shearing sheep. For all intents and purposes, you are alone!

There are woods opposite which are perfect for walking. The Bothy even comes with its own 'bespoke' walks - direct from the Bothy! Just grab one of the guides and go. A really nice touch, and one of several (I won't name them or it'll spoil the surprise!)

We felt as though we were in the middle of nowhere. You can't hear the traffic and as I said, we didn't see the farmer at all on our week stay. It's just you and the wildlife.

The owners made us feel welcome and the little touches on our arrival were very much appreciated.

We spent the week hanging out in the Bothy, sitting in the garden, visiting the big cities (Leeds, Manchester and Sheffield) which were all under an hour away.

The little village of Wortley is home to the local pub, a post office and farm shop (jam and meat are both highly recommended!). You can walk to it from the Bothy in about 40 minutes.

The Peak District is located a short drive away too, making the Bothy ideally located for exploring the natural beauty of the north and also enjoying shopping and nightlife of the cities.

I need to tell you about the bed at the Bothy. You will not sleep on a better bed. It was so good that my partner and I looked it up online - we want it for our flat! It's totally out of our price range though! haha!

Everything in the Bothy is top notch. The owners have spared no expense to ensure you have a brilliant stay. We can't wait to go back!

Thank you John and Rowena!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and finish of the Bothy
Liked least: Everything was great.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckley
Reviewed March 20, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing