We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveler rating
82
99
19
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
82
99
19
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurant claudio macerata abbey car smell mins window marche
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 204 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2018

The hotel building and the location is simply great: adjacent to the San Claudio Abbey, the hotel is located in the buildings of the ancient Abbey's monastery. The hotel is a perfect base for excursions in the Marche (e.g., Macerata is about 15 mins by car), and to reach Ancona's seashore. Good breakfast with home made cakes!
The restaurant (very good food!) is on the premises, but this was also the main drawback of our room, which was located directly above the restaurant's kitchen. Opening the windows was not really possible due to the kitchen smell, and the extractor hood made the floor vibrate: if possible, avoid the rooms 215 / 216.

Room tip: Avoid rooms 215, 216.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andt3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2018

For 4 nights was a plesant stay.it was a Very beautiful stay because it was a beautiful whether,a good location and we aren't so pretencios about the rooms.we enyoid out stay because we where there to explore.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rioana190556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2016

The building complex of san claudio is a spectacular place in itself. Being able to sleep there is an unexpected bonus. The hotel is litterally wall to wall with one of the most beautiful Church of the region. It is well kept, although places constant renovation, the personnel is very helpful and accommodating. We were allowed to bring our mutt with us and, in order to avoid havoc at breakfast, they organized a table for us outside so that we could keep an eye on the dog and a hand on our cappuccino. The night walk with the dog is usually quite boring and annoying because it is nearly sleep time, but here it turned into a phantastic experience: we walked all around the Church and discovered fields surrounding with birds sleeping in the trees. The smell of the countryside makes you forget you are at 10 mins. from Macerata. I am sure I shall stop over again.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraTombari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucaMorre, Direttore at Hotel San Claudio, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2016

Thank you Barbara....see you next time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2016

A quiet, unique place to stay in a wing of a medieval abbey with the free use of bicycles. It is adjacent to a protected low-traffic, well-marked route that takes you to other important medieval churches. The surrounding farm lands are largely flat for this bicycling. Some rooms have a dormitory feel to them, so it is worth upgrading to the ones with frescos. Due in part to the country setting, hotel staff are informal and personable. Excellent to stay here for evening meals.

Room tip: Worth it to get a room with frescos.
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016

Hotel is located in a very nice and quiet place, very close to nice city of Macerata. Hotel staff was o.k., but not exceptionally friendly. Our room was very small, but for one night acceptable.
Breakfast is worth mentioning, because for a three star hotel it was a lot to choose from
and the breakfast room was inside and outside, so you could choose where you would
like to eat. In the same building there is also a restaurant , but unfortunately it was closed on our arrival.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel S, Direttore at Hotel San Claudio, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2016

Dear Lidia K, thank you !! your stay was short, we regret that we did not find the pleasant staff, we will work !! See you soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews