We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience”
Review of Taverna Akrotiri

Taverna Akrotiri
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Bochali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Taverna Akrotiri is a small family owned meat and vegetable taverna. It opens every May till October since 1983. It is being running entirely by 4 people; Petros, Danae, Caterina and Amanda Costi. It is located in a beautiful garden 3 km from Zakinthos Town.
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

We had read the reviews about this place and decided to give it a go ...... was worth the long walk.
Food was amazing, the family take their time to explain everything to you and make you feel so welcome. They let you look through the menu and then bring all the meze dishes out so you can actually see what you can order.
Fantastic setting, such a difference to the main town and restaurants.... definitely a place to visit
If all you are after is gyros and chips then don’t come here stay in the resort

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank Jodarrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (531)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 531 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2019 via mobile

At first we were a little hesitant because there weren’t so many people seated. As it turned out we were early and arrived before people started to fill the place. The food is amazing! It is genuine Greek food with some exciting specialties. Definitely try the aubergine/eggplant, feta and tomato dish cooked in the oven and the two cheeses dish with vermicelli! We also had some meat but the place is vegan and vegetarian friendly. They don’t have seafood or fish if you’re after that.
The place is run by a really sweet family of four. Will definitely go back if we have the time.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank SteveStevieStephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019 via mobile

This family run traditional taverna is a piece of paradise on Zakynthos island. Family owned and run, the tables are dotted around the garden which is lit up at night. Eat amongst the grape vines with the aroma of honeysuckle on the breeze. Fantastic food and Greek hospitality makes for the best evening out.

Date of visit: June 2019
1  Thank kerryh813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2019

We were warmly greeted by the staff at the Taverna, who quickly put tables together for our group of 11. It is in a beaautiful setting, surrounded by olive and lemon trees and a lovely garden at the back. There is even a small playing area for the children.
A selection of all the starters (Meze). were brought out on a tray and the very friendly and knowledgable waitress explained what they all were and how they were made from local ingredients. You could choose which you wanted, and as we were a large group we got to try most of them. The flavours and variety were amazing. You then chose your main course from the menu, which had plenty of choice. We tried the local wine, which was palatable. Excellent value for money.

Date of visit: May 2019
1  Thank gelwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2019 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner at this wonderful taverna. This is exactly what we have in mind when we picture an authentic Greek place for food. Nice setting in a garden, attentive staff, good recommendations. Mezes are being presented on a tray which you can choose from, we enjoyed the food, a nice local wine and the atmosphere. Really good value for money. We will be back.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 818uschis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Akrotiri also viewed

 
Zakynthos Town, Zakynthos
 
Tsilivi, Zakynthos
Lagkadakia, Zakynthos
 

Been to Taverna Akrotiri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing